Remote PS3 Access

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Supah Eirian, Jun 18, 2008.

Jun 18, 2008

Remote PS3 Access by Supah Eirian at 11:50 PM (709 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. Supah Eirian
    OP

    Newcomer Supah Eirian Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    For some reason, after I remotely power off my PS3 with the PSP, the power comes back on the PS3. I really like remote access, but don't want to leave the PS3 on all the time,

    Anyone know how to fix this? I read it could be a problem with my router.... anyone?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    By power coming back on, do you mean it's fully turned on?
    I think when you use remote access, PS3 *at least* stays in standby mode so it can pick up your PSP connection.

    I haven't used remote access in a while since there are almost no games that support it, but when I used it I turned off PSP-PS3 connection to quit instead of shutting down the PS3.

    Once I ran Folding @ Home for over 60 hours in a row without additional cooling devices attached, the console was perfectly fine. Just in case you're worried about your PS3 running while you're not at it.
     
  3. Myke

    Member Myke so tasty!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,523
    Location:
    GBAtemp Art Studio
    Country:
    United States
    that's a standard problem with routers. You have to give your ps3 a static IP, otherwise your router will ping it every once in a while to refresh it's local IP address and that's what's making your ps3 turn back on.
     

Share This Page