Hacking Question Repair lost capacitor on mainboard?

ErAzOr

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
355
Country
Germany
Hi,

while soldering the trinket board I slipped off with my soldering iron and lost one capacitor (see attachment).
Does anyone know which capacitor I should buy to fix this issue?
 

Attachments

  • trinket_installation.png
    trinket_installation.png
    416.1 KB · Views: 1,475

salami68

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
195
Country
United States
It may work completley fine without it if its a filter cap, or you can try bridging the pads. Without a schematic or the cap that you lost theres no way to tell other than asking someone else to test the cap on their board
 
  • Like
Reactions: comput3rus3r

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,575
Trophies
1
Age
121
XP
4,773
Country
United States
It may work completley fine without it if its a filter cap, or you can try bridging the pads. Without a schematic or the cap that you lost theres no way to tell other than asking someone else to test the cap on their board
i say nay to use it without it and yay to asking somebody else to test theirs
 

GhostlyCrowd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
174
Country
Canada
From what i can find, thats a filter cap for VSVR, power supply from 3.3v to 5v it could run with out it. or VCC in filter cap. there is no data sheet on this chip as its an internal nintendo chip but one similar. stability well we dont know either way. The closest claimed chip is the "Rohm M92T36"
 
  • Like
Reactions: zos117 and cearp

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
A note to anybody else attempting this mod, follow the trace from that capacitor and scrape the trace lightly and solder there instead. (Pretty much where the arrow is pointing)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaUzEr

GhostlyCrowd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
174
Country
Canada
A note to anybody else attempting this mod, follow the trace from that capacitor and scrape the trace lightly and solder there instead.
Just as dangerous to an unskilled hand as soldering to the cap its self. To a skilled hand soldering to the cap is much easier then scraping the trace. Also since your waiting for cpu reset, the closets joint to the reset pin is going to be the most accurate.
 

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
Just as dangerous to an unskilled hand as soldering to the cap its self. To a skilled hand soldering to the cap is much easier then scraping the trace. Also since your waiting for cpu reset, the closets joint to the reset pin is going to be the most accurate.
Well I've chucked ample warning in every thread about the install :( I'm telling ya tiny solder guy is gonna make a killing. And with the SwitchME mod entering production soon I'm afraid we may see a lot more threads popping up!
 

GhostlyCrowd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
174
Country
Canada
Well I've chucked ample warning in every thread about the install :( I'm telling ya tiny solder guy is gonna make a killing. And with the SwitchME mod entering production soon I'm afraid we may see a lot more threads popping up!

Fair warning is good, and its intelligent this mod is not easy for the unskilled with out the right tools. I have to say, if you knocked that cap off, your iron was too hot. But thats just my opinion and it comes from years of experience in soldering and of course i'd like to say at this point after 14 years of doing this stuff as a day job I'm at least skilled. Don't have to call my self a "pro" but i can do the job, properly and well.
 

LineoftheDead

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
196
Country
United States
Hi,

while soldering the trinket board I slipped off with my soldering iron and lost one capacitor (see attachment).
Does anyone know which capacitor I should buy to fix this issue?
If the stars align I will help you out - I need free time and an acquaintances fluke. but if its a filter cap, I probably cant help you - I cant understand the difference between a filter cap and a ferrite bead. filters act like fuses in my brain, like how you can revive an ipad pro by running wire in place of filters (I do have the appropriate ferrite beads now, but I still don't fully understand 'noise'")
 
  • Like
Reactions: Soluble

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
If the stars align I will help you out - I need free time and an acquaintances fluke. but if its a filter cap, I probably cant help you - I cant understand the difference between a filter cap and a ferrite bead. filters act like fuses in my brain, like how you can revive an ipad pro by running wire in place of filters (I do have the appropriate ferrite beads now, but I still don't fully understand 'noise'")
I will remember your nick soon and stop calling you tiny solder guy by the way :-/
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/g3U7tCipvdQ