restore serial in prodinfo.dec with nxnandmanager?

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
is it possible to just hex edit the serial back into prodinfo.dec after nand extracted with nxnandmanager? will that restore connecting to nintendo servers?
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,624
Trophies
1
XP
7,046
Country
United States
is it possible to just hex edit the serial back into prodinfo.dec after nand extracted with nxnandmanager? will that restore connecting to nintendo servers?
If u lost your backup after installing incognito your fucked this one prime example to never use incognito
 
  • Like
Reactions: binkinator

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
i didnt use incognito, i restored the switch without having any nand backup or any backup at all. but the serial is zeroed out in system settings. i have the serial from the bottom of the switch and i can see an entry for serial number ('XAW100000000') in prodinfo.dec but i didnt know if it would make a valid rawnand to restore with. i guess ill test it out and see
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
ok well, i edited prodinfo.dec and added my serial thats printed at the bottom of the switch. i opened the prodinfo.dec with HxD and searched for "XAW" then wrote my serial in place of the zeroed out one. then used encrypt.bat and then flash.bat. the resulting rawnand opened in nxnandmanagerx64 gui just fine and i can see the serial is changed from the zeroed out one and now it shows my serial in nxnandmanager. now just to copy this rawnand and then flash it to the switch.

i will come back and update this post if it boots. i hope that i dont get an insta ban LOL. which reminds me. when i load hekate and select Launch->Stock that means there is no cfw present that can be seen if i were to connect to nintendo servers? and when i select Launch->Stock in Hekate if i update there, i wont burn fuses correct? because of autorcm? i had 12.0.2 installed via a donor nand and downgraded that with day break i think is the name. and checked my fuses after i got back to 11.0.1 and still only had 14 fuses burnt. so i guess the autorcm works as expected.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,624
Trophies
1
XP
7,046
Country
United States
ok well, i edited prodinfo.dec and added my serial thats printed at the bottom of the switch. i opened the prodinfo.dec with HxD and searched for "XAW" then wrote my serial in place of the zeroed out one. then used encrypt.bat and then flash.bat. the resulting rawnand opened in nxnandmanagerx64 gui just fine and i can see the serial is changed from the zeroed out one and now it shows my serial in nxnandmanager. now just to copy this rawnand and then flash it to the switch.

i will come back and update this post if it boots. i hope that i dont get an insta ban LOL
Open eshop to see if it fully worked then
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
Open eshop to see if it fully worked then
well i got to copy this rawnand back to my sd card then i got to flash it so it will be a min lol. if this works then hopefully someone can write a guide of how to restore the serial. there is not any obvious tutorials for things like this that i can find easily, even on well known tutorial/guide websites
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,618
Trophies
2
XP
1,840
Country
United States
well i got to copy this rawnand back to my sd card then i got to flash it so it will be a min lol. if this works then hopefully someone can write a guide of how to restore the serial. there is not any obvious tutorials for things like this that i can find easily, even on well known tutorial/guide websites
You should take a backup of your Sysnand before you restore a test image over your Sysnand.

How did you blank out your Prodinfomif you didnt use Incognito?
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
i didnt even have a nand backup, or any other backup. lockpick dumps prod.keys and then you can use nxnandmanager to decrypt a donor raw nand, but you need donor prodinfo.dec and donor prod.keys to decrypt the donor raw nand. once it is decrypted i think you can edit the .dec files aka prodinfo.dec which is where the serial info is. once i hex edited the donor prodinfo.dec and then re-encrypted the donor raw nand with my dumped consoles prod.keys via lockpick, i could open the newly generated raw nand in nxnandmanagerx64 gui and everything looked good with no errors and i could see the serial was updated to my switches serial. its flashing right now. we will see what happens

EDIT: you could probably dump your nand if you lost your serial via incognito, and then use your own prod.keys to decrypt in nxmanager. then once you have it decrypted edit the serial and add it from the bottom of your switch where the serial number is printed on the edge of the frame. then encrypt it and flash it back too the switch. dont see why it wouldnt work?
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,624
Trophies
1
XP
7,046
Country
United States
i didnt even have a nand backup, or any other backup. lockpick dumps prod.keys and then you can use nxnandmanager to decrypt a donor raw nand, but you need donor prodinfo.dec and donor prod.keys to decrypt the donor raw nand. once it is decrypted i think you can edit the .dec files aka prodinfo.dec which is where the serial info is. once i hex edited the donor prodinfo.dec and then re-encrypted the donor raw nand with my dumped consoles prod.keys via lockpick, i could open the newly generated raw nand in nxnandmanagerx64 gui and everything looked good with no errors and i could see the serial was updated to my switches serial. its flashing right now. we will see what happens

EDIT: you could probably dump your nand if you lost your serial via incognito, and then use your own prod.keys to decrypt in nxmanager. then once you have it decrypted edit the serial and add it from the bottom of your switch where the serial number is printed on the edge of the frame. then encrypt it and flash it back too the switch. dont see why it wouldnt work?
Eshop works now?
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
no, but i see another option maybe with hekate->payloads->prodinfo_gen.bin and then select the from scratch option and it generates a "generated_prodinfo_from_scratch.bin". maybe somehow i can use this to get eshop back working. ill keep looking. if i am successful i will come back here, or if anyone knows wtf to do just let me know, otherwise ill continue throwing bricks at it
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,618
Trophies
2
XP
1,840
Country
United States
Read some of your post history and have a better understanding of where you’re coming from.
This switch was in less than ideal condition when you initially received it.

If you can get it to boot at all then you’re as good as you’re going to get. A blank Prodinfo is just a self ban. It won‘t prevent you from enjoying your switch.

If you can‘t get it to boot, your best bet would be to get a replacement emmc off of aliexpress, eBay or Amazon and build a banned Sysnand from a donor nand that yiu can find and download via Google. There are several threads on how to do this here on the forums.

I assure you that the folks that put these threads together would have hexedit‘d their serial number back onto their emmc if it were possible. It’s a very well known issue that a mishap with Prodinfo blanking can result in a permanent self ban.
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
so i guess even if i were able to edit that, it would probably still result in a ban because it is not a complete prodinfo. well it is booting and working great so far. i think ill just go ahead and reassemble it and call it good enough for now.

does anyone know of a good contact glue for holding the replacement emmc back in its original position on the metal shielding?
 
  • Like
Reactions: binkinator

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
i do still have the other original emmc module. maybe somehow i can dum,p it with that. i have a feeling though that there is going to be a failed component on the little pcb or maybe the emmc solder connections are severely degraded or corroded.

what would be the best option to try and dump that original emmc? any trusted local people who sell an adapter or something?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,618
Trophies
2
XP
1,840
Country
United States
so i guess even if i were able to edit that, it would probably still result in a ban because it is not a complete prodinfo. well it is booting and working great so far. i think ill just go ahead and reassemble it and call it good enough for now.
correct. It will still not be able to talk to Ninty and their encrypted channels.

you can boot? good deal! I would upgrade to latest firmware/atmos/hekate and enjoy some “backups“ like everyone else does. Very few of us actually go online anyway.
does anyone know of a good contact glue for holding the replacement emmc back in its original position on the metal shielding?
i do still have the other original emmc module. maybe somehow i can dum,p it with that. i have a feeling though that there is going to be a failed component on the little pcb or maybe the emmc solder connections are severely degraded or corroded.

what would be the best option to try and dump that original emmc? any trusted local people who sell an adapter or something?
There’s a chance, yes. Original emmc is actually a good chance. I just recently purchased one of these guys:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005003547958686.html

It requires you to have the chip mounted to a working board. If the original board is damaged you will need to desolder the chip, reball and solder it to a replacement board. The last option on that page has a blank board (welding plate) ready to solder.
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
dont you need online to be able to play multiplayer games? or can we still play multiplayer games? are there any good multiplayer games for switch? LOL

i will look into maybe reflowing it to get the prodinfo. is that all that is needed? do i need anything else that is detremental to this switches legitimacy? i just want to restore it with online capabilities without worrying about a brick. is prodinfo all that is needed?
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
it really makes you wonder why they would make a board that has the emmc socket on one side and sd card on the other side, then sell you an sd card to usb adapter lol. like why not just make it emmc port to usb xd
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,618
Trophies
2
XP
1,840
Country
United States
dont you need online to be able to play multiplayer games?
with Ninty? Afraid so.
or can we still play multiplayer games?
Yes, there are alternatives.
are there any good multiplayer games for switch? LOL
Splatoon2 is loads of fun. I play it with my son.

Here is a list of the ones people have worked around:

http://www.lan-play.com/games-switch

i will look into maybe reflowing it to get the prodinfo. is that all that is needed?
Could very well be all that’s needed.
do i need anything else that is detremental to this switches legitimacy? i just want to restore it with online capabilities without worrying about a brick. is prodinfo all that is needed?
I would say a working original emmc dump is all that’s needed. You don’t want to try to piece together shrapnel.
it really makes you wonder why they would make a board that has the emmc socket on one side and sd card on the other side, then sell you an sd card to usb adapter lol. like why not just make it emmc port to usb xd
had a similar thought. 3 boards and a chip…kinda Rube Goldberg, but that’s what was recommended to me so I’m going for it.
 

james28909

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
localhost
XP
51
Country
United States
i just tried to put the original emmc back in it and it wont even read it at all. everything i try to do is failed to init emmc. so it most def has some problems reading the flash package. guess i need to figure out what is causing it. but atleast, for now, and thanks to the wonderful developers, i have a working switch. i will look into repairing this emmc very soon though. thanks for all your help ;) if i was a millionaire id buy you a peanut butter sandwich
 
  • Like
Reactions: ds34 and binkinator
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: I like to hunt chickens with c4 precooked at the ready