Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

Lanlan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
954
Trophies
0
XP
495
Country
United States
How does Wii U Retroarch compare to Wii Retroarch? Does it utilize the Wii U's power well? How will this PSX core compare to Wii's WiiSX?
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
31,284
Trophies
2
Age
37
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
18,927
Country
United States
How does Wii U Retroarch compare to Wii Retroarch? Does it utilize the Wii U's power well? How will this PSX core compare to Wii's WiiSX?

Here are the cores that run perfectly on the Wii U -

GBA
GB/GBC
Snes
NES
Snes
CPS1/CPS2
MAME

All run buttery smooth and perform much better than the Wii.
 

Lanlan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
954
Trophies
0
XP
495
Country
United States
Here are the cores that run perfectly on the Wii U -

GBA
GB/GBC
Snes
NES
Snes
CPS1/CPS2
MAME

All run buttery smooth and perform much better than the Wii.
Do you know if the CPS2 core handles games better than Wii? I can't get roms that have to load on top of each other, like Super Turbo, to work on Wii. Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,357
Trophies
1
XP
6,351
Country
United Kingdom
Do you know if the CPS2 core handles games better than Wii? I can't get roms that have to load on top of each other, like Super Turbo, to work on Wii. Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this
IIRC the original wii has problems loading larger arcade roms.. (not enough memory) That's not a problem for wiiu :) So yes, the Wiiu handles cps2 games better than wii
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lanlan

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
31,284
Trophies
2
Age
37
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
18,927
Country
United States
Do you know if the CPS2 core handles games better than Wii? I can't get roms that have to load on top of each other, like Super Turbo, to work on Wii. Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this

That was a Wii hardware limitation, no such limitations exist on the Wii U port.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lanlan

QuarkTheAwesome

Working for Hugs
Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
976
Trophies
1
Location
Stuck in the PowerPC
XP
3,336
Country
Australia
Is there anyone with the ability to add in the XMB gui Driver? It would be good to get that up and running on wiiu :) @QuarkTheAwesome ?
Unfortunately I really know next to nothing about GX2 so I shouldn't really be trying stuff like that. If XMB can do software rendering I could write a pretty snappy OSScreen driver, but we should probably do it right the first time!:lol:
Maybe @aliaspider could think about it?

What I could do, however, is dynamic core loading (like on PC). I was actually waiting on XMB to make that happen! Let me know what you guys think about that; I'd have to make time for it but it shouldn't be too problematic, would just have to add support for undefined symbols (cores need malloc too). The code might even be usable on the original Wii as well (it's all PowerPC). I do have quite a lot of projects on atm, and I've just received a console so I can get into hardware (not to mention exams next week!) so there'd have to be some interest. Let me know what you think!
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,357
Trophies
1
XP
6,351
Country
United Kingdom
Unfortunately I really know next to nothing about GX2 so I shouldn't really be trying stuff like that. If XMB can do software rendering I could write a pretty snappy OSScreen driver, but we should probably do it right the first time!:lol:
Maybe @aliaspider could think about it?

What I could do, however, is dynamic core loading (like on PC). I was actually waiting on XMB to make that happen! Let me know what you guys think about that; I'd have to make time for it but it shouldn't be too problematic, would just have to add support for undefined symbols (cores need malloc too). The code might even be usable on the original Wii as well (it's all PowerPC). I do have quite a lot of projects on atm, and I've just received a console so I can get into hardware (not to mention exams next week!) so there'd have to be some interest. Let me know what you think!

I think I speak for everyone who posts in this thread when I say, If you can do ANYTHING that will progress Retroarch for us it would be great and much appreciated :)

Also I did ask @aliaspider on the libretro forums about adding XMB menu to the wiiu the other day but have had a reply yet.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,965
Trophies
1
XP
13,639
Country
Mexico
Unfortunately I really know next to nothing about GX2 so I shouldn't really be trying stuff like that. If XMB can do software rendering I could write a pretty snappy OSScreen driver, but we should probably do it right the first time!:lol:
Maybe @aliaspider could think about it?

What I could do, however, is dynamic core loading (like on PC). I was actually waiting on XMB to make that happen! Let me know what you guys think about that; I'd have to make time for it but it shouldn't be too problematic, would just have to add support for undefined symbols (cores need malloc too). The code might even be usable on the original Wii as well (it's all PowerPC). I do have quite a lot of projects on atm, and I've just received a console so I can get into hardware (not to mention exams next week!) so there'd have to be some interest. Let me know what you think!
Sounds lovely!
But would you care to explain what exactly is dynamic core loading?
Is it like Auto-detect what core a certain ROM would use or something?
 
  • Like
Reactions: the_randomizer

Maxbeta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
359
Trophies
0
XP
1,413
Country
United States
The Wii U version of Retroarch can already run all CPS3 and NeoGeo arcade roms buttery smooth as well which was the main reason I hacked my Wii U.

I gotta have 3rd Strike, SVC Chaos and Jojo in my life. Looking forward to playing some Marvel vs Capcom 2 on Wii U as well someday.
 
Last edited by Maxbeta,

QuarkTheAwesome

Working for Hugs
Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
976
Trophies
1
Location
Stuck in the PowerPC
XP
3,336
Country
Australia
Sounds lovely!
But would you care to explain what exactly is dynamic core loading?
Is it like Auto-detect what core a certain ROM would use or something?
You know how on PC, you start one application ("RetroArch") and then it can automatically load up whatever core is needed? It's that. By contrast, on Wii U, you've got an individual application for each core; so you have to pick what core you want before you pick the game. It also makes playlists pretty impractical.

(As an aside, imho playlists are what make XMB great. Imply from that what you will.)
 

Maxbeta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
359
Trophies
0
XP
1,413
Country
United States
Hi guys,
Just a quick question, can I use filters/shaders like scanlines or pixelate on wii u version of retroarch.
I am using the latest stable build from here https://buildbot.libretro.com/stable/1.5.0/nintendo/wiiu/
It doesnot give me an option for this although I have it enable in Wii version of retroarch.

Thanks.
I read somewhere that the shaders/scanline features were removed temporarily because they were having problems, but I wouldn't be surprised if it makes its way back soon in a near future build.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: And an FPS