1. cugel

    cugel Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Genesis Plus GX performance also might be dependent on who has or hasn't overclocked their Vita.
     
  2. ciskohansen

    ciskohansen Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Spain
    the problem was having rewind activated, if it is deactivated it is perfect


    About GBA, Legacy of Goku games have copyright protection, neither with vba-next nor with gpsp you skip it.
     
    Last edited by ciskohansen, Apr 14, 2020
  3. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    It definitely performs fine on stock clocks, albeit admittedly pushing the limits. The aforementioned SCD edge cases describe in more detail.

    Rewind is essentially a no-go on Vita due to the added overhead. We just don't have that much CPU time per core to make it happen.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Then I'll happily not continue your conversation that you decided to bring up in the first place if you aren't even respectful enough to listen to what I have to say in the first place. But, sure, continue believing whatever you want.
     
  4. niuus

    niuus GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,338
    Country:
    Venezuela
    By quoting me, you are continuing the discussion, loser. I will just block you.

    What a little guy... :teach:
     
    Last edited by niuus, Apr 14, 2020
  5. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
  6. vree

    vree GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    505
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone tell me how I can see what version fo retrarch I'm running?

    Also is it normal gba games have so much slowdowns like for example megaman zero really stutters...
     
  7. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    If you're using Stable, lower-left corner text tells you the version number.
    If you're using Nightlies/want detailed info, Information -> System Information, and check the Build Date.

    If you're using VBA Next, unfortunately it can be pretty slow. gpSP garners better performance, but beware of bugs.
     
  8. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    Updated the OP a bit, but nothing major.

    Thanks to a certain someone who I won't be naming, and with the slightly more helpful tip from a friend offsite, I've gone back to some of the older builds dated as far as January (this year) and compared with the newest nightlies. As expected, I have not noticed any regression in performance.
     
    Rahkeesh likes this.
  9. FmT

    FmT Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Japan
    You forgot to mention "MAME 2003 plus" which is a better MAME than 200 and 2003. Have the latest games like Final Fight 30th anniversary, lots of bug fixes (analog stick preferred) and better performance on legacy games than FBA / MAME 2000 AND 2003. FBA is still king for CPS / NeoGeo / some shooters. Romset is a little tricky though.

    https://github.com/libretro/mame2003-plus-libretro/tree/master/metadata
     
    Last edited by FmT, Apr 16, 2020
  10. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    You think I didn't notice?
    MAME '03+ has been in the OP for years now. And its performance is still comparable to the original 2003 core; and if it isn't, then I'm not seeing which games actually benefited from the backported drivers. But I still don't expect leaps and bounds since it's ultimately based on an already-underperforming core with more accurate - and thus, typically more costly - drivers.
    I could always check with the set I have just to make sure, but that was the result I had last time I tried it a while back and Libretro hasn't really mentioned any games that gain mostly performance benefits over the original.

    EDIT:
    And my cursory testing more or less confirmed my suspicions. Take a look at Konami's X-Men;
    Not pictured: I also tried Sega's Space Harrier; both cores are exactly the same both performance and graphics-wise, which is mid-60%'s in-game, and 80%-90% on title screen.
     
    Last edited by SeongGino, Apr 17, 2020
  11. FmT

    FmT Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Japan
    Try Arkanoid then
     
    Last edited by FmT, Apr 17, 2020
  12. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,954
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't the OC make the already-pathetic battery life worse?
     
  13. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    Not necessarily any worse than running homebrew, which overclocks the GPU anyways.
    And it isn't even like the Vita's battery is particularly bad.
     
  14. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,954
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know, I feel the CPU is kinda weak
     
  15. setsunafseiei885

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Indonesia
    You do need OC for RA, its already set to 444/222 for default, max it out to 500mhz not really see any improvement just drain the battery more faster
     
  16. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    Reducing CPU overhead and chances of slowdown doesn't count as an improvement?
     
  17. Kerbangman

    Kerbangman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Has anyone imported content for PC Engine CD games?
    I've tried and it goes through the motion but nothing comes up in the playlist section
     
  18. cugel

    cugel Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    This has been a problem for years and none of the Retroarch devs seem interested in fixing it. I think there are some third party tools you can use to build playlists but I personally just use the browse files option to load pc engine cd games.
     
  19. SeongGino

    OP SeongGino The Average One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    912
    Country:
    United States
    Or just simple manual scanning would do it. For automatic matching to work, or for grabbing thumbs, you need games whose exact file names are matched to either matching No-Intro or Redump sets.
     
    Last edited by SeongGino, Apr 20, 2020
    swosho and cugel like this.
  20. cugel

    cugel Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks I never really knew how manual scanning worked before.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, Nightlies, Libretro