Hacking Emulation RetroArch/Libretro Thread: PS Vita Edition! Nightlies Included

AkitoUF

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
274
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
663
Country
Chile
Change or abandon your romhacks. Vanilla plays fine on gPSP w/dynarec, some romhacks have issues.
Yeah, I was using the Sound Restoration hack for the GBA version, that's the one that runs badly

Should have specified Super NES/famicom version, unpatched.
Ah no, the SNES version has it's own problems, the audio is sliiiiightly delayed. You'll notice if you play the battle theme on youtube at the same time a battle starts in the game on the Vita.
 

mosslump

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
87
Country
United States
Does it paly badly ?

I played Robotrek on Retroarch and it worked flawlessly.

Yeah, frame rate takes a dump during the intro cutscene (after starting new game) regardless of settings or cores. FFVI seems to be a good SNES benchmark. It may be the Vita itself is just not fast enough to handle it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MKKhanzo

FmT

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
85
Trophies
0
XP
427
Country
Japan
I guess I'll stop holding my breath for final fantasy vi playing smoothly on Vita or 3ds. (unless anyone's got any tips!)
FFVI (stock) is working fine on vita. Even romhack with some version -> You can make a search in that topic and you will find WHICH version of sound restoration is working on VITA hardware. As your problem on 3DS... On a 3DS, emulation of GBA is flawless (hardware based like vita for ps1 and psp emulation). Last version of FFVI sound restoration is perfect if you make an inject (better to find the way on 3DS forum).
 
  • Like
Reactions: MKKhanzo

swosho

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
47
Trophies
0
XP
936
Country
Ukraine
I guess I'll stop holding my breath for final fantasy vi playing smoothly on Vita or 3ds. (unless anyone's got any tips!)
1. Use Snes9x 2005 core, the non-plus version.
2. Bump up the CPU clock speed to 500 MHz and, optionally, downclock the ES4/GPU to 111 MHz.
Runs full speed for me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rahkeesh

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,093
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,631
Country
United States
Yeah SNES is in general borderline on the Vita. As mentioned above 2005 non-plus (or 2002 if you have to) and 500 mhz is your best bet.
 

AkitoUF

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
274
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
663
Country
Chile
FFVI (stock) is working fine on vita. Even romhack with some version -> You can make a search in that topic and you will find WHICH version of sound restoration is working on VITA hardware. As your problem on 3DS... On a 3DS, emulation of GBA is flawless (hardware based like vita for ps1 and psp emulation). Last version of FFVI sound restoration is perfect if you make an inject (better to find the way on 3DS forum).
If you ever find the version (or even the prepatched game) please let me know in private messages please because I NEVER got to fix the slowdowns of the sound restoration on Vita.
 

_TheGuy_

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 5, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
38
Country
United States
[Retroarch version 1.9.12]

Is anyone able to fully run Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga? One of the few games I was most looking forward to playing on the Vita, but the cores seem to be unstable(graphical glitches, frame dips, etc.). GPSP is the closest one with full speed and fast forward capability, up until the Koopa Cruiser where you fight goombas from inside the barrels. It hangs in the battle transition and freezes. I'd like to hear your experiences testing the game, thanks
 

ital

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
1,578
Trophies
0
XP
3,440
Is there some kind of way to edit the file parameters to try out a new Retro install? Got a very old one on my Vita that works well and would prefer to keep it to see how the new one is without removing it.

Any ideas?
 

ital

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
1,578
Trophies
0
XP
3,440
Had considered that but the install I currently have is a custom version into which I've edited quite a lot of stuff to get it how I want it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lineacero

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,093
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,631
Country
United States
Boot up retroarch, do nothing else but load your core/game, change the video rotation, then through the quick menu save a core or game override. It should write out an ini that just contains the rotation settings and load that when you load the core/game. After that point you can set your rotation back to normal, and the override should still apply rotation to those specific cores/games when loaded. Haven't tried this much myself but that seems to be the theory.
 
  • Like
Reactions: swosho and ital

NANASHI89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
2,443
Trophies
0
XP
4,769
Country
United States
Hello! Playstation 1 games, including 2D games, seem to lag like crazy with audio and gameplay on RetroArch Vita. How to speed it up?
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,093
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,631
Country
United States
Best you can do for Retroarch is one of the 500 overclock plugins for the vita kernel. In general you will get a far better PS1 experience with Adrenaline though.
 

The_Ho

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2022
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
RJ
XP
222
Country
Brazil
Hello! Playstation 1 games, including 2D games, seem to lag like crazy with audio and gameplay on RetroArch Vita. How to speed it up?
Put FramSkip 1, it usually improves most games here, use the PSP BIOS renamed to the required BIOS, that's what helped here, but no miracle lol.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rahkeesh
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Elodain @ Elodain: yay I turned my Ps4 into a paperweight today because everyone insisted the exploit was stable.