Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,344
Country
Chile
How do you create a music playlist for the music player?
What's the core that open audio files?
What name should have the music media folder?
 
Last edited by cucholix,

steren

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
1,125
Country
Mexico
How do you create a music playlist for the music player?
What's the core that open audio files?
What name should have the music media folder?

You mean the Game Music Emu or FFmpeg core?

I think none of those is available on wiiu, yet.

The name of the playlist can be whatever you want (just need to have .lpl extension), they just use a specific name to match the theme icons.

Also the playlist contents should be similar to other cores.
 
Last edited by steren,

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,344
Country
Chile
I dunno, just saw a music icon in the latest nightlies no idea what core it uses or even if it's active, but no, no new core has been released in the nightly pack, I though that the main retroarch.rpx could do the job tho... :unsure:
 

steren

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
1,125
Country
Mexico
I dunno, just saw a music icon in the latest nightlies no idea what core it uses or even if it's active, but no, no new core has been released in the nightly pack, I though that the main retroarch.rpx could do the job tho... :unsure:

Not sure what was that.

On pc retroarch there are 2 cores that play music files.

Game Music Emu (gme) that according to the info file loads "ay|gbs|gym|hes|kss|nsf|nsfe|sap|spc|vgm|vgz" files, maybe it can be compiled for wiiu.

Also the FFmpeg core that plays "mkv|avi|f4v|f4f|3gp|ogm|flv|mp4|mp3|flac|ogg|m4a|webm|3g2|mov|wmv|mpg|mpeg|vob|asf|divx|m2p|m2ts|ps|ts|mxf|wma|wav"
this one seem more primitive, maybe not so easy to compile for wiiu.
 
Last edited by steren,
  • Like
Reactions: cucholix

Zeonis

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
126
Country
United States
I am trying to use the MAME core with retroarch but it won't load the game and the Wii U freezes requiring a forced shut down by holding the power button on the console. The game is a zip file which when using MAME on Wii I did not have to extract. Am I doing anything wrong? I tried finding the answer to this prior to asking so I apologize if it has been answered before.
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,344
Country
Chile
I have the latest nightly and I'm not seeing any Music icon? I maybe blind tho lol

IMG_20170528_191317990.jpg

Upper left corner "Music"
 
  • Like
Reactions: ploggy

Columbo2811

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
1,399
Trophies
0
XP
1,064
Country
I am trying to use the MAME core with retroarch but it won't load the game and the Wii U freezes requiring a forced shut down by holding the power button on the console. The game is a zip file which when using MAME on Wii I did not have to extract. Am I doing anything wrong? I tried finding the answer to this prior to asking so I apologize if it has been answered before.
You need the correct roms. The mame2003 core needs mame 0.78 roms (google them). If your using correct roms try an older nightly. The core runs great btw
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

steren

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
1,125
Country
Mexico
Last edited by steren,

Zeonis

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
126
Country
United States
You need the correct roms. The mame2003 core needs mame 0.78 roms (google them). If your using correct roms try an older nightly. The core runs great btw
I did not know that, thank you! I was able to get Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to run since my previous post so I know it works. The game I was trying to get to run is Contra.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,259
Country
Mexico
The System Memory error goes away by deleting the CFG files, in case it helps others.
Now about this Music playlist...
Does the latest nightly include the FFMPEG core?
 

steren

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
1,125
Country
Mexico
The System Memory error goes away by deleting the CFG files, in case it helps others.
Now about this Music playlist...
Does the latest nightly include the FFMPEG core?

No, the commit only enabled the history playlist for ports without FFmpeg. I think, right now there are no cores on wiiu that show recent play music files on that playlist.

This playlist is equivalent to the history playlist, just as the name implies it is for music.
 
Last edited by steren,

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,259
Country
Mexico
The System Memory error goes away by deleting the CFG files, in case it helps others.
Now about this Music playlist...
Does the latest nightly include the FFMPEG core?
Nevermind, it seems the issue with the system memory is still there after a reboot :/
Goddamnit I don't want to keep going into the PC to delete the config each time.

Who else is having issues with System memory errors besides @Marko76 and me?
Not even loading a core first and using Load Content works, I get the error no matter how or what game I try to load.
 

Columbo2811

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
1,399
Trophies
0
XP
1,064
Country
Nevermind, it seems the issue with the system memory is still there after a reboot :/
Goddamnit I don't want to keep going into the PC to delete the config each time.

Who else is having issues with System memory errors besides @Marko76 and me?
Not even loading a core first and using Load Content works, I get the error no matter how or what game I try to load.
You using mocha too?
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,344
Country
Chile
Nevermind, it seems the issue with the system memory is still there after a reboot :/
Goddamnit I don't want to keep going into the PC to delete the config each time.
Me, and yeah it's annoying having to go to PC and delete configs eveytime, even more annoying having to lost custom controller settings :/
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShadowOne333
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: I wouldn't walk naked in a church but their might be shouting if a priest tries to do anything to me