PS1/2 Resident Evil's backups on modchipped PS2

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,491
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
clones aren't too bad, but I know that if you update them you'll probably brick the system. what's odd is that my clone on my new system doesn't display the psx logo at all when booting a psx game. I had an original matrix infinity on 1.91, since 1.93 is just an update for Taiwanese models iirc. it did display it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: slaphappygamer
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,471
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,232
Country
Austria
clones aren't too bad, but I know that if you update them you'll probably brick the system. what's odd is that my clone on my new system doesn't display the psx logo at all when booting a psx game. I had an original matrix infinity on 1.91, since 1.93 is just an update for Taiwanese models iirc. it did display it.

That is correct.:)

Maybe it is a "Clone" from a Modbo....

And I think it is maybe not a Chip/Boot Problem but a TV/Screen/Norm (Black Screen) Issue...because of a "bad" Chip/Firmware/Hacksetting.....:(
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,491
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
they stopped making the infinity in like 2007, so now, you're almost assured the only modchip you could get is a clone of some sort. they're almost as good, but there are some caveats to them like no updating and in my case, the nonexistence of the psx logo.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,471
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,232
Country
Austria
they stopped making the infinity in like 2007, so now, you're almost assured the only modchip you could get is a clone of some sort. they're almost as good, but there are some caveats to them like no updating and in my case, the nonexistence of the psx logo.

We do not really know how old his Chip really is...:(
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,491
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
try moving the laser slightly op. one thing I've found with clones is that they have difficulty with psx games unless you do that. it will make a clicking sound like it's trying to move but can't. you'll either get a black screen or be stuck on the browser when that happens. it has to do with wear on the laser or so I've heard. mine does the same.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Ogs

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
66
Country
United Kingdom
For a giggle, I decided to crack out my unchipped PS1, and tried using the RE2 backup using the disc swap method (never done it before) ..... worked flawlessly first time. I think I may just get a modchipped PS1 and call it a day, pretty cheap anyway!
 

Ogs

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
66
Country
United Kingdom
Well, finally got the chipped PS1, strangely the discs that worked perfectly on the PS2, dont work on this, and the supposed Taiyo Yuden (with JVC labelling) ones that didnt work, now work perfectly on the PS1. RE1,2,3 working all correctly, and other games that sometimes didnt line the screen up right on the PS2 all just work here too. Happy as can be :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

OldPirate23

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
2
Country
Brazil
Im trying and wasting so many cds to burn: Driver 1, Resident Evil 1,2,3, Biohazard 1, 2, 3 also...it is a PS2 FAT model 39000, and is freezing in Playstation Logo..I already burned almost all ps1 games and it is working fine. But for this ones i cannot make a backup :( . Please if someone can help me! Thanks in advance!!

Burn speed: 4x , OPC enabled , tried in Imgburn, Alcohol 120%, Nero 6, Power ISO.
 

cvskid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
2,728
Trophies
1
XP
2,560
Country
United States
Im trying and wasting so many cds to burn: Driver 1, Resident Evil 1,2,3, Biohazard 1, 2, 3 also...it is a PS2 FAT model 39000, and is freezing in Playstation Logo..I already burned almost all ps1 games and it is working fine. But for this ones i cannot make a backup :( . Please if someone can help me! Thanks in advance!!

Burn speed: 4x , OPC enabled , tried in Imgburn, Alcohol 120%, Nero 6, Power ISO.
Since you are on a fat ps2 you can use a internal harddrive with a program called open ps2 loader. No need to burn disc anymore.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: One of his songs was ♫ Dead Girls ♫