Replacing 3-in-1 Battery

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by DrCereal, Jun 24, 2007.

Jun 24, 2007

Replacing 3-in-1 Battery by DrCereal at 12:57 AM (1,200 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. DrCereal
    OP

    Newcomer DrCereal Newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    After some serious tinkering and toying around I'm almost certain that the battery on my 3-in-1 arrived dead. Seeing how I ordered from dealextreme in Hong Kong, I have little hope to get a replacement/refund.

    How easy/hard is it to replace the battery on a 3-in-1? Has anyone done it? Is it even possible?

    Thanks,

    C
     
  2. gigermunit

    Member gigermunit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    Just recharge it man, by playing a gba game that uses the battery like pokemon ruby and leave the game running for a bit.
     
  3. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DealExtreme are actually really good with refunds and returns. You shp it to them (either Florida or Hong Kong address) and they'll even refund your postage!

    - Sam
     
  4. haruk

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering..how would you know when the battery is dead?
     
  5. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Doesn't copy saves/make saves when you've tried all conventional techniques
     
  6. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    When I play Pokemon Sapphire on the 3-in-1, it says something like, "battery has gone dry, clock-based events won't happen." So I tried what you said by leaving the game running... I left pokemon running the whole night but it still says that battery message when I start it up! [​IMG]
     
  7. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Sapphire, Ruby and Emerald will always give you that error when played on the 3 in 1 because the battery is only for saves, etc. There is no RTC (Real Time Clock) which allows for time based events in the Pokemon series to occur.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You can patch Sapphire and Ruby with GBATA to fix the clock thing.
     
  9. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Destructobot [​IMG]

    Sadly, I play Emerald version. My brother plays Sapphire, and my sister plays Ruby. So.. they get to have the clock fix and I don't. xD
     
  10. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    u can also use GBATA to patch pokemon emerald
     
  11. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    They're good the first time [​IMG] I got a broken R4, then i returned it, waited a month, got a second R4 with the same problem. emailed them and they're ignoring me. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page