Hacking Emulation RetroArch/Libretro Thread: PS Vita Edition! Nightlies Included

NotReallySteve

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
479
Country
United Kingdom
Yeah, the majority are for scaled. But as you say, there are grids and scanlines out there which work, and I tend to use these (full screen ones). I was just curious as to what the new shiny was!
It is SuperFX, but I'm sure I had this running great out the box in previous retroarchs? Are these running like arse just a "known issue" now? Best I can get is 40fps and constantly skipping/juddering sound. Is there something I should be tweaking for these?
 

AkitoUF

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
274
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
679
Country
Chile
Has anyone tried Launch Octopus' stage of Megaman X with the 2005 core? Are you guys getting slowdown there with the ocean's transparency fully covering the screen?
Reposting my question to see if there's something wrong with the SNES settings on my Vita or not.
 

NotReallySteve

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
479
Country
United Kingdom
Well... Shit?
There's actually an lcd3x shader in here?
Which is fucking spot on? And looks pretty damn close out the box to me?

Only trouble is, stock vita is right on the edge using it, so I need to get a tiny bit more oomph to run it using that (trying disabling vsync for now).
 

NotReallySteve

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
479
Country
United Kingdom
Well... Shit?

There's actually an lcd3x shader in here?

Which is fucking spot on? And looks pretty damn close out the box to me?



Only trouble is, stock vita is right on the edge using it, so I need to get a tiny bit more oomph to run it using that (trying disabling vsync for now).
 
  • Like
Reactions: MKKhanzo

kristianity77

GBATemp old fogey
Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
1,653
Trophies
0
Location
Stourport, UK
XP
2,407
Country
United Kingdom
Have to say. After trying retroarch on vita in its various guises over the past t years or so and never really being very impressed with stability, I decided again to install the latest version and after 3 hours play, with various emulators etc, not one single crash, no matter how hard I tried to make it so.

Gone are the random hitches in performance which plagued snes9x. Yes, the games where the vita just doesn't have the power are still the same, but it's way better now than its ever been.

Gpsp doesn't crash, at all! The audio still has the odd ticking sound in games but that can't be related to performance as there is loads of headroom left in terms of power. But again, games play flawlessly that I've tried.

Yes, impressive updates since I last played (maybe a year ago)
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,108
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,687
Country
United States
The new auto-framedelay option doesn't seem to work well on Vita, causing notable slowdown, which I don't see on Switch, nor on PC while using x-audio. As you can see on the PC version, some audio drivers appear to be incompatible, that might be the issue on Vita as well.
 

AllanFF

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
360
Country
Brazil
Have to say. After trying retroarch on vita in its various guises over the past t years or so and never really being very impressed with stability, I decided again to install the latest version and after 3 hours play, with various emulators etc, not one single crash, no matter how hard I tried to make it so.

Gone are the random hitches in performance which plagued snes9x. Yes, the games where the vita just doesn't have the power are still the same, but it's way better now than its ever been.

Gpsp doesn't crash, at all! The audio still has the odd ticking sound in games but that can't be related to performance as there is loads of headroom left in terms of power. But again, games play flawlessly that I've tried.

Yes, impressive updates since I last played (maybe a year ago)
I'm still on an old version, stopped updating because of the emulators problems a few months ago. But I would like to ask, have you tryed the more problematic games, Camelot games. I mean Golden Sun 2, Mario Golf, Mario Tennis ?
 

Arcade2019

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
49
Location
Liverpool
XP
841
Country
United Kingdom
Just tried to update from 1.7.8 and everything has gone to shit. Constant 'c2-1282-1' errors even after deleting everything inc config etc. Nothing will make it work :gun:
 

ital

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
1,591
Trophies
0
XP
3,493
Is there any way to install 2 different versions of Retro on one Vita? I've got a very old config I'm using that works well but would like to try the new one out without having to delete it.
 

mosslump

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
87
Country
United States
So, is it safe to safe Retroarch on Vita has come to a stalemate?

Gpsp Mame2003-plus are still active and gba is getting perfect. Other than that don't expect new cores so don't update if it's working fine for you

I guess I'll stop holding my breath for final fantasy vi playing smoothly on Vita or 3ds. (unless anyone's got any tips!)
 
  • Like
Reactions: MKKhanzo
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Psi eats a lot of Arbys