1. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I asked here not long ago but it fell on deaf ears so I guess not, dont get me wrong, there are WiiU devs here but none that currently work with Retroarch.
     
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  2. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,466
    Country:
    Mexico
    I'm assuming this is the guide that's being followed, right?
    https://docs.libretro.com/development/retroarch/compilation/wiiu/

    What happens if we simply use the latest devkitPro instead of r29?
     
    ploggy likes this.
  3. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When installing the Latest Devkitpro there's no longer an option to install WiiU Component (it was taken out a few devkit revisions ago) so finding the right WiiU specific files is difficult.. for me anyway.
    There is pacman support in the latest Devkitpro, which you can install wut-tools package, these are the steps I've been following.. from the first post:

    * install devkitpro per devkitpro's platform-specific instructions (I used mac os package)

    * install PPC and toolchain per instructions
    sudo dkp-pacman -Syu devkitPPC wut-tools - (on win it's pacman -Syu devkitPPC wut-tools)
    export DEVKITPRO=/opt/devkitpro
    export DEVKITPPC=/opt/devkitpro/devkitPPC
    # my mac version
    /opt/devkitpro/devkitPPC/bin/powerpc-eabi-gcc --version
    powerpc-eabi-gcc (devkitPPC release 38) 10.2.0

    * install extra stuff some of the WiiU cores will need.
    % sudo dkp-pacman -Syu ppc-libpng libogc - (on win it's pacman -Syu ppc-libpng libogc)

    Make sure cores build first. Checkout per retroarch wiki.
    git clone.../libretro-super.git (sorry, Noobs not allowed to post urls) - Git clone didn't work for me until I installed git through pacman - pacman -Syu git
    $ cd libretro-super
    $ ./libretro-fetch.sh
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Apr 22, 2021
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  4. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,466
    Country:
    Mexico
    And with all those steps you managed to compile RA and the cores successfully?
    Or is it still missing something else?
     
  5. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No thats just it I followed the steps and it still didn't compile :P I still think there are steps needed (or more likely, more packages to install)
     
  6. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,466
    Country:
    Mexico
    What error does it give you when trying to install?
     
  7. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the error I get
    upload_2021-4-22_2-30-36.png
     
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  8. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,466
    Country:
    Mexico
    What the hell
    It's complaining about g++ not being found, dafuq lol
    Try simply writing in the command prompt "g++", see if that gives any output.
    If it says "command not found", then you know what to look for.
    From what I know, GCC should be the one that includes g++, they're compilers and they should be somewhat interchangeable.

    The only other thing I can think of that might be failing is that the PowerPPC GCC compiler is not set, or doesn't have its path set. Either that or the machine's default GCC is missing its path too, but that's highly unlikely, since most UNIX based machines already come with some form of GCC installed by default, so that leans me towards the PPC GCC idea a bit more.

    I could still be wrong though and it might end up being actual GCC for your machine missing for some reason.
     
    Last edited by ShadowOne333, Apr 22, 2021
    ploggy likes this.
  9. mive

    mive GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    you need a "regular" cpp compiler for you machine not the powerpc one, as elf2rpl is a binary for your host machine
    so like ShadowOne said check if g++ command works (probably not). if you get command not found or something similar you need a c++ compiler (you should be able to install with pacman) for your architecture (x64)

    edit:
    try to check for installed g++ with
    Code:
    pacman -Ql | grep $(which g++)
    
     
    Last edited by mive, Apr 22, 2021
    ploggy, ShadowOne333 and jacobsson like this.
  10. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Sweden
    @ploggy
    I had that similar problems like that in the past, let me quote myself from an old post I made;
    No sure if this would help you.
     
    ploggy and ShadowOne333 like this.
  11. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I typed GCC into Msys2 and it does say command not found so I guess thats the issue :) at least I'm narrowing it down :)

    I typed what you suggested, this is what it says:
    $ pacman -Ql | grep $(which g++)
    which: no g++ in (/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/c/Windows/System32:/c/Windows:/c/Windows/System32/Wbem:/c/Windows/System32/WindowsPowerShell/v1.0/:/usr/bin/site_perl:/usr/bin/vendor_perl:/usr/bin/core_perl)
    Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
    Try 'grep --help' for more information.
    I downloaded that file, and updated MinGW64 like you suggested, but it still says Command not found when I type GCC?
    Do I need to add a path manually?


    EDIT: OK ,so, tried pacman -S gcc, in hopes it would help,it installed but now when I type GCC I get:
    $ gcc
    gcc: fatal error: no input files
    compilation terminated.
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Apr 22, 2021
  12. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,466
    Country:
    Mexico
    Oh great!
    GCC is now installed according to that output, now try running the RetroArch stuff that gave you the error before, see what it does.
     
    Last edited by ShadowOne333, Apr 22, 2021
    ploggy likes this.
  13. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK it gets a bit further, now it moans about zlib.h :P

    AS wiiu/system/stubs_rpl.S
    MAKE wiiu/wut/elf2rpl/elf2rpl.exe
    make[1]: Entering directory '/c/git/retroarch/wiiu/wut/elf2rpl'
    CC wiiu/system/dynamic.c
    g++ -c -o main.o main.cpp -O3 -Wall -std=c++14 -DNDEBUG -I.
    AS wiiu/system/stubs_elf.S
    LD objs/wiiu-salamander/retroarch_wiiu_salamander.rpx.elf
    LD objs/wiiu-salamander/retroarch_wiiu_salamander.elf
    cp objs/wiiu-salamander/retroarch_wiiu_salamander.elf retroarch_wiiu_salamander.elf
    main.cpp:10:10: fatal error: zlib.h: No such file or directory
    10 | #include <zlib.h>
    | ^~~~~~~~
    compilation terminated.
    make[1]: *** [Makefile:24: main.o] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/c/git/retroarch/wiiu/wut/elf2rpl'
    make: *** [Makefile.wiiu:319: wiiu/wut/elf2rpl/elf2rpl.exe] Error 2
    make: Leaving directory '/c/git/retroarch'

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    OK hold the phone... I switched from using Msys2.exe to MingW64.exe and now it compiles elf2rpl :)
    I'm trying a core now... wish me luck :P
     
    jacobsson and ShadowOne333 like this.
  14. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,466
    Country:
    Mexico
    Oooh sounds promising!
    Best of luck!
     
    ploggy likes this.
  15. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WTF.. the Cores are now compiling YAY... but they crash the WiiU when I try to load them in Retroarch :wtf::cry:
    This is fucking stupid.. Sooo many hoops to jump through, so many random packages to install and even then, it decides to fuk you :/ give me hardware any day.. I'm just not cut out for this Software lark :P

    @mive you have this setup right? could you send me your elf2rpl exe?
    (if you have it compiled)

    I uploaded a couple cores I compiled, can someone check and see if the crash your WiiU as well?

    EDIT: Deleted Cores.. they didnt work (working upload further down) vvvv
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Apr 23, 2021
    jacobsson and depaul like this.
  16. mive

    mive GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    there's a elf2rpl in wut-tools package
    Code:
    Repository      : dkp-linux
    Name            : wut-tools
    Version         : 1.2.0-1
    Description     : Tools for Nintendo WiiU homebrew development)
    Architecture    : x86_64
    URL             : https://github.com/devkitpro/wut-tools
    Licenses        : GPLv2
    Groups          : wiiu-dev
    Provides        : None
    Depends On      : None
    Optional Deps   : None
    Conflicts With  : None
    Replaces        : None
    Download Size   : 177.03 KiB
    Installed Size  : 796.00 KiB
    Packager        : Dave Murphy <[email protected]>
    Build Date      : Thu Jul 23 18:16:33 2020
    Validated By    : MD5 Sum  SHA-256 Sum  Signature
    
    but first off installing gcc via pacman was the correct thing to do (to get a g++ compiler for your machine). avoid to manually copy/remove/replace files if you can use the package manger (pacman) for this.

    to your zlib problem, do you have zlib installed? (pacman -Sy zlib)
    maybe try with msys2 and installed zlib again (if not installed)

    also probably a good idea (if not already done), update with pacman -Syu

    I'm using a linux disto which also uses pacman as package manager so its quite similar.
    I try to free space on my windows partition and try to setup a build environment, as I'm a little confused about mingw64.exe and msys2.exe
     

    Attached Files:

    ploggy likes this.
  17. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know its bad practice to copy/paste files here and there but at this point I'm just throwing stuff at the wall and hoping something sticks :P

    I ran that zlib command, but it says its already installed :P

    Thanks for the file it's not an exe tho? do i rename it to .exe? i doubt that'll work

    I'm trying the docker route see if that helps :)


    EDIT: RA doesnt like the Wut-Tools' elf2rpl.exe.. complains about a relocations error
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Apr 22, 2021
    jacobsson likes this.
  18. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Sweden
    Here is the elf2rpl.exe from my old setup:
    https://easyupload.io/d6i365

    Maybe worth a shot?
     
    ploggy likes this.
  19. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for the upload but I managed to use docker to get Retroarch to compile!!...thanks to gblues :)

    Prosystem - Atari7800
    Fmsx - MSX +MSX2

    Both tested and working!!
     

    Attached Files:

    ShadowOne333 and jacobsson like this.
  20. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Sweden
    ploggy likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch, devkitpro,