Remove intro from GBA Video "games"

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by rctgamer3, May 6, 2008.

May 6, 2008
  1. rctgamer3
    OP

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    I was wondering if there is a way to actually remove the "Not Compatible with Gameboy Player" from the GBA Video roms (see below).
    [​IMG]
    I've tried the "Remove Intro" option of GBATA, but that results in a not-working rom.
    Does somebody know how to remove it?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "release group" intros are different to built in intros (the GBATA option detects a non standard jump at the start of the code and attempts to revert it to "normal").
    I seem to recall there was a thread on removing the health screen from GBA roms (short answer it is possible but not easy/universal), I can not recall where it was although cracker, myself and I think it was DanTheManMS posted in it but between us we have most threads in this section covered.

    If you wanted to run it on a GB player then:
    http://caitsith2.com/gba_video_arv3.htm
     
  3. rctgamer3
    OP

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks.

    But i don't have a Action Replay (GBA), so i don't know how to use them.
    Is there maybe a way to patch the codes into the rom (so they will be on forever)?
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, I know it's possible to do that with SNES, NES, and Game Boy games, but I don't know about GBA games.

    Is this merely for cosmetic use or do you wish to use the game on a Game Boy Player?

    EDIT: Looking at http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=73394 it appears it may be possible.
     
  5. rctgamer3
    OP

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, i really want to use it on a Game Boy Player :-D
    But HOW?
     
  6. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Some flash carts I think lack Game Boy Player detection, and would probably ignore that logo. I know the GC controller doesn't rumble for me on my Supercard CF.
     
  7. rctgamer3
    OP

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm using a 3 in 1 expansion pack, but it doesn't ignore the "not compatible" screen...
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. rctgamer3
    OP

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've tried to patch a GBA Video Rom (Pokemon Video 1):
    [​IMG]
    I've patched it, but when i load the rom (on VBA), it shows a white screen. When i play it on my 3 in 1, the game won't even boot up (it only says "GAMEBOY", but not Nintendo")
    What did i do wrong?
     

Share This Page