Retroarch > pcsx Rearmed (Play psx game on switch) -Help-

Krizeth

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2022
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
72
Country
Italy
Hi guys, I see several videos on youtube of people playing playstation 1 games on switch via Retroarch using pcsx rearmed as the core.

I already have retroarch installed, I use it mainly with core snes but as explained in the title I would like to emulate psx games.

I am quite familiar with retroarch, I am aware of having to download the "pcsx rearmed" core and then import my psx roms, and then everything is ok.

Now, I have read something about the "BIOS" files, and insert them for more compatibility, I have seen that there are several types.

PSXONPSP660.bin
scph101.bin
scph7001.bin
scph5501.bin
scph1001.bin

My questions are:

1) Do I have to manually add all the BIOS files for pcsx reamerd?

2) If so, should I add ALL the ".bins" or just some?

3) In which directory should I add the ".bin" files exactly?

4) Should I rename the BIOS ".bin" files to uppercase and lowercase or does it make a difference?

I kindly ask for some detailed explanation about it, as before asking questions here I have searched assiduously on google, youtube and various forums for a tutorial relating to this but I have not found anything useful and exhaustive.

Thanks in advance =)

Greetings

Cristian
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,614
Trophies
2
XP
1,828
Country
United States
Hi guys, I see several videos on youtube of people playing playstation 1 games on switch via Retroarch using pcsx rearmed as the core.

I already have retroarch installed, I use it mainly with core snes but as explained in the title I would like to emulate psx games.

I am quite familiar with retroarch, I am aware of having to download the "pcsx rearmed" core and then import my psx roms, and then everything is ok.

Now, I have read something about the "BIOS" files, and insert them for more compatibility, I have seen that there are several types.

PSXONPSP660.bin
scph101.bin
scph7001.bin
scph5501.bin
scph1001.bin

My questions are:

1) Do I have to manually add all the BIOS files for pcsx reamerd?

2) If so, should I add ALL the ".bins" or just some?

3) In which directory should I add the ".bin" files exactly?

4) Should I rename the BIOS ".bin" files to uppercase and lowercase or does it make a difference?

I kindly ask for some detailed explanation about it, as before asking questions here I have searched assiduously on google, youtube and various forums for a tutorial relating to this but I have not found anything useful and exhaustive.

Thanks in advance =)

Greetings

Cristian

You only need one BIOS file.

common bios files are:

  • scph5500 (NTSC – Japan)
  • scph5501 (NTSC – US)
  • scph5502 – (PAL – Europe)
  • scph5552 (PAL – Europe)
The list goes on…

Since BIOS files may be copyright bait, just Google something like:

‘github retroarch_system Abdess’

To find out where your system currently expects you to put the BIOS files go here:

Settings -> Directory -> System/BIOS



4F27430B-C12C-47AC-9959-C48A2B5F185A.png


BIOS file names are case-sensitive, so as a best practice they should be written without caps, and suffixed with ‘.bin’.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Krizeth

Krizeth

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2022
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
72
Country
Italy
You only need one BIOS file.

common bios files are:

  • scph5500 (NTSC – Japan)
  • scph5501 (NTSC – US)
  • scph5502 – (PAL – Europe)
  • scph5552 (PAL – Europe)
The list goes on…

Since BIOS files may be copyright bait, just Google something like:

‘github retroarch_system Abdess’

To find out where your system currently expects you to put the BIOS files go here:

Settings -> Directory -> System/BIOS



View attachment 299574

BIOS file names are case-sensitive, so as a best practice they should be written without caps, and suffixed with ‘.bin’.

Thank you very much for the clarification, will give it a try and give updates, thanks again =)
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,614
Trophies
2
XP
1,828
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Krizeth

Krizeth

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2022
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
72
Country
Italy
Scommetti.

Wikipedia ha una carrellata completa di tutte le varianti di PlayStation e del BIOS che hanno eseguito:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_models#Varianti

salta al centro e cerca:

Confronto di modelli​


you bet.

wikipedia has a full rundown of all the playstation variants and the bios they ran:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_models#Variants

skip down to the middle and look for:

Comparison of models​

Just tested, the games run perfectly, Only bad thing is the crackling audio in some games = (

Tested:

GTA 2 - (Perfect audio & Perfect gameplay)

Gex 3D Deep Cover Gecko - (Crackling Audio & Good Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Semi-Crackling Audio, Perfect Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Crash When try to save the game, but i can use quicksave from retroarch and work fine)


Do you know any solution to fix this "Audio" problem ?

Thanks in Advance =)
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,614
Trophies
2
XP
1,828
Country
United States
Just tested, the games run perfectly, Only bad thing is the crackling audio in some games = (

Tested:

GTA 2 - (Perfect audio & Perfect gameplay)

Gex 3D Deep Cover Gecko - (Crackling Audio & Good Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Semi-Crackling Audio, Perfect Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Crash When try to save the game, but i can use quicksave from retroarch and work fine)


Do you know any solution to fix this "Audio" problem ?

Thanks in Advance =)

Switch is a little underpowered so there are a few things you can do:

  • Try a different BIOS. This one is a good one: PSXONPSP660.bin


6552C740-D40E-41BE-8FBA-D1D95182B2D1.jpeg



  • pcsx rearmed audio itself can be improved by going to Settings -> Video and enable Threaded Video. turn this off for all your other cores.

  • last but not least you can look into overclocking. This isn’t a good idea if you’re on Erista (V1 switch) and if you aren’t careful you can damage your switch, so that’s why it’s last on the list.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Krizeth

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,148
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,882
Country
Russia
Switch is a little underpowered so there are a few things you can do:

  • Try a different BIOS. This one is a good one: PSXONPSP660.bin


View attachment 299596


  • pcsx rearmed audio itself can be improved by going to Settings -> Video and enable Threaded Video. turn this off for all your other cores.

  • last but not least you can look into overclocking. This isn’t a good idea if you’re on Erista (V1 switch) and if you aren’t careful you can damage your switch, so that’s why it’s last on the list.
underpowered? its more than enough for ps1... Just use OC. Or go for lakka/android, it has far better ps1 emulation options like duckstation.
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,148
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,882
Country
Russia
Just tested, the games run perfectly, Only bad thing is the crackling audio in some games = (

Tested:

GTA 2 - (Perfect audio & Perfect gameplay)

Gex 3D Deep Cover Gecko - (Crackling Audio & Good Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Semi-Crackling Audio, Perfect Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Crash When try to save the game, but i can use quicksave from retroarch and work fine)


Do you know any solution to fix this "Audio" problem ?

Thanks in Advance =)
overclocking
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,614
Trophies
2
XP
1,828
Country
United States
underpowered? its more than enough for ps1... Just use OC. Or go for lakka/android, it has far better ps1 emulation options like duckstation.

Overclocking is done to boost an underpowered platform up to specs required to run specific apps, no? :D

I did mention OC as a third option if the others don’t eek out enough to fix the specific audio issues. I run a few games with different OC profiles myself but I think a different BIOS and threading will help a lot.

overclocking

@Krizeth if the other methods don’t meet your needs, here‘s a good thread to read about OC. Highly recommend starting off low and slowly adding more until your audio issue is resolved. You will increase wear and tear on your system and can actually do damage if you overdo it. Read read read.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Krizeth

Krizeth

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2022
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
72
Country
Italy
Switch è un po' sottodimensionato, quindi ci sono alcune cose che puoi fare:

  • Prova un BIOS diverso. Questo è buono: PSXONPSP660.bin


View attachment 299596


  • L'audio riarmato pcsx stesso può essere migliorato andando su Impostazioni -> Video e abilitando Threaded Video. disattivalo per tutti gli altri core.

  • ultimo ma non meno importante, puoi esaminare l'overclocking. Questa non è una buona idea se sei su Erista (interruttore V1) e se non stai attento puoi danneggiare il tuo interruttore, ecco perché è l'ultimo della lista.
Grazie per la rapida risposta, vorrei provare ad inserire "PSXONPSP660.bin" perché francamente anche dal mio punto di vista l'OC sarebbe l'ultima risorsa.

Se inserisco "PSXONPSP660.bin" nella directory retroarch / cores / system, devo rimuovere l'altro BIOS o semplicemente aggiungere il file PSXONPSP660.bin? o dovrei rinominare PSXONPSP660.bin in "scph5502.bin"?
Switch is a little underpowered so there are a few things you can do:

  • Try a different BIOS. This one is a good one: PSXONPSP660.bin


View attachment 299596


  • pcsx rearmed audio itself can be improved by going to Settings -> Video and enable Threaded Video. turn this off for all your other cores.

  • last but not least you can look into overclocking. This isn’t a good idea if you’re on Erista (V1 switch) and if you aren’t careful you can damage your switch, so that’s why it’s last on the list.
Thanks for the quick reply @binkinator , I would like to try to insert "PSXONPSP660.bin" because frankly also from my point of view the OC would be the last resort.
If I put "PSXONPSP660.bin" in the retroarch / cores / system directory, do I need to remove the other BIOS or just add the PSXONPSP660.bin file? or should I rename PSXONPSP660.bin to "scph5502.bin" to make it read?

Thanks in advance =)
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,614
Trophies
2
XP
1,828
Country
United States
Grazie per la rapida risposta, vorrei provare ad inserire "PSXONPSP660.bin" perché francamente anche dal mio punto di vista l'OC sarebbe l'ultima risorsa.

Se inserisco "PSXONPSP660.bin" nella directory retroarch / cores / system, devo rimuovere l'altro BIOS o semplicemente aggiungere il file PSXONPSP660.bin? o dovrei rinominare PSXONPSP660.bin in "scph5502.bin"?

Thanks for the quick reply @binkinator , I would like to try to insert "PSXONPSP660.bin" because frankly also from my point of view the OC would be the last resort.
If I put "PSXONPSP660.bin" in the retroarch / cores / system directory, do I need to remove the other BIOS or just add the PSXONPSP660.bin file? or should I rename PSXONPSP660.bin to "scph5502.bin" to make it read?

Thanks in advance =)

I would remove the old BIOS files and drop the new one in the same place. i would do this to make 100% sure that you are using the new BIOS. You want your tests to be clean for best comparison.

Not trying to scare people about OverClocking. Just be sure to read up on OC before you dive in.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Krizeth

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
969
Trophies
0
XP
897
Country
United States
Just tested, the games run perfectly, Only bad thing is the crackling audio in some games = (

Tested:

GTA 2 - (Perfect audio & Perfect gameplay)

Gex 3D Deep Cover Gecko - (Crackling Audio & Good Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Semi-Crackling Audio, Perfect Gameplay)

Hogs of War - (Crash When try to save the game, but i can use quicksave from retroarch and work fine)


Do you know any solution to fix this "Audio" problem ?

Thanks in Advance =)
by not using horrible pcsxrearmed and instead using lakka with vulkan and swanstation/duckstation. extra benefit of HD resolution
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: who the hell are u fast