1. dannyb1

    dannyb1 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so I'm trying to apply cheats on RE2 dual shock USA edition, the cheat file they have for it is in German and doesn't work.

    I have compiled .CHT files from codes obtained online but none of these seem to work either.
    I would use a Europe version but the only one I can find comes in a APE/ECM format which even if I convert to BIN/CUE PCSXRearmed doesn't want to play.

    Any suggestions.??
     
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    So i need some slight help or maybe it just not working



    Got dosmugen to boot. I have also figured out why my xmugen game doesn’t boot in switch dosbox. Two things. Basically dosmugen need dosbox compatible with long file names. Not sure if dev can incorporate this or what. I would really appreciate it is so. Not sure if i can link to mugen fighter guild but there is a post there that explains it. Also there is another exe a param exe that one must use to tweak dosmugen. Once these two things are done we should have dosmugen on both switch and ps4 and i feel it will run quite well. But problem. I cannot use keyboard in dosbox on ps4. I can on switch. Same keyboard work fine. So i guess i will work that end. Can anyone tell me how to use keyboard with dosbox ps4? I tried obvious things. Is it just not work or need conf file or something? My problem is i cannot bypass f1 of opening mugen screen...
     
  3. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,592
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried looking in the controls section in the in game options?
    Open the ingame menu.
    Go down to Controls.
    Open Port 1 Controls
    Change Device Type to: Keyboard + Mouse
    Try that. :)
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    no luck sadly. My keyboard works in like the ps4 menu but in retroarch no response. Im not very good at dosbox tho. I reached out to a dosmugen guru of sorts. He is helping me out with a copy of mugen that has the f1 removed. I should be able to learn from that. With some tweaking i think that rwtroarch has opened door to mugen on switch and ps4. Hopefully some folks more knowledgeable than i will see these posts and collab. I feel it is a worthy cause.
     
  5. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,592
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok good luck. Mugen on Switch would be awesome :)
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    ploggy you were right! i just suck at dosbox it still don't work right but im making progress. What I didn't understand is that configured my controller AS a keyboard! Really cool! So I can do escape and f1 and all that! So the number one problem with mugen is actually solved by this! Usually it is controls that give us the hardest time as players of this engine. Thanks I am just dense.



    need to tweak my machine options i guess?

    Now my problem is speed sadly. But I am hopeful. But after toying with it I am at a loss. If anyone would like I am happy to share my files. I am hoping that with some help we should be able to get dosmugen going on all the current gen consoles. I think it should perform fairly well albeit it at a low res. Maybe this inspires someone to get winmugen going who knows. Maybe somehow dosmugen can be upgrades. Maybe someone from elecbyte pulls off the uber upgrade as they sit on their deathbed dying of some terminal affliction because I warmed their heart. Of course they would only communicate with me through an anonymous third party with no way to be traced you know cause of reasons (elecbyte is very mysterious did anyone ever figure out who they were?).

    so i got it running a lil better but here is where my wall is. So I discovered something. It's right in the name as you open it but yes you have included in this ps4 retroarch the lfn version so that is great news for me. It is why this dosmugen boots at all actually. Ironically both the switch version of retroarch and the pc version both lack this feature. So until that is changed no dos mugen for switch sadly. Now here is my problem. I believe to play dosmugen properly on ps4 i will need to edit CWSDPMI.EXE with CWSDPMI.EXE but on a ps4 when you try to open it with this core the file fails to load on a pc it does load but since the pc cores are not compatible with long file names you still can't run dosmugen properly...happy to send any logs or whatever...

    edit i stand corrected least i think reason you do this is to make a swap file and voila i found a swap file. The size is wrong but it's there. Only other thing i can think of is there is a setting that says fixed in options that i think should be auto option as well. But that's going to take someone who is dev cause i have no clue how to change that value or add that feature in dosbox. So sadly I believe that is a dead end. I think maybe you could make a small mugen game run or if the ps4 got some more power somehow but that about it...
     
    Last edited Jan 12, 2020
  7. ango

    ango Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Germany
    ...tested DosBox too, most games are running very very slow
     
  8. vKy

    vKy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    India
    Hey Guys does any one know how to connect two DualShock controllers to RetroArc PS4 ?
    I have one DS4 1st gen and one DS4 2nd gen
    By Default User 1 bindings are set as Ps4 Controller
    And when i try to set up user 2 bindings i see that i can set the device index to Ps4 Controller
    Doing so when i play a game such as Contra with 2 players, controller 1 controls both players.
    Any idea on the same ?
     
  9. jammybudga777

    jammybudga777 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    Country:
    Only 1 controller at a time for now
     
    vKy likes this.
  10. jammybudga777

    jammybudga777 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    Country:
    I thought in rev2 the playlists where working?
     
  11. ango

    ango Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Germany
    Playlists are working
     
  12. jammybudga777

    jammybudga777 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    Country:
    seemed very hit and miss tbh. after alot of trys i managed to get it to work fine
     
    ango likes this.
  13. dannyb1

    dannyb1 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anyone know why PS1 roms action replay, codebreaker etc do not load on the ps4 version but do on the linux one.??
     
  14. vKy

    vKy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    India
    Got You. Thanks buddy. So we need to wait until next version
     
  15. jammybudga777

    jammybudga777 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    Country:
    hopefully wont be long. the same happened with mednefan and RA on xbox one. only one controller supported to start with
     
  16. rommy667

    rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Thanks a lot for these early releases r2 is awesome :)
     
  17. Vegeta

    Vegeta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    I also have a PS4 Pro on 5.05.

    Is it possible for RetroArch on PS4 Pro to take advantage of the Boost Mode?

    It makes a big difference with the official hacked PS2 emulator due to higher CPU and GPU clock speeds.
     
  18. jammybudga777

    jammybudga777 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    Country:
    i have boost mode on my pro but havnt got anything to compare it too. so not sure if it does or not
     
  19. Vegeta

    Vegeta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    I have already tried it and it doesn't make a difference in the current build of RetroArch on or off.

    I hope RetroArch can take advantage of the extra power of the PS4 Pro in the future.
     
  20. ango

    ango Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Germany
    Nothing new?
    Why is this great project not on github/libretro?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (Unofficial), [RELEASE], RetroArch