Resident Evil 4 Fullscreen?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Samutz, Jun 30, 2007.

Jun 30, 2007

Resident Evil 4 Fullscreen? by Samutz at 2:33 AM (3,677 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Samutz
    OP

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Is it not possible to play RE4 in fullscreen instead of widesceen? I can't find anything regarding it in the options.
    My tv is an old 20" tube tv and the game looks kinda small on it. Plus the text is hard to read. And if I sit closer to the tv, it's impossible to aim.
     
  2. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can change from widescreen to full screen in the wii settings.
     
  3. Samutz
    OP

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    I know that. I've always had everything set to standard (4:3 and 480i). And all of my other games have always played in fullscreen. But RE4 is playing in widescreen with the black bars on top and bottom, taking up about a 1/3 of the screen total.
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing with my friends' ps2 version...

    Set it to 480p and get glasses if you cant see.
     
  5. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Resident Evil 4 is a widescreen only game. Just like the Gamecube and PS2 versions.
     
  6. clivefrog

    Newcomer clivefrog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    it's full screen for me, settings I'm using are 60hz & widescreen on a standard tv and it's not cropped at all.
     
  7. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    And yes, do what clive said, set it to widescreen. I've been doing that for a while but forgot to say that.
     
  8. Samutz
    OP

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    The TV isn't that new. It's 8 or 9 years old. It doesn't even have RCA inputs. RF only.

    However, I bought a new 27" flat screen TV yesterday. I was looking at buying one around March because I was getting sick of how small it was. But trying to play RE4 on a 19" finally drove me to get it over with. The game looks way better on it than the old tv. Not just bigger, but a lot crisper too.
    (I know I said 21" before but I re-measured it later)
     
  9. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh, I meant in the Wii options, set it to widescreen.
     
  10. Samutz
    OP

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    I had tried that already. It just squishes my screen if I recall. Looked too goofy.
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but RE4 looks normal.
     
  12. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    only use the settings b4 u play the game [​IMG]
     
  13. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Let me re-iterate. Resident Evil 4 is widescreen only. The only way to make it fullscreen is to change your tv settings so that the widescreen image is stretched to fit the whole screen. Thus, things will seem a little weird because the image is stretched.
     

Share This Page