Removed HDD from my Iriver H10...

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Harsky, Jan 3, 2007.

Jan 3, 2007
  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last month, I broke my Iriver H10 all because of a silly mistake. You see, I bought the thing over a year ago in Hong Kong and it gets charged using a charger that outputs 5 volts. It was a so so player but got outdated real quick. Anyways, sometime last month, I bought an external HDD that required a charger and it outputted 12 volts.... the charger's plugs were exactly the same size... yeah, you can see where I'm going with this.

    *Plugged in 12 volt charger into MP3 player*

    R.I.P

    It's not too bad, I got a creative vision M the following month but what was I meant to do with the broken H10. I can't get a warrenty fix on it so the only thing I could do was sell it as a broken MP3 player on ebay. Then I realised I used it as a portable storage device and it contained quite a few sensitive data (porn). So I decided to remove the actual HDD. Now, the question is, is there a way to explore what I put into the HDD before I broke it? The connection looks like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like a micro drive from what I can see from the pic. That grey plate that the ribbon is poking out of, can you remove that? It might be covering up the compact flash interface socket. If so, you should be able to just whack it in any compact flash card reader.
     
  3. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope. Tried to pry it out with a real small screw driver... but it only just result in a tiny bit of the grey thing falling out. Didn't help that several hours earlier I dropped it on the hardwood floor. I'm just happy that it's out of the goddamn player since there could be a chance that the person that buys it from ebay manages to fix it and discover all the data.
     
  4. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, looks like I decided to say, "screw it" and decided to just take as much of it apart. Not too worried about the data in it anymore. That said, since this can't connect to an ordinary CF reader anyways because of the lack of pins as shown here:

    [​IMG]

    Now I'm going brute force on it.
     
  5. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Post pictures! [​IMG]

    www.smashmyHDD.gbatemp.net [​IMG]
     
  6. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, turns out it required special screwdrivers that I don't have. So I used a screwdriver to lift it up. I opened it up and there was that really shiny circle. I tried lifting it out and *ping* it shattered into HUNDREDS of pieces.

    [​IMG]

    Oh well.
     
  7. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait a second... you tried to pry out the spinning disc plate with a screwdriver? [​IMG] What part of you thought that this would end well?
     
  8. Tripp

    Member Tripp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    South East Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Well at least you don't have to worry about anyone getting a peek at your "sensitive data (porn)" anymore.

    Got any train tracks close to your house for more pics? [​IMG]

    I luv taking things apart like that, thanks for the pictures.
     
  9. Bowser128

    Member Bowser128 King Koopa

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] Couldn't you have just snapped the top bit off? It looks to me like that's just covering the pins...
     
  10. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I snapped the top grey bit off. Turns out there are no pins. The ribbons are soldered onto the board. Anyways, I can either throw everything into the bin or make a attempt at selling it on ebay.
     

Share This Page