[Released] discBOOT – Play PS3 Games From DVD/Blu Ray

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by webyugioh, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. webyugioh
    OP

    Member webyugioh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    10KM East of Nowhere
    Country:
    Japan
    source

    multiMAN creator deank has released an application, that will enable you to play your PS3 Backups via DVD or Blu Ray, this is done by installing a PKG onto your PS3, inserting the backup and selecting the game icon, here is a quote from the thread:

    Not sure how much I'll use this, as BD-disks and burner are expensive, but interesting.
     
  2. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Deank mentioned that he burnt this game with DVD-RW and it works fine. :)
     
  3. webyugioh
    OP

    Member webyugioh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    10KM East of Nowhere
    Country:
    Japan
    Yes, but only for games that are under 4GB (or 8GB if you use a dual-layer).
    Most would require a BD-disk.
     
  4. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yeah, I forgot to add that and you are correct. :)
     
  5. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    OMH YES. Now gimme PS2 backup support for BC-capable PS3s and I'll be hacking my PS3 asap :creep:
     
  6. PyroSpark

    Member PyroSpark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    United States
    So does this basically mean, that I can mooch off of all my friend's games? >_> PSN still works fine with all of this?
     
  7. junkerde

    Banned junkerde Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    483
    Country:
    United States
    psn works? will sony find out if im using a backup copy? will i get banned? cmon
     
  8. rafferty_shaun

    Newcomer rafferty_shaun Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This doesn't affect PSN access in any way seeing as nobody on custom firmware can even gain access to the service, this just means you can use disc-based backups instead of a HDD :)
     
  9. Ace Overclocked

    Member Ace Overclocked My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Italy
    i wish we could with at least an external hdd ( i gave my dslite to a friend and he gave me a ps3 and i still have a dsi and 3ds but i have no money nor games and i need the vita...)
     
  10. PyroSpark

    Member PyroSpark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    United States
    Derp question. Can someone give me an example of an FTP? >.>
     
  11. Necron

    Member Necron Lurking~

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Location:
    Mi casa
    Country:
    Chile
    Probably ripping games is going to become more usual now.
     
  12. Sinistral89

    Member Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    For computers you can use Filezilla. Works great for me.
    On the ps3 you can use OpenPS3FTP or the one that is built into multiman.
     
  13. PyroSpark

    Member PyroSpark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! :D
     
  14. PyroSpark

    Member PyroSpark GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    United States
    How exactly do you instal the pkg firmware? Just insert whatever usb drive has it, inside my ps3?
     

Share This Page