mcj

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
I posted this in the newest firmware update thread, but with all the bickering it's not going to get answered.

So ... if I format the Wii system memory does that bring me back to the original firmware? And if so does anyone know if I update my system that will bring me to the newest firmware or will I have to go through them one at a time.

This is mainly so I can use my Action Replay disc in the event that further Wii updates still render it useless.

I do not have a mod chip so using the Action Replay w/GameCube OS Disc is out of the question for me.

Thanks

Shelleeson

Trophies
XP
Country
laugh.gif

ok the first part of your question i cannot answer because i have no knowledge of what it will do.
secondly i can only give you my opinion of this that should you be trying to update on a fresh system that has never recieved an update that it will take you straight through all the updates there has been so far and not take you through them one by one from the first to the last. it's a nice thought but i'm sure doing it this way would take too long.
i'm downloading the manual to find out if there's anything in there.
smile.gif

i can't find anything that specifically states what you are asking so you would need to find out from someone with a brand new wii.
smile.gif

tooknie

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
When I have missed an update in the past it has updated straight to the newest firmware and not given me the option to go in stages (PAL Wii)

Don't know about the reset????

opnr2000

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
i have the 2.2U update and remember formatting my console a while after the update. The console remained at version 2.2 but it cleared all other data. So i would assume once you have upgraded your firmware you are stuck with it. It will not reset to factory firmware.

jalaneme

Female Gamer
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country