Hacking Emulation RetroArch/Libretro Thread: PS Vita Edition! Nightlies Included

Rafciu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
196
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
760
Country
Poland
N64 isn't listed under a category on page 1, I'm assuming it isn't supported at all for Vita Retroarch, no core at all? I don't think I saw NDS either. I'm really hurting in the nostalgia department without a solution for N64. I considered a modded Wii/U to play N64, DS, along with PS2? & GC-Wii/U, if possible Sarurn/Dreamcast too but was just recently laid off due to Covid19 so don't have the means to buy a used Wii/U to try to mod. Thanks for any help or info

Right now there is no DS emulator for Vita that plays nds games in decent speed, for n64 You can use Deadalus X64 but is far from perfect. Modded Wii/Wii U can't play ps2 games, rest of the systems You metioned are possilbe on Wii U.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DrumMaster777

RaniaAl

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
184
Country
Austria
I need some help please.I'll get some nasty crashes with some of the cores.Then,the Retŕoarch won't start at all and I have to delete the salamander.cfg line in Vitashell.Delete and reinstall Retroarch won't solve the problem.What can I do?
 

tosti

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
100
Trophies
0
XP
251
Country
Netherlands
This newbie needs some advice. I am trying to install RetroArch via the instructions for PS Vita. I have downloaded the latest VPK (1.9.0) and I can also find the zipped bundle with assets. However, when I try to download RetroArch's Data (the 7z file) the link is broken.

Can anyone help me:
- either find the missing RetroArch_data 7z file for VPK 1.9.0 and the zipped bundle I already downloaded
- or link me to another VPK, zipped bundle and RetroArch combination for a (slightly) older stable release?

Thanks in advance.
 

domrael

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 11, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
225
Country
Brazil
Hey tosti, search for "buildbot libretro vita" on google, the first result will have the nightly builds (sorry for this, i can't post links yet), the last one working is the 2020-14-11, beyond this date all vpk's are broken. and for kllr007 maybe you downloaded a broken VPK? try the ones on the buildbot thar are at least 250MB, hope this helps!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kerbangman

swosho

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
44
Trophies
0
XP
881
Country
Ukraine
Yeah, I wasn't been able to compile the Piglet / OpenGL ES 2.0 version either, only building the single-core version without the salamander + griffin system worked. I guess there's still something left to resolve to fix the building process, we'll just have to wait for now.
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,073
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,511
Country
United States
Well I have the piglet nightly running with gl as driver, and there is indeed a shader section in the quick menu, but it doesn't seem to see either the GLSL or CG shaders I copied to my system. Supposedly the driver limits what types of shaders can be loaded so maybe this stuff isn't fully hooked up yet.
 

Lineacero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2017
Messages
317
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,285
Country
Spain
Very good to all, how are you?
I have seen that a new friend core has been implemented (uae4arm)
But when he asks me for disk 2 I don't know how to put it.
Do you know how to do it?
Thanks a lot..

In the puae core ,, in options there is disk control but in uae4arm not.
 

rez78

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
886
Country
Italy
Very good to all, how are you?
I have seen that a new friend core has been implemented (uae4arm)
But when he asks me for disk 2 I don't know how to put it.
Do you know how to do it?
Thanks a lot..

In the puae core ,, in options there is disk control but in uae4arm not.
Try to remap in "input" main menu of retroarch. Not quick menu :-D
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,073
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,511
Country
United States
Progress slowly happening on the piglet nightlies. You can attempt to load glsl shaders now, although they fail to apply.

I tried the standard version which also is developing GL support, but its got huge slowdowns, whereas piglet seems to run just as well as vita2d.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nowhereman87
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: He has to feel special.