Replacing Save File Issue

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by AuroraDark, Dec 5, 2007.

Dec 5, 2007
  1. AuroraDark
    OP

    Newcomer AuroraDark Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I recently downloaded a game along with a save file. I wrote the game onto my G6, and then pasted the save file into the /NDS directory replacing the default save.

    The problem is that my G6 isn't actually loading from this save file and only shows me a "New Game" screen.

    The save file I added is 100% genuine as I have tested it on a DS emulator. I've also made sure it's a .0 file, 256kb etc. so it can't be an issue with the save file itself.

    I tried deleting then rewriting the ROM, then copy the save file back over but my G6 still refuses to read it.

    I did a long search and found talk about SRAM needing to be flushed among other things but I'm not sure how relevant that is to my problem. I've been trying loads of different things for the past few hours and nothing seems to work.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Was the original save format .0?
     
  3. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    It is G6Lite right?
    (isn't the size supposed to be 512KB?)
    Did u convert the save to .0 or just renamed it?
    Is it the save the same region as the game? (suppose so, cause you tried it in the emulator.. )
     
  4. AuroraDark
    OP

    Newcomer AuroraDark Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using a G6 Lite yes.

    The original save file was a .sav one. I used Outphase's converter to convert it into a .0 file. It always comes out at 256kb which is the size of all my other DS save files. To make sure it was converting properly I then renamed the .0 file back to .sav and my emulator could read it perfectly.

    As for the region, only one is available at this time, so yes fully compatible + tested via emulator as you said.
     
  5. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh.. ok, well try another converter?
    like this one: http://www.shunyweb.info/
    works great for me.

    And are you sure that it isnt a 4mb(512KB) savefile? does the G6Lite support that?
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Start up the G6 Lite in the DS and let it do its "processing data" thing, then turn it off without starting a game. After that, copy the save file to the G6 and see if it works.
     
  7. AuroraDark
    OP

    Newcomer AuroraDark Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well neither of those worked. [​IMG]

    However, that Shunyweb converter has many options for the type of .sav file the source is. I wasn't sure so I just selected RAW .sav. Could that make a difference? I doubt it but worth asking I suppose.

    Otherwise I'm really stuck for ideas. It seems that nothings works.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    What game is it? Can you save successfully in the game?

    What is the exact size (in bytes) of the save file you downloaded?
     
  9. AuroraDark
    OP

    Newcomer AuroraDark Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1751 - Yu-Gi-Oh World Championship 2008 J

    I can save just fine ingame, and even after switching off and on the save remains.

    The .sav file is 9,888 bytes.
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's an odd size for a .sav file. They are generally 256KB, 512KB, or a power of 2 (512 bytes, 8192 bytes, etc.). I'm guessing it's from an action replay, or some similar device.

    Since the save works in an emulator, perhaps you could import the save in the emu, save in-game, then export a raw save. I'm not very familiar with DS emulators, but no$gba is supposed to have a raw save option. Other emulators probably do as well.
     
  11. AuroraDark
    OP

    Newcomer AuroraDark Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You genius!

    If I could hug you I would.

    Many many thanks to you sir [​IMG]
     

Share This Page