Homebrew Emulation Retroarch build by crazymac on latest atmosphere crash

1alien1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
Hej guys, i finally switched over from sxos to atmosphere and i am liking it so far. only problem right now is the fact, that the crazymac lite build of retroarch for switch does not seem to work. it crashes upon start (also with R override). i suspect that it is the problem of the old retroarch version within the prebuild pack (1.8.3). does anybody know how to get it to work without breaking the prebuild pack and all its glory?
 

1alien1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The

Djakku

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
739
Country
United Kingdom
I don't know what is so specific about the crazymac configuration but retroarch came a long way since it's initial build on switch.

I would backup the original whole crazymac build on my hdd / or just rename it on the switch, copy the latest retroarch build on the sd card and test it. For me it has always worked out of the box. If any issues, i use the online updater.

Another alternative could be to run LAKKA instead of horizon.
 

1alien1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
I don't know what is so specific about the crazymac configuration but retroarch came a long way since it's initial build on switch.

I would backup the original whole crazymac build on my hdd / or just rename it on the switch, copy the latest retroarch build on the sd card and test it. For me it has always worked out of the box. If any issues, i use the online updater.

Another alternative could be to run LAKKA instead of horizon.
you can google it, it really is an awesome build like none others. specific bezels for every single game and so fort...using a newer version will break it unforunately :(. it was the same with the wiiu and vita version, no update possible without a whole lot of work...
 

Djakku

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
739
Country
United Kingdom
You could TRY to replace just the NRO files and the core files and see if it works?

All of that after you backup everything of course.
 

1alien1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
You could TRY to replace just the NRO files and the core files and see if it works?

All of that after you backup everything of course.
didnt work either. if i replace all the latest retroarch files, i get a clean fresh experience. if i replace only the nro file, i keep at least the overlay but still all system categories and such are missing...
 

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
didnt work either. if i replace all the latest retroarch files, i get a clean fresh experience. if i replace only the nro file, i keep at least the overlay but still all system categories and such are missing...
i have ported the psvita lite version to the switch using the latest stable version available nowadays - 1.10.0

i actually did it for my personal use, but let me know if you're interested
 

Djakku

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
739
Country
United Kingdom
i have ported the psvita lite version to the switch using the latest stable version available nowadays - 1.10.0

i actually did it for my personal use, but let me know if you're interested
Would be happy to have a look 😁

Feel free to dm me!
 

Nitespell

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
130
Country
United States
i have ported the psvita lite version to the switch using the latest stable version available nowadays - 1.10.0

i actually did it for my personal use, but let me know if you're interested
I’m interested too please when you have time can you dm me!!
 

febiazi

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Brasília
XP
9
Country
Brazil
i have ported the psvita lite version to the switch using the latest stable version available nowadays - 1.10.0

i actually did it for my personal use, but let me know if you're intereste
I’m interested too, i think i reply to you in reddit
 

dalle3

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
83
Country
Austria
Just a quick question did you ported it to look and work same as on ps vita?
I have vita here and switch but cannot get to look exactly same
Thx
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs