1. 7,825

    101
    Front-page
    RA1-100.jpg
    RetroArch just got a facelift, in a brand new 1.8.5 update. The latest version of the emulator frontend offers a new menu option, stylized after the Nintendo Switch's "ozone" menu. For those of you used to the looks of the XMB (PS3) style, fear not, as you can revert back to that in the options, under settings>drivers. A major bug has also been fixed in this update--users who were previously unable to boot RetroArch on certain Chromebooks should now be able to without issue. In addition, many smaller bugfixes were made, along with better performance on Linux via OpenGL. Feel free to check out the official changelog below, or grab the new version from the source below.

    ozone-768x414.png

    :arrow: Source
     
    ry755, Y0shII, m4xw and 10 others like this.
  2. Discussion (101 replies)

  3. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,485
    Country:
    United States
    I dont like that menu :v it loos bad on Wii U Gamepad because of resolution problems i guess...
     
  4. VinsCool

    VinsCool Cattus Incerta Tacitusque
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    13,679
    Country:
    Canada
    Nice, but I still only swear by the original Green overlay menu xD
     
  5. smileyhead

    smileyhead This is definitely not a robotic component!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4,235
    Country:
    Hungary
    Looks nice. I do hope the icon pack also gets updated soon, though. It's still PlayStation-styled.
     
  6. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,255
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I noticed that too. Every theme looks bad on the gamepad.

    Does anyone know how to make this work on wii u? :ninja:
    https://docs.libretro.com/library/game_music_emu/
     
  7. wonkeytonk

    wonkeytonk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I still say FCK RETROARCH! <3
     
    SuperDan and ultimatepump like this.
  8. Medveitsi

    Medveitsi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Finland
    Why?
     
  9. veesonic

    veesonic Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    This has been the Switch version default for a while and I like it.
     
  10. Plasmaster09

    Plasmaster09 Social Justice Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    United States
    probably because on most systems the retroarch cores perform worse than the alternatives unless the retroarch core is a near-exact port of the LATEST version of a good emulator- none of that snes9x 2010 bullcrap
     
    Joel16 likes this.
  11. osaka35

    osaka35 Instructional Designer
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,066
    Country:
    United States
    definitely a fix to one of their most glaring problems. Probably still prefer individual emulators tweaked to how I like them, but this is great for those who like retroarch.
     
  12. Uiaad

    Uiaad GBAtemp's resident guinea pig
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    505
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait ... hasn't Ozone been around for like the last year ? i swear i have been using this for the last year lol
     
  13. Pickle_Rick

    Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    United States
    No mention that they fixed gpSP (on 3DS) after four years?
     
  14. Plasmaster09

    Plasmaster09 Social Justice Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    United States
    pity the ozone emulator or even a scaled down version isn't available on 3ds
     
  15. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    784
    Country:
    United States
    I'm with ya, i was growing tired of the Playstation gui too, whichever that one is. I'm instead using the glui setting with one of its darker themes with the magnification in the menus up like 30% or so, and i feel its the best looking option for it on the Wii U at this time.
     
  16. kudofan

    kudofan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    Is it any less user-hostile now?
     
  17. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,467
    Country:
    Germany
    Why do you even use the 2010 version? Snes9x mainline is the best (in most cases).
    Also of course many emulators are more recent and more stable than their libretro core counterpart but especially for most older systems this doesn't matter at all speedwise.
    It matters for options though as not all standalone options an emulator offers are also transported to the libretro core options menu but having "everything under one roof" is an amazing experience for me, especially since it's available for so many host systems.

    I can even exclude a few parts of a full RetroArch setup to be on a mobile storage and carry it around to different host systems (Wii U, Windows, Linux, Mac). I mean I put the following things onto an external drive:
    • thumbnails
    • playlists
    • cheats
    • system/bios files
    • roms
    • savestates
    • savegames
    Then I just adjust every RetroArch setup on each host in directory to point to the drive and so I can continue my games and their savegames wherever I want whenever I want.
     
    Reynardine likes this.
  18. Plasmaster09

    Plasmaster09 Social Justice Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    United States
    I don't use 2010 because I KNOW how much it sucks. However... it's the latest Retroarch 3DS has.
     
  19. kikongokiller

    kikongokiller Dust2#9629
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    873
    Country:
    Australia
    Is something user-hostile if it doesn't hold your hand for literally everything now?
     
    VinsCool likes this.
  20. Nerdtendo

    Nerdtendo Your friendly neighborhood idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    United States
    I would consider that green screen user hostile. Sure, it was managable, but nothing made since at a glance. It was hard to keep track of where things were, or what they did. Some simple animation and big readable buttons go a long way
     
  21. LightBeam

    LightBeam GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    France
    Honestly ? Almost. For example, the way Retroarch handles playlists is, imo, user-hostile as it doesn't let you make your playlists the way you like that easily. Same with the thumbnails, boxarts etc ... Even when my roms are no-intro and I've updated the boxarts through the online adapter. Something "user-friendly" wouldn't be as tough to use, tho it could be worse so I'm not considering this menu to be really user-hostile.

    Tho I consider the desktop UI on PC 100% user-hostile.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, available, features