Renaming Gamboy Adv. Roms to English?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Falkentyne, Jul 24, 2006.

Jul 24, 2006
  1. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    How do you do this on a chinese G6 Lite?

    The U-manager software allows you to rename the chinese name for the Roms into english in "NDS" mode setting for renaming NDS Roms, so that's no problem, but there is no rename option in GBA mode area in the U-Manager, so the Rom names are displayed in Chinese when you load it on the DS Lite, although the names are only shown in English on the U-manager. This is a problem for Roms that don't have a proper graphic "image" and instead uses the generic G6 Loader image instead (imagine 10 games with the generic loader and all chinese names!). Is there a way to somehow rename the chinese name for Gameboy advance Roms?
     
  2. TEKNOSYSTEKWRX

    Member TEKNOSYSTEKWRX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Country:
    United States
    This is not good. I got tired of waiting and had Hopebuy send me a Chineses version. I figured as long as the game names were in english, that's all that really mattered. I still play a bunch of GBA games, this this sucks. Do the GBA names show up in english with the NDS loader? Can I launch them from there? Or are GBA names always in Chinese? [​IMG]
     
  3. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    they are either chinese or use their internal gba names. This isn't too big a deal because the g6 loader appends the title screen to the gba list
     
  4. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is, *some* games don't have title screens. I don't know why...maybe a CRC in the Rom is wrong, maybe I have to use a different regional version of the Rom or something....

    So all you get is a generic title screen.

    The good thing is that if the ROM has a "number" in front (like 071), that number usually stays there, so you can always write down what number is for what ROM. What is *needed* is for the U-disk manager to support RENAME for Gameboy Advance mode, not just for NDS Mode.

    Oh, and yes, the games DO show up in English in the NDS loader, in the "file browser" area (where you are looking at it like though windows explorer type menu), but I tried launching a game that way and I got a white screen-.- I think it's because it was still in NDS mode, and you can't start a GBA game up in NDS mode without entering GBA mode first [​IMG] [​IMG] You CAN start a NDS game through the file browser of course....
     
  5. crackbone

    Newcomer crackbone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Yes, it's easy, but not by using the g6.
    All you have to do is transfer the rom over to the card using the software. Once it's done, you can rename the rom (and it's associated files) to whatever name you want, as long as you dont' change the extension. Once it's renamed, you can copy the rom and the other related files to you computer. If you want to reload the game, don't use the G6 software, just copy the rom and related files directly onto the card.
    I've done that for all my roms and it works like charm.
     
  6. Kamakazie

    Member Kamakazie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island
    Country:
    United States
    That does not help in changing the display name in the loader from Chinese to English. This is the one thing that makes me regret getting the Chinese one rather than English >_
     
  7. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States

    That only works for NDS games. Not GBA games.
    If you found some trick to renaming the **display name** (not the file name) for GBA games, let me know. Or are you saying that if you change the name of a GBA game in windows explorer, after it's been copied, then the G6 adapter will show the true filename and NOT the chinese name?

    The U-disk manager allows you to rename games, but ONLY NDS games. (the display name, not the filename). U-manager won't let you rename GBA Games. And that's the problem--a lot of GBA games have a display name in chinese.
     
  8. XxMxVxPxX

    Member XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    (some of) you guys are retarted noobs who make everything more complicated then it is. its not hard if you can read...
     
  9. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    The *ONLY* retarded noob here is *YOU*. Because clearly, **YOU** can't read. You're lucky a mod doesn't come here and ban you for your kiddie antics...

    Why don't you try HELPING others out and EXPLAIN the so-called "obvious" then, if you have a solution?

    Oh, and before you continue to go off on your high horse, I *RENAMED* The roms in windows explorer when it was on the G6, and the roms **STILL** have the chinese name in gameboy mode. Not only do they still have the chinese name, they still have the "number" prefix, even though I *removed* the number after renaming. I even renamed the ROM, then removed it from the G6 cart, booted up the G6 without the ROM, then copied the ROM back, booted up the G6 again, and the INTERNAL ROM NAME, WHICH YOU CAN NOT CHANGE, IS STILL IN CHINESE (this has something to do with how the G6 identifies the ROM). Don't tell me you don't understand what I just typed...

    (some advice for you: if your parents didn't teach you social skills, I suggest you go learn them in a suitable high school or college class (or from a more responsible relative); there are a few out there....).

    Oh and let me type it again, in plain print:

    RENAMING THE INTERNAL NAME WITH THE U-DISK MANAGER ONLY WORKS FOR NDS GAMES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
     
  10. crackbone

    Newcomer crackbone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    I don't know what you guys are talking about - it works fine, I've done it multiple times so I can read the GBA names.

    Here's step by step:

    1. Copy the rom over to the G6 by using the U-Disk Mangager.
    2. After the rom is transferred, open up the G6 directory in WINDOWS EXPLORER. Navigate to the GBA drive.
    3. You should have several files that have the same file name, but different file extensions. I can't remember all of them, but they are icon files, save states, etc.
    4. Rename each file in that group with whatever name you want to use. You must make sure you rename all of the related files, but leave the extensions alone, otherwise you may run into problems saving properly.
    5. Remove the G6, insert into console, turn on.
     
  11. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I tried this already.
    (I did it with Namco Museum).
    But when I put the renamed files (i made sure to rename all the proper files) back on the G6 and booted up, the name was still in chinese (with the "Rom number" e.g 0833 in front). Your method *should* work, but it didn't [​IMG]

    I'll try again later, with changing the name to something completely unrelated to the actual rom file. I was pretty shocked that the G6 still knew what the file was @_@

    Do you think it is not working because I am using compression ? If this is the cause, I'm going to eat a frog...but that's the only possible thing I can think of at the moment... let me try something, I'll post back....

    *Edit*
    I copied over the uncompressed rom file with the U-disk manager, renamed the files, removed the G6 (I changed the name to namco 1), and the name was still in chinese when I put it in the NDSL [​IMG] So I don't know what's going on....I've followed everyone's instructions to a T...
     

Share This Page

Loading...