Homebrew RetroArch Switch

rsn8887

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
933
Trophies
1
Age
44
Website
www.patreon.com
XP
3,128
Country
United States
I added touchpad-style mouse controls with tap-to-click to Retroarch Switch yesterday. This is useful for games like Warcraft or Arkanoid 2.

Supported gestures:
Drag finger = mouse move.
Short tap = left click.
Hold finger, tap another = right click.
2/3-finger drag = left/right drag'n'drop.

Download latest nightly here: https://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/nintendo/switch/libnx/

I also put the above information in the official retroarch docs: https://docs.libretro.com/guides/input-and-controls/#nintendo-switch
 

Rya102396

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
276
Country
United States
Having a new issue after installing the most recent nightly. Paper Mario for N64 is running pretty close to full speed in Mupen64plus Next, but I'm getting a pretty bad screen flicker that wasn't happening with the nightly from a few days ago. Went through all the video settings, and couldn't find anything that seemed like it'd be causing that, but it's possible I just missed something. Any fix for this one?
Anything on this? Updated to the newest nightly and that didn't change anything about this issue. Would go back to an older one where this didn't happen, but the newer one runs other games better.
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,269
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
5,061
Country
Germany
I added touchpad-style mouse controls with tap-to-click to Retroarch Switch yesterday. This is useful for games like Warcraft or Arkanoid 2.

Supported gestures:
Drag finger = mouse move.
Short tap = left click.
Hold finger, tap another = right click.
2/3-finger drag = left/right drag'n'drop.

Download latest nightly here: https://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/nintendo/switch/libnx/

I also put the above information in the official retroarch docs: https://docs.libretro.com/guides/input-and-controls/#nintendo-switch
Wow man that's an amazing feature I have been waiting for. Should be usable in all DOS and ScummVM games I guess?
What about the SNES mouse in Mario Paint? :)
 

Hanekawa

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Neko Paradise
XP
160
Country
Japan
I added touchpad-style mouse controls with tap-to-click to Retroarch Switch yesterday. This is useful for games like Warcraft or Arkanoid 2.

Supported gestures:
Drag finger = mouse move.
Short tap = left click.
Hold finger, tap another = right click.
2/3-finger drag = left/right drag'n'drop.

Download latest nightly here: https://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/nintendo/switch/libnx/

I also put the above information in the official retroarch docs: https://docs.libretro.com/guides/input-and-controls/#nintendo-switch

I must be ultra dumb but how can I download the latest version of nightly? I clicked on your link but the most recent version is 2 months old (in 1.7.6).
 

rsn8887

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
933
Trophies
1
Age
44
Website
www.patreon.com
XP
3,128
Country
United States
Wow man that's an amazing feature I have been waiting for. Should be usable in all DOS and ScummVM games I guess?
What about the SNES mouse in Mario Paint? :)

Thanks!

It is usable in all cores that support a mouse, so I guess it should even work in Mario Paint, if the core supports mouse input.

By the way if you want you can follow me on Twitter to always get the latest updates on what I do with Switch/Vita etc. https://www.twitter.com/rsn8887

I must be ultra dumb but how can I download the latest version of nightly? I clicked on your link but the most recent version is 2 months old (in 1.7.6).

Click on my link https://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/nintendo/switch/libnx/ , scroll all the way down until you find the .7z archive with the latest date and download it. Right now for me this is the file https://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/nintendo/switch/libnx/2019-06-27_RetroArch.7z but of course every day a new one appears.

ScummVM core is broken the last time I tested rip

For ScummVM, don’t use Retroarch. The version is buggy and very outdated. Instead, download the latest standalone development build for Switch here: https://buildbot.scummvm.org/builds.html
 
Last edited by rsn8887,

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,269
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
5,061
Country
Germany
It is usable in all cores that support a mouse, so I guess it should even work in Mario Paint, if the core supports mouse input.
Pretty cool!
By the way if you want you can follow me on Twitter to always get the latest updates on what I do with Switch/Vita etc. https://www.twitter.com/rsn8887
I already do. ;)
For ScummVM, don’t use Retroarch. The version is buggy and very outdated. Instead, download the latest standalone development build for Switch here: https://buildbot.scumvm.org/build.html
I see.
However the correct link is this one I guess:
https://buildbot.scummvm.org/builders
:P
 

nifoc2099

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
118
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
276
Country
Singapore
Thinking of putting RetroArch on my switch for the 1st time when I read this "An SD card formatted as FAT32" . So, exfat still not supported?
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
1,853
Country
United States
Thinking of putting RetroArch on my switch for the 1st time when I read this "An SD card formatted as FAT32" . So, exfat still not supported?

I mean, some people use it using ExFAT, but they're at risk of their entire sd card getting corrupted at any time. You should switch to FAT32 anyway because you can do everything on it you can on ExFAT you just have to install your games through usb cable to avoid the 4 gb limit and there's no corruption risk.
 

nifoc2099

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
118
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
276
Country
Singapore
You should switch to FAT32 anyway because you can do everything on it you can on ExFAT you just have to install your games through usb cable to avoid the 4 gb limit and there's no corruption risk.
Hmm..i didn't know we can install games through usb cable. Can tinfoil do this, search for games in our desktop pc HDD? I thought tinfoil only searches for games in our sd card. Second question, wouldn't installing games through usb cable takes a longer duration?
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
1,853
Country
United States
Hmm..i didn't know we can install games through usb cable. Can tinfoil do this, search for games in our desktop pc HDD? I thought tinfoil only searches for games in our sd card. Second question, wouldn't installing games through usb cable takes a longer duration?

https://gbatemp.net/threads/goldleaf-a-nintendo-switch-multipurpose-homebrew-tool.527578/

It saves time because you don't have to take your sd card out, put the nsp on it, put it back in, resend the payload etc.. etc.. etc..
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
1,853
Country
United States
I use homebrew through the album. And yes. Mupen64plus-next.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh. CFW is Kosmos with Atmosphere

That's your problem don't use album. You need to hold R and select a switch game and it'll take you to the homebrew menu with the extra ram. If you just go to album you don't get the extra ram. It's needed for N64.
 

Danttebayo

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
400
Country
United States
Hey @ShadowOne333 , your initial post for this topic is super comprehensive but there are some settings buried in this increasingly unwieldy thread that make a huge difference and it would be handy to have them in your post. Off the top of my head:

1) The default aspect ratio streches the screen (for older systems at least) because it isn't set to '1:1 PAR'
2) The audio driver should be set to 'switch_thread' as this significantly increases performance for older systems

I'm sure there are others but those are the few I've come across that made my experience with RetroArch way better.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShadowOne333

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,807
Trophies
1
XP
12,853
Country
Mexico
Hey @ShadowOne333 , your initial post for this topic is super comprehensive but there are some settings buried in this increasingly unwieldy thread that make a huge difference and it would be handy to have them in your post. Off the top of my head:

1) The default aspect ratio streches the screen (for older systems at least) because it isn't set to '1:1 PAR'
2) The audio driver should be set to 'switch_thread' as this significantly increases performance for older systems

I'm sure there are others but those are the few I've come across that made my experience with RetroArch way better.
Thanks!
I'll add those as suggested overall settings at first start :)
 

stellarr

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
149
Country
I don't know if I'm missing something or doing anything wrong.

GBA games work perfectly for me but n64 run pretty bad, smash bros is too slow it's unplayable for example. also tried mario tennis with no better results. I did open a switch game using R button which launched me to homebrew channel and that's when I pressed A on Retroarch. (Heard this helps with memory and stuff which is required for these games) and also have it at maximum overclock (1785)

I downloaded the latest build because I thought it'd make a difference but I don't really see anything, maybe I got wrong settings? Or perhaps my n64 drivers need to be updated/changed? I'm pretty lost. The only game that works nicely is mario kart 64.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dichotomy754
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/sHRyKpx