1. TVL

    TVL #|
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh, it does save discs inserted with the savestate (in DF1:), that's the main reason I wanted a snapshot for, probably should have checked that before asking for improvements that are already there.

    The savestate in Cannon Fodder was broken the first time I tried to load it (with discs already inserted since I was playing the game). The game was acting up a little after I had fiddled with the scaling and positioning a bit, very minor but probably not the best time to make a savestate... anyway tried to make new saves now and they all work without fault.
     
  2. sCRAM^LGC

    sCRAM^LGC Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Gr8 work,Badda!
    Please check Shadow of the beast 3 (ECS)
    Could you fix it?
    Respects!

    Отправлено с моего A0001 через Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by sCRAM^LGC, May 26, 2020
  3. Disco

    Disco GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Croatia
    Great work, thanks!
     
  4. Jack8to16bit

    Jack8to16bit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    Grateful for your effort. If there's a way to donate to you, I would!

    I'd call it a beta instead of alpha tbh for what you've reached so far.

    Here are some wishes for further updates to make your project a milestone for the 3DS/Amiga scene.

    1. Keymapping - make sure that both, Shift and "A"miga keys, left and right, work like left and right. atm, both act like left ones. A no go for Pinballs f.e.. See, you're unable to remap the keys propper in lack of propper addressing.

    2. Some games have issues with interlaced stillpictures - no big deal ofc, just something to look at.

    3. Overall speed. A bunch of games run (felt) 10~15 % slower. Surely, some tweaking and its fine.

    4. How's about a fav-list - show the last 10 or so played titles in a seperate list.

    5. When re-inserting the listing - set a marker for folders where the last choice was.

    6 and final for now..... core competency!!! Support whd-load - that'll fix a lot of stuff!

    OT: I read gbatemp for 6 years now - always found what I wished at least beeing alble to be as patient as needed. But your work got me to sign up and post.

    You're developing something big - keep up the great work!
     
    Badda and Joelb like this.
  5. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Thanks for the feedback, I'll put the feature requests on the wishlist. I tried to enable the HD-support already but failed miserably - Chui optimized the uae4all version heavily compared to UAE 0.8.22 (which it is based on), thereby removing lots of functionality. Maybe I can contact him to check how to re-include at least HD-support.
    Regarding the slower speed of some games: Have you tried to play around with the throttle settings? On this page http://chui.dcemu.co.uk/uae4all.html , you can find the optimal throttle settings for a lot of games.
     
    Jack8to16bit likes this.
  6. Jack8to16bit

    Jack8to16bit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    @Badda ,
    thank you for your reply. I played arround and tweaked a bit. Mixed succsess. No complaining here ofc, just a quick feedback.

    Some here mentioned Agony not running, I can't confirm that. Agony (and other titles like Mega-Lo-Mania f.e.) seems to have some issues to load in normal speed. Both take minutes here to load but run fine after enough patience. In addition, it seems it's a game of luck which rom you use. Non cracked run more stable than cracked ones. A matter of different loaders?

    Here's my list of games tested so far:

    Agony*
    Alien Breed
    Batman the movie
    Battle Isle
    Benefactor
    Bubble Bobble
    Burntime
    Cannon Fodder
    Defender of the Crown
    Deflector
    Dogs of War
    DreamWeb
    Dessert Strike
    Dynablaster
    Elite
    Elvira 2 The Jaws of Cerberus§
    Escape from the planet of the robot monsters
    Eye of the Beholder
    Fiendish Freddys Big top o fun
    Fire Power
    Gobliins 2
    Gods
    Hill Street Blues
    Hostages+
    Hunter
    Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis§
    Infestation
    Into the Eagles Nest
    James Pond I & II
    Laser Squad
    Lemmings
    Lionheart*
    Lotus Espirit Turbo Challenge I & II
    Mega lo Mania*
    Moonstone A Hard Days Knight
    Nebulus*
    Pang
    Persian Gulf Inferno
    Pinball Dreams#
    Pinball Fantasies#
    Pirates*
    Prince of Persia
    Populous
    Rainbow Island
    Road Rash
    Ruff N Tumble
    Shadow of the Beast
    Space Crusade
    Speedball II
    Stunt Car Racer
    Super Cars
    Super Cars II
    Superfrog
    Supremacy
    Swiv
    The Adventures of Robin Hood
    The Chaos Engine
    The Colonels Bequest
    The New Zealand Story
    The Untouchables
    Turrican 2
    Waxworks
    Wings of Fury
    Wizkid
    Xenon 2 Megablast
    Zool

    * = needs minutes to load but run
    + = dying even out of the spotlight at the 1st level, but runs fine
    # = starts and run (a bit to slow) but unable to remap the propper keys (A left/right | Shift left/right | Ctrl left/right) Space for tilt works, though
    § = a pain with the x-discs to juggle, but runs pretty nice.

    As mentioned, it's a game of luck. Some release work, some not. Will test more ofc.

    Hope this helps and thank you again for your effort - much apprechiated, really!
     
    Zense, Joelb and Badda like this.
  7. CrashMidnick

    CrashMidnick GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    France

    Can you please share the names of adf’s you used for Agony and Super Cars 1 & 2 ? I tried all tosec versions, none have worked or being in game.
     
  8. Joelb

    Joelb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 10, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    France
    @Badda "Another World" works but it is in the wire.
    Strange.
     
    Last edited by Joelb, Jun 5, 2020
  9. Jack8to16bit

    Jack8to16bit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    Sorry for the delay, busy at work and testing more roms (list will follow)

    Agony rom: Agony (1992) (Psygnosis)[cr CSL] 2-disc release, no trainer. Keep in mind it takes minutes to load, but runs almost flawless.

    Super Cars 1: own dubbed version from my original discs back in the days

    Super Cars 2: own dubbed version from my original discs back in the days - [cr SKR} version should work, too

    Hope that helps.
     
    Zense likes this.
  10. XCOM

    XCOM Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Italy
    mmm test:

    Risky Woods: emulation slightly faster than normal (auto) and slow in 0 framskip and too fast in 1 frameskip

    Turrican 2: good emulation in the auto frameskip+ throttle, problem: the "space" button (keyboard) does not work so it is not possible to play well (Turrican 2 requires space bar).

    Lupo Alberto: the character selection menu loads well but does not load the game well but only the music on the black screen (same problem present in other emulators solved in some with update).

    Thanks for this emulator ^^
     
    Zense and Badda like this.
  11. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Thanks for the tests. The issue with Turrican 2 can be solved by creating a key mapping (e.g. map y-button to space bar)
     
  12. XCOM

    XCOM Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Italy
    I had tried mapping right on Y but it doesn't work!, the space button works well for example on Risky Woods when I choose the options so it's not a general problem, it's about Turrican 2 maybe I could try to use another version, keep in mind that the version that I use and the original one granted by Factor 5 on their site in ADF format.
     
  13. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Tokelau
    If it does not work, it is a bug. What exactly is not working? How are you creating the mappings?
     
  14. XCOM

    XCOM Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Italy
    ...
     
    Last edited by XCOM, Jun 18, 2020
  15. XCOM

    XCOM Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Italy
    I solved (my) problem!

    the problem does not concern emulation but my setting, editing the mapping if I was wrong the space bar no longer worked! I solved it by editing the key mapping well and now it works perfectly.
    I apologize for wasting time.
     
    Last edited by XCOM, Jun 18, 2020
    Badda likes this.
  16. desree

    desree Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Belize
    Hi! Really love the emulator but am wondering. Is it at all possible to have the option of mapping the mouse to the analogue stick? Have been trying to play Trex Warrior and No Second Prize, but both use mouse control which is kinda sucky to do with the touch screen. Also, Hired Guns and Walker don't load. Got the Walker demo to load, but the full game is a no go. Both games seem to stop at the decompression screens.
     
  17. RuySan

    RuySan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Thanks for your work. Tried it and it's very promising. Just a few suggestions:

    The Select and Start mappings should be switched. I don't know how many times i've tried to pause only for the game to go superthrottle. "Start" has been the default button for pause for a while.

    The up and fire face buttons should be switched (because fire is always on the left), but ideally it should be Y to fire and B to jump (because it's been the rule for a while), and X and A became the mouse buttons.

    Most games i tried work ok, sometimes with a bit of fiddling with the settings, but music is almost always slower (i.e. Turrican 2 and Gods). Gods works perfectly except for the intro music.
     
    Zense likes this.
  18. replicashooter

    replicashooter GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Country:
    @Badda haven't checked in for a while, did you make any progress on the sound rendering 10% too slow across the board? Thanks
     
  19. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Tokelau
    This will be fixed in the next version, along with some new features. Hope to be able to publish it this week.
     
  20. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    608
    Country:
    Japan
    I always hated these kind of answers, implying that people who ask questions are rude, but its usually the other way around and making the person asking the question or giving a criticism feel bad for doing so.

    Like.....if you don't like it don't use it you dickhead! MY home-brews are THE BEST! How dare you talk or ask things like that?!

    That's basically how it sounds to me.

    Anyway, great to have Amiga on 3DS!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Anyway, i noticed i cant put for disks just 2...
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Jun 23, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Emulator, Nintendo