retarded g6 slow-downs

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by galaxykidgamma, Sep 29, 2006.

Sep 29, 2006

retarded g6 slow-downs by galaxykidgamma at 2:22 AM (1,234 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. galaxykidgamma
    OP

    Member galaxykidgamma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    United States
    i'm getting like stupid-lag with just about every GBA game i've played recently, i mean i could understand Iridion II maybe, maybe but like every other game i stick in it MMZ and mario advance 3 and all kinds of crap is messing up. BulletGBA is working fine, which is weird because that put over 500 independent movement bullets on the screen at the same time

    what's going on? anyone else having this?
     
  2. Hypnotoad

    Member Hypnotoad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Space.
    Country:
    United States
    Nope.

    Is you card flashed with the latest firmware? Are you using newest U-Disk Mgr?
     
  3. galaxykidgamma
    OP

    Member galaxykidgamma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    United States
    nah man, i've got a deathgrip on my test FW, i don't see why that would make a big diff, tho i am on latest loader software (well, not l8st, but 4.4)
     
  4. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm experiencing the exact same thing. The slowdowns occur when lots of things are going on in a game, for instance some enemies and moving things in Yoshi's Island. It's weird though, because you'd expect the G6's memory is fast enough.

    Another problem I'm having with GBA games is that trained games don't seem to work. I just burn the pre-trained ROM and when I run it the trainer screen looks corrupted, and when I start the game after that it crashes. In other cases the ROM won't even load :/

    Rather annoying, because I chose the G6 because of GBA support!
     
  5. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yoshi's island has slowdowns on the original game too...
     
  6. meangreenie

    Banned meangreenie Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it hasn't
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    No, the SNES version doesn't have, the GBA port has.

    He's back...
     
  8. meangreenie

    Banned meangreenie Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I have played 3 worlds on my EZ4 and have not seen even a glimmer of slowdown, not one iota.
     
  9. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]

    Taken from the IGN review:

    Better do some research before posting [​IMG]
     
  10. pte

    Member pte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Well, the DS has 2x ARM processors. With an EZ cart and the rom there should be more power? Just my logic.
     
  11. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    You do know that when you run Yoshi's Island you are in GBA mode. That has nothing to do with the DS's or G6's capabilities [​IMG]
     
  12. pte

    Member pte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    But I meant that does it use the DS hardware to run the GBA or does it have the GBA hw embedded. If it uses better hardware to handle the GBA side there should be no lag.
     
  13. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It uses the GBA hardware embedded. GBA games perform exactly the same on the DS as on the GBA. Flash carts don't help the processor at all, so if an original cartridge has slowdown then so will the flash cart version.

    As far as I'm aware, the G6 doesn't introduce slowdown into any games which didn't have it already.
     
  14. galaxykidgamma
    OP

    Member galaxykidgamma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    United States
    thanks about the yoshi's island thing from ign spacejump, but, don't tell me to do research befor i post, if you don't want to help then don't

    the original post only asked if other people were having the problem
     
  15. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    That post wasn't directed to you but to meangreenie...
     
  16. galaxykidgamma
    OP

    Member galaxykidgamma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    United States
    dag, my appologies
     

Share This Page