Homebrew RetroArch Switch

kevinbrew

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
451
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
547
Country
Data management from system settings will probably tell you whether a game is on internal storage or SD.
External drive support is bein worked on for atmosphere, and once that's done (no eta) I'd expect retroarch to support loading roms from there.
data management doesnt say anything about games on internal drive.:mellow:
 

Pola92

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
191
Country
United States
I’ve been trying to use split Joy-Cons for Nes emulator but everytime I set it on settings I’m not able to move through the menu anymore nor select anything. And then I always have to edit de config file and set the split Joy-Cons for player 1 and 2 to “0” to get it back to normal. How can I make it work?
Thanks
 
  • Like
Reactions: TylerSGman

cujo200231

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
173
Country
United States
Has anyone tried running killer instinct gold yet? I’m really behind on the emu scene so I dont know what emus are playable as of now
 
  • Like
Reactions: rhyx

Josshy0125

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
751
Country
United Kingdom
Yup. Okay. I'm going to fucking break something. Beyond pissed. I accidentally hit "left" while hovering over "Config Aspect Ratio" and it went straight to 16.00 or something. It took me fucking 20 minutes or so to scroll ALL the way back down to 0. But I went ONE too far, and it fucking went back to 16.00. I'm so fucking pissed.

Is there a way to just fucking manually input this shit? Scrolling takes forever, and this just pissed me off so fucking much, mate.

Thanks. jesus christ.
 

rsn8887

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
933
Trophies
1
Age
44
Website
www.patreon.com
XP
3,124
Country
United States
Use a text editor and edit your config file directly? Also, try to press the ok button, some menu options show a drop down menu to select between the possible choices faster.
 

Josshy0125

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
751
Country
United Kingdom
Use a text editor and edit your config file directly? Also, try to press the ok button, some menu options show a drop down menu to select between the possible choices faster.
Thanks. Yeah that one didn't give a drop down. That's SUPER obnoxious. The next release really should provide an option to key in the configuration, via the menu, as opposed to having to scroll like that. That was literally fucking terrible.
 

Rya102396

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
276
Country
United States
Having an issue now that I couldn't find any fix or info about. Retroarch was running perfectly fine for a couple days for me, but now if I try to launch it, I just get a black screen and nothing else. Even tried replacing all my Retroarch files on my SD card, no luck fixing it. Any other Homebrew is loading perfectly fine. Haven't upgraded my firmware or CFW versions since before getting it, using Retroarch 1.7.7. Anyone know a possible fix for this?

EDIT: It doesn't freeze my system, but when I try to close it after the black screen, it stays on "closing software" for awhile, then says "The software was closed because an error occured." And again, I had no problems with it up until this afternoon.
 
Last edited by Rya102396,

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,282
Trophies
1
XP
9,281
Country
United Kingdom
Having an issue now that I couldn't find any fix or info about. Retroarch was running perfectly fine for a couple days for me, but now if I try to launch it, I just get a black screen and nothing else. Even tried replacing all my Retroarch files on my SD card, no luck fixing it. Any other Homebrew is loading perfectly fine. Haven't upgraded my firmware or CFW versions since before getting it, using Retroarch 1.7.7. Anyone know a possible fix for this?

EDIT: It doesn't freeze my system, but when I try to close it after the black screen, it stays on "closing software" for awhile, then says "The software was closed because an error occured." And again, I had no problems with it up until this afternoon.
Exfat?
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,282
Trophies
1
XP
9,281
Country
United Kingdom
Sadly yeah, set up my emunand/emummc on an exfat card before finding out it could cause issues on the Switch. Would swap over to fat32, but my emu is on a hidden partition and I'd rather not lose the stuff I have on the emu now.
You can reformat the exfat partition as fat32 without touching the emummc partition.
 

Rya102396

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
276
Country
United States
You can reformat the exfat partition as fat32 without touching the emummc partition.
I'll give that a shot when I can, thanks. Now that'd only change the "SD card" stuff to fat32 but not the emummc part to fat32, right? Guess that's not a huge deal, I'll just avoid putting a lot of stuff on that part.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,282
Trophies
1
XP
9,281
Country
United Kingdom
I'll give that a shot when I can, thanks. Now that'd only change the "SD card" stuff to fat32 but not the emummc part to fat32, right? Guess that's not a huge deal, I'll just avoid putting a lot of stuff on that part.
Yes, but the emummc part doesn't use exfat anyway, it's only the "SD card" files like the retroarch stuff that you need to worry about.
 

Rya102396

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
276
Country
United States
Yes, but the emummc part doesn't use exfat anyway, it's only the "SD card" files like the retroarch stuff that you need to worry about.
Well, just got done formatting to fat32 and transferring files over to it, and I'm still getting the same black screen issue. I'll add that I've tried to launch it both ways, nsp redirect and going through hbl through launching a game while holding r.

EDIT: I did a fresh reinstall with the latest nightly, and all seems to be good now, except for PSP games. One just gives a black screen, 2 others start but I can't load or create saves in them.
 
Last edited by Rya102396,

zacly

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
142
Country
Canada
So is 64 still being optimized or has it not been touched since Glide has been added? I'm just wondering if I should be updating
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I do use bash for my job though. It's useful.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food...