Homebrew RELEASE Release - Super Mario 64 v8

Reecey

Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
5,866
Trophies
1
Location
At Home :)
XP
3,633
Country
I’m really impressed with v8, it looks fantastic!

This makes owning a hackable switch so well worth it :)

21BC60F3-5C63-41AA-A0D7-08508C840357.jpeg


The only issue I have noticed so far with v8 is the standard camera angle looks offset.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RahFah and peteruk

iriez

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
548
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
www.xbins.org
XP
1,791
Country
United States
How do you get version 8 from Tinfoil? I see its posted there but when i download it and then run it, it still shows V7 when i run the game....

Sounds like you need to disable other sources. Uninstall v7, make sure the old nsp is not on your SD card then
go to the file browser tab, hit X on any entry you've added other than the one that has SM64.
scroll down to enabled
turn them off then hit X again to save
reboot the app

Then try reinstalling. It sounds like its trying to grab the same file hosted by a diff source as there are a few that mirror.
 

Ibcap

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
445
Trophies
0
XP
1,448
Country
United States
How do you get version 8 from Tinfoil? I see its posted there but when i download it and then run it, it still shows V7 when i run the game....
You need to disable any source that isnt giving the v8 nsp (aka anything besides jack) because otherwise they can override our copy with their own outdated one. Also delete the nsp from your sd card if you have it there.

How would you guys compare this vs the official Nintendo release?
Much much better. A world of difference.
 
Last edited by Ibcap,
  • Like
Reactions: iriez and lordelan

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,794
Country
Mexico
I managed to get it running without issues :)
I found that enabling the SGI and tree models and disabling Dist. Clip (which is basically disabling extended draw distance) helps a lot for performance.

I found 3 issues so far:
  1. Mario's "M" texture in his hat with SGI is broken
  2. All coins have some sort of dull lighting to them, they don't shine.
  3. The tree models look too bright when enabled. Like the shading is not working on them.
 

xXSecretAgentXx

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
13
Country
United States
This might help have a look at my photo above that shows one switch running v8 at the top and the bottom ones running Mario 3D Stars of eshop
Thanks, I got it running but kind of overwhelmed with all the graphics options (in a good way). I haven't keep up with the modding community, any must have recommendations that you're using? Do they overlap each other?
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

Ibcap

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
445
Trophies
0
XP
1,448
Country
United States
Thanks, I got it running but kind of overwhelmed with all the graphics options (in a good way). I haven't keep up with the modding community, any must have recommendations that you're using? Do they overlap each other?
Personally i recommend sgi, the custom tree models and the enhanced graphics options. They run full speed for me and look very nice. The other model pack i forget the name of works great too if you dont like sgi.
 

whiteninja2121

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
91
Country
United States
I cant get this to work. It just says that it is "unable to start software" from the home menu. I tried both the nsp and xci. Installed via awoo and goldleaf (I cant get tinfoil to install). Do I need to update atmosphere? Im on 0.12. Ive been having this same problem with the earlier releases as well.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,794
Country
Mexico
Personally i recommend sgi, the custom tree models and the enhanced graphics options. They run full speed for me and look very nice. The other model pack i forget the name of works great too if you dont like sgi.
Do the 3D trees look kinda saturated on your end, and the coins kinda dark?
 

Ibcap

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
445
Trophies
0
XP
1,448
Country
United States
Do the 3D trees look kinda saturated on your end, and the coins kinda dark?
Yeah theyre a bit weird but they look better than the standard texture imo just by being actual models.
I cant get this to work. It just says that it is "unable to start software" from the home menu. I tried both the nsp and xci. Installed via awoo and goldleaf (I cant get tinfoil to install). Do I need to update atmosphere? Im on 0.12. Ive been having this same problem with the earlier releases as well.
Sounds like you dont have working fs sigpatches
How can we add the texture packs? The packs on switch/sm64 are not working
Those are for v7, youll have to make new paks with the script on the github for v8. Im not sure exactly how to do it but someone on our discord figured it out.
 
Last edited by Ibcap,

pokeparadox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
230
Trophies
0
XP
749
Country
  1. What does the "Disable Dist Clip" setting do? By default, the setting is off. Is this something we should toggle to "on?"
  2. What Mods (i.e., textures) are you guys using?
Gm1e.jpg
The dist clips is models being hidden if they are far away. The N64 used this to keep speed up. Since we have more power we can show all objects all the time. I think you should not disable the distance clip if you are using the HD models, etc.
I'd suggest SDI and Cleaner Aesthetic and possibly trees if you are overclocking CPU. The trees really ramp up the overhead...
 
  • Like
Reactions: sorabora
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • phalk @ phalk:
    and I'm a History teacher
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Went over the basics in all of them, never took it anywhere.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I do use bash for my job though. It's useful.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
    mthrnite @ mthrnite: Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)