Hacking [RELEASE] vitaWolfen - Wolfenstein 3D port for PSVITA

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,161
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,675
Country
Italy
0ea58ced2e18d1e6744fc1d5156575e7.jpeg

Introduction
vitaWolfen is a port for PSVITA of the classic old school FPS Wolfenstein 3D (formerly WOLF3D).
It's based on Wolf4SDL and supports both Wolf3D and Spear of Destiny (missionpacks included)

Features
- Native 960x544 resolution
- Support to both analogs for player/camera movement
- Floor and ceil rendering
- Support for both base game and Spear of Destiny expansion (missionpacks included)
- Savestates support
- Sound and music support

Controls
- Left Analog: Move Player
- Right Analog: Rotate Camera
- R / X = Fire
- Square = Open doors
- Triangle = Sprint
- Start = Pause Game
- Select / L = Change Weapon

Extension naming for files
Data files must be placed in ux0:data/Wolfenstein 3D.
Extensions must be as follow:
Shareware:
Wolf3D Sharware: .wl1 (included)
Wolf3D Full: .wl6
Spear of Destiny Demo: .sdm (included)
Spear of Destiny: .sod
SoD: Return to Danger: .sd2
SoD: Ultimate Challenge: .sd3

Links
Download: http://rinnegatamante.it
Repository: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaWolfen

Let me know your feedback and your suggestions to improve this :D
 
Last edited by Rinnegatamante,

jastolze

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
385
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
675
Country
United States
Love your work! Have you considered porting Quake 3? I'd donate some cash for the port! And I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one!
 

erfg12

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
35
Website
newagesoldier.com
XP
270
Country
United States
No audio for Wolfenstein?

Having a blast using the Quake I port! Looks like it just needs minor fixes like audio skips and some texture glitches. Otherwise a very nice port :)
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,161
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,675
Country
Italy
Love your work! Have you considered porting Quake 3? I'd donate some cash for the port! And I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one!

Quake 3 is a pain in the ass to port, first of all cause it will require hardware GPU rendering (and PSVITA GPU API is not that simple to use) and secondarly cause it will need massive modifications since Quake 3 is built to have multiple executables and libraries (and this is not possible on PSVITA).

No audio for Wolfenstein?

Having a blast using the Quake I port! Looks like it just needs minor fixes like audio skips and some texture glitches. Otherwise a very nice port :)

Sound will be added as soon as an SDL port for PSVITA will pop out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jastolze

apoptygma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
703
Trophies
0
XP
608
Country
Quake 3 is a pain in the ass to port, first of all cause it will require hardware GPU rendering (and PSVITA GPU API is not that simple to use) and secondarly cause it will need massive modifications since Quake 3 is built to have multiple executables and libraries (and this is not possible on PSVITA).



Sound will be added as soon as an SDL port for PSVITA will pop out.

Damn! As soon as I started seeing these ports I got so excited to see Q3. Shame it won't happen :(
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,161
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,675
Country
Italy
Damn! As soon as I started seeing these ports I got so excited to see Q3. Shame it won't happen :(

It can happen but it will require tons of work. @elhobbs was working on a Q3 porting for 3DS. If he will ever finish his port, porting such port to PSVITA should be a lot easier.
 

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,064
Trophies
1
XP
4,647
Country
Japan
I'm actually having issues getting the full version to work. I've dropped the ,wl6 files into /data/Wolfenstein 3D as instructed, but just get a C2-12828-1 error and a .psp2dmp file generated. Am I using an incorrect revision of the full version files?

No issues whatsoever with the shareware version, or with Spear of Destiny.
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,161
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,675
Country
Italy
I'm actually having issues getting the full version to work. I've dropped the ,wl6 files into /data/Wolfenstein 3D as instructed, but just get a C2-12828-1 error and a .psp2dmp file generated. Am I using an incorrect revision of the full version files?

No issues whatsoever with the shareware version, or with Spear of Destiny.

If you have skype and can add me (rinnegatamante1), i can send you a debug version to check what happened.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: there was this joke i that that was that post i was about meggys friend told her she was flat