Official [Release] SaveMii - Wii U/vWii savefile manager

Discussion in 'Wii U - Homebrew' started by Ryuzaki_MrL, Apr 4, 2017.

  1. Mysterio33

    Newcomer Mysterio33 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    For some reason I can't get any Savegame working.. Here are the steps I'm doing:
    1.Launch Mocha CFW with loadiine.ovh
    2.In Mocha CFW I'm launching Homebrew Launcher 1.4, also with loadiine.ovh
    3.Launch SaveMii
    4.Back Up Savegame (e.g. Mario Kart 8, Slot 0, with Common files)
    (4.1 Wipe save, tried it out, but makes no difference)
    5.Restore the downloaded save (from here - https://gbatemp.net/threads/wii-u-save-files-compilation.427761/ )
    6.Go back to the WiiU-Menu and launch the Game
    7.Game doesn't recognize the savegame - creates a new, stock one :(

    I've tried all offered savegames, but none of them are working. Additionally, my backups aren't getting recognized either! -.-
    In Super Smash Bros U, the Game launches, but then gets directly stuck at black screen.
    The same thing, when I'm switching the files manually via FTPiiU_everywhere.

    In Zelda BoTW, the Game only recognize my old saves, not the new "injected/downloaded" one. I don't want to delete my old saves. I'm afraid, that it doesn't recognize my backup either if I want to restore them..
    Anyone knows what I'm doing wrong?
     


  2. spacorn

    Newcomer spacorn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Chile
    I just found out about this tool. Thank you so much for making it! I just used it to backup a couple of games, and also restoring successfully from downloaded savefiles from this forum.

    I just wanted to report one use case where it didn't work as expected. Please let me know if there's a problem on my end:

    I made a backup of my Breath of the Wild (USA) savefile to transfer it to a different user in the same Wii U.

    The backup works ok if I restore it on the same source user. It also works ok in Cemu.
    So I moved on to renaming the backup folder to restore it as the id of the second user (source was 80000008, second one is 8000000F).

    The renamed folder is recognized, so far so good.

    So first I tried restoring over an already generated save file on this second user (barely past the intro of the game, as soon as I could save), but it seems that after restoring only some of the files would be recognized: a couple of autosaves show up and can be loaded ingame, but the pictures in the album and Hyrule Compendium won't show up. Then if I make a new savefile from there, these dont work at all, they take me to the start of the game. The preview snapshots show up black.

    Then I tried doing a clean wipe and restoring, but the savefiles gets completely ignored. Launching the game starts a fresh new savefile.

    At this point it seems to me that not only some of the files can't be read, they can't be overwritten by the game either. But since the backup works ok when restored on its source user (and was also tested on Cemu), maybe there's a problem in the restoring process for this particular game over a second user.

    Maybe there's something else I should be doing besides simply renaming the user id of the backup? Why else would it work ok on the first user but would only be partially functional in the second one?

    edit: forgot to mention, this is a game installed in USB HDD, CFW Mocha
     
    Last edited by spacorn, Apr 17, 2017
  3. spacorn

    Newcomer spacorn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Chile
    After further testing, I realized the reason why most games worked but in the case of BotW only two save slots worked, is that files first created by the console in-game could be overwritten and be fully functional, but files created from scratch during the restoring process get corrupted. So what happened with BotW is that only two autosave slots were made automatically after the introduction of a new game (the only files created first by the console), and could be correctly overwritten, while the rest of the files (other four save slots, album photos, etc.) would get corrupted when created from scratch by the restoring process and then, for some reason, the game wouldn't be able to read them, or write over them either.

    My solution (or workaround, more like) was to wipe data on the destination user, make a new game, play enough to fill all six save slots were filled, and then only restore the save slots related files from the source backup (I manually deleted all files related to the picture album and other stuff from the backup). The result is that I ended up with a fully functional save file on the destination user, that could normally be overwritten, but I lost all my album and compendium images. Fortunately the only consequence is that the album shows blank images, but then I can simply take the pictures again and the new pictures would be created normally. (This didn't matter much since I wasn't too big on filling the album carefully anyway...). Eventually, if I cared enough, I know I could manually replace them to the backed up files after I generate new files for each picture in-game.

    I wonder why files made from scratch would end up non functional? Or if there's something I could do about it to not go through all this next time?

    edit: sleepy/drunk grammar
     
    Last edited by spacorn, Apr 17, 2017
    lordelan likes this.
  4. Drew That Gamer

    Member Drew That Gamer weeb

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Country:
    United States
    Great program! Love it! Just gotta figure out how to make it work on HaxchiFW... :unsure:
     
  5. RupeThereItIs

    Newcomer RupeThereItIs Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like one of two things. Either newly created files don't have the correct filesystem metadata set, or there is a file somewhere that contains a list of path references that don't match the new files. I sorta suspect it's the former, something in the FS that homebrew doesn't know how too, or doesn't know exists. Perhaps the wrong permissions are being set on the newly created files.
     
  6. YodaXY

    Newcomer YodaXY Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys ive got an error by any game *failed to create file.*

    yes i startet Mocha first and i tried to test it with another sd card (128gb , 512mb) and all 3 vers. 1.0.0 , 1.1.0 and 1.2.0.. thank you !
     
    Last edited by YodaXY, Apr 17, 2017
  7. spacorn

    Newcomer spacorn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Chile
    I figured it could be something like that.

    Well, at least I figured out how to get around it in my particular use case. I hope my report is useful for other people and the author. Hopefully future versions will be able to create working files without needing to first create them in-game.
     
  8. Ankh

    Newcomer Ankh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Country:
    Spain
    I'm having no issues doing the same as you (I don't wipe my save data because you need an already existent save data in your console to restore a save-backup).

    Maybe the saves that you are downloading from that thread are not compatible with the game that you are using.
    I'm using savemii to edit my save file of Breath of the Wild with this editor and I have got 0 problems.
     
    Mysterio33, YodaXY and lordelan like this.
  9. Mysterio33

    Newcomer Mysterio33 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay, thanks, I will give the savegame-editor a try :) didn't know, that something like that exists (Y) sadly, there is no Save-editor for Mario Kart 8 out, yet :(
     
  10. Pib

    Newcomer Pib Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    this doesn't seem to work with an external drive plugged in. it gets to "loaded 1 wii u titles" and locks up, but with the external drive unplugged, it works just fine. this unfortunately means i can't back up any of my saves, since all of my games are on the external drive
     
  11. Mysterio33

    Newcomer Mysterio33 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    Seems to be your external drive.. All my games are on external drive too, and all are getting recognized..
     
  12. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,680
    Country:
    France
    I have the exact same problem and what I am doing is restoring the saves with Saviine.
    Idk why savemii doesn't let me restore my saves
     
  13. lordelan

    Member lordelan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    Country:
    Germany
    So (worst case scenario) restoring saves with Saviine is working even if they have been made with SaveMii?
     
  14. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,680
    Country:
    France
    Yes :)
     
  15. lordelan

    Member lordelan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay so backing up all my games with SaveMii is wise and keeps me on the safe side of life although it's sometimes written in this thread that restoring has issues.
    But as long as I can you Saviine as a fallback and the backup mechanics of SaveMii are working I'm fine. Thanks. :)
     
  16. Ryuzaki_MrL
    OP

    Member Ryuzaki_MrL Furry Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    709
    Country:
    Brazil
    Restoring seems to be working for some games and not for others. In general it seems the Wii U dislikes messing with the files if not in the game or system settings.
     
  17. ChokingVictim87

    Member ChokingVictim87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Odd question-would it be possible to rip the save from Earthbound VC on Wii U and transfer it onto the VC Earthbound on New 3DS?
     
  18. lordelan

    Member lordelan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    Country:
    Germany
    If you're talking about the actual save and not the savestate (which is something emulator specific and in this case the VC itself is the emulator), it should work as the savefiles (that you create by ingame save menu) are in a general format as the roms are.
     

Share This Page