1. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    [​IMG]

    Hi there,

    I just wrote a port of SDLPoP to the PS Vita. SDLPoP is an open source engine rewriting of the Prince of Persia dos game.

    The port is in early stage, do not hesitate to report bugs here.

    Here you can find everything you need to install and run it: https://github.com/usineur/SDLPoP-Vita/releases/tag/vita-1.0

    And you can see the prince in action here :)


    usineur
     
    Last edited by usineur0, Sep 26, 2016
    cvskid, Memoir, Shadowtrance and 8 others like this.
  2. Slade.AU

    Slade.AU GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Australia
    This is awesome. Thanks :)
    In the old days, we just carried our Apple 2e's around with a generator, and called that portable. Joking... We couldn't afford the Apple 2e or the generator. I played this at school as a kid.
     
    usineur0 likes this.
  3. Count Duckula

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    Australia
    Great release, thank you :)

    I just played for 30 mins or so with no problems, if I encounter any bugs I'll let you know.
    It took me a few deaths to realise that holding X then pressing left or right only does a single 'careful step', then returns to normal walking even if X is held down. It's been a long time since I played the original POP so this is most likely the expected behaviour :)

    Good luck in the GekiHEN contest, I hope a mod there approved the entry before you posted here. If not then I saw nothing :)
     
    Last edited by Count Duckula, Sep 27, 2016
    usineur0 likes this.
  4. walterdavid

    walterdavid Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Brazil
    Mine is not working for some reason...
    Instal the vpk... put the prince folder in ux0/data folder.... i get the loading phrase for a quick second than it disappears but the game does not load.
     
  5. VitaType

    VitaType GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,041
    Country:
    Germany
    ~
     
    Last edited by VitaType, Sep 28, 2016
  6. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    Can you list the content of your ux0:/data/prince in a pastebin link or whatever ?

    Just to be sure there is nothing missing...
     
  7. MUDD_BR

    MUDD_BR GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Country:
    Brazil
    Excellent work! Are you planning to bring us The Flame and the Shadow some day??
     
    tatundria likes this.
  8. FruitsEve

    FruitsEve Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    thanks usineur0 btw, how hard would it be to remap the jump button to O instead of up on the dpad? its a pain to play like this :D
    EDIT: Never mind, got used to it. But it would be nice to create something like a button config.
     
    Last edited by FruitsEve, Sep 29, 2016
    tatundria likes this.
  9. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    I dont think so and I'm also working on an other port for now
     
  10. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    I just release a new version: https://github.com/usineur/SDLPoP-Vita/releases/tag/vita-1.1

    Main changes: loading time is deeply reduced and the game is displayed in real fullscreen now

    Done. :)
     
    Last edited by usineur0, Sep 29, 2016
  11. tatundria

    tatundria GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Argentina
    Do you have to press X again every time you want to take a careful step? Because if a keep it pressed and then press left/right two times it just runs...
     
    Last edited by tatundria, Sep 30, 2016
  12. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    It's a bug on my side. Latest commit fixes the problem.
     
  13. Haider Raza

    Haider Raza Alhumdulillah
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Noice!! :bortz:
     
  14. naughtyotsel

    naughtyotsel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    well thats an interesting game
     
  15. tatundria

    tatundria GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Argentina
    Would you release a compiled .vpk?
     
  16. VitaType

    VitaType GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,041
    Country:
    Germany
    Last edited by VitaType, Sep 30, 2016
  17. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    Count Duckula likes this.
  18. blender3d

    blender3d Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Australia
    Just passed the game on second attemp with first version. There a some very small timing glitches, espacially when fighting their guards (did pass PoP approx. 100 times within all these years). Unfortunately i can't enter any name in the lack of a keyboard. Softkey feature of the Vita would be nice.
    However mate, let me tell you, your work is awesome... i allways loved this game and playing it on the vita now feels just incredible. Thank you very very much!

    appendix... on the original PoP... if you have trap plates which would fall off... making them shake three times would cause them to fall. Didn't compile SDL PoP for linux anyway, so i can't tell if this issue is with your Vita Port or if it is SDL PoP related.
     
    Last edited by blender3d, Oct 2, 2016
  19. blender3d

    blender3d Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Australia
    Just figured out an 1.1 issue. When i hit "PS" button to pause the game, melodical sound stops working. It did work on v1 though. Also i would love to center 4:3 instead of strech to 16:9... or just strech it half way to make it look much bether. However, still an awesome job. Thanks alot.
     
  20. usineur0

    OP usineur0 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    France
    I will add this feature soon. In fact, the code is already written, but I need to refactor it.

    Thank you. The main work is due to NavyD, he deserves all the credit for the engine.
    I just made the Vita port and a little enhancement for the music support.

    I don't know the original behaviour, but I'm pretty sure it comes from the SDLPoP engine. Take a look at the doc/Readme.txt file into the repository, maybe you could find informations about this.

    The latest commit I just pushed on my github fixes that problem. Thank you to point me this problem, I didn't see it.

    I will make a new release when the keyboard support will be definitively integrated.
     
    Last edited by usineur0, Oct 3, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [RELEASE], SDLPoP, source