1. HellaJvke

    HellaJvke GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    when cores installed, does that mean you have the retroarch app to directly ps4 homescreen and can play it?
     
    Hologram likes this.
  2. Hologram

    Hologram GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah from home.
     
    HellaJvke likes this.
  3. Khahid

    Khahid Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    India
    any chance recompile using vulkan suport?
     
  4. hosam_mohamed

    hosam_mohamed Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Egypt
    PS4 uses OpenGL which doesn't support Volkan.
    All we hope for is to update OpenGL version so that newer cores like dolphin could work
     
    Khahid and Hologram like this.
  5. Khahid

    Khahid Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    India
    why not both? linux distro already suport vulkan
     
  6. ctxx

    ctxx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Norway
    I have installed RetroArch on my ps4 with 7.02 jb and when i run super mario 64 or golden eye 007, then the sound and game lags a lot. Does anyone have a solution for this?
     
  7. hosam_mohamed

    hosam_mohamed Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Egypt
    cause linux distro uses vulkan driver installed for GPU, PS4 support only OpenGL(at least for now).
     
  8. Sega_Ireland

    Sega_Ireland Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Ireland
    hi
    im running retroarch on 7.02 it works fine except with the mame cores. They wont load games from the internal HDD only USB!
    The other cores work with the internal drive.
    Any idea on why mame games wont run from the HDD?[/QUOTE]
     
  9. JimMayer

    JimMayer Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I've copy mame roms to \data\roms\mame and all files works with manuell search.
    Most work with mame2003_plus core and crash by higher mame version tryout.
    By automatic search, some mame will found in mame2010 and mame2015 folder. but many files will lost.
    My Neogeo was also be found in mame2015 folder before, so there is a confict with new search function.
    I have to delete mame2015 folder and start automatic search again.
    It's so confuse, I have to try much more.
    I anyone found a real working process, please let me know, too.

    But Retroarch is really cool, very nice.
    Manuell search the mame folder works fine, all files will run with matched core.
    So it's ok for me, all other will maybe working later.
     
    Hologram likes this.
  10. Hologram

    Hologram GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    Example on how to setup N64 - Works the same for all consoles / cores there after:

    Setup on PC retroarch use show desktop menu.

    Create new playlist and name it Nintendo - Nintendo 64 then drag and drop your roms in to the window, leave all options default then hit ok.

    Inside retroarch folder you will have playlist like Nintendo - Nintendo 64.lpl. Use notepad ++ to edit file and change path to where your roms are. Mine are in the following path:

    "path": "/data/retroarch/Retro Games/Nintendo - Nintendo 64/007 - GoldenEye (USA).zip#007 - GoldenEye (USA).n64",

    (You can change paths to all roms at once CTL+F then repalce - Repalce all. Takes 10 seconds to make paths correct for each system / core once you do a few)

    Copy Nintendo - Nintendo 64.lpl back to ps4 data/retroarch/playlists.

    Load up retroarch and go to playlists - manage playlists. Set default core for N64 by selecting your fav core or a core that works. Muppen/Parallel.

    Test games and if they load then you setup right.

    Box art:
    Make sure rom/game and boxart have same name. No - intro rom sets are pretty nice and most artowork refelcts those sets. Put your boxa art in: Path - /data/retroarch/thumbnails/Nintendo - Nintendo 64/Named_Boxarts/Name of rom/game

    Again this is an N64 example.

    This is how I setup all my consoles as its fast and works: PS4, PS Mini, PS3, Xbox One, Switch etc
     
    Last edited by Hologram, Jan 5, 2021
  11. bbqtool

    bbqtool Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Australia
    What error do you get when you try to load a MAME ROM?
    What cores are you using?

    Here are some things to try:

    - Try to test with a smaller ROM. I had issues with Retroarch from the internal drive too. (nothing was fullspeed, regardless of the core. Even things like NES) I migrated all my ROMs to USB and have had no issues since. Everything up to PS1 is fullspeed, Dreamcast is mostly fine. I came to the conclusion that I pretty much had to load them from USB for them to work correctly as of now. (Maybe a fix in the future?)
    - There might a be problem with the path of your core in your playlist. Manually assign the core to a ROM. To do this, select the ROM and go to "Set Core Association" and try whatever core you prefer. If that works, change the core location in the playlist file to where the core is located.
    - The cores might have not installed correctly. Try to reinstall or update your MAME cores in Retroarch.
    - Try a to load one or two ROMs from a different romset.
     
    Last edited by bbqtool, Jan 5, 2021
  12. Sega_Ireland

    Sega_Ireland Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Ireland
    well i tried making a playlist that ran games off the usb. i then changed the directory listed in the playlist file to the internal hard drive but retroarch crashes when i tried to load a game from it. seems like a problem with retroarch itself?
     
  13. mrkoelie

    mrkoelie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    Any chance for an update with the dosbox pure core @OsirisX ?
     
  14. Vegeta

    Vegeta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    I hope the DuckStation core is added in a future release. It's the best PS1 emulator out there and also the fastest.
     
  15. chrisrlink

    chrisrlink Has a PhD in dueling
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,727
    Country:
    United States
    curious though why libretro haven't made an official port yet?
     
  16. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,698
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because as far as I know @OsirisX hasn't made a PR to libretro's Github yet? It would be good to get it up to libretro tho, we could have more regular updates then.

    IIRC there are reasons why we cant have Cores like Duckstation/Dolphin/Melonds something about the PS4 Toolchain not supporting a high enough version of libc++.
    "I ran into some compiling issues with them as they're using a higher libc++ version than what my current toolchain supports. Currently I'm working on a slightly different ps4 project but will return to this after."
    That and PS4 Retroarch currently uses Software Rendering and not Hardware.
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Jan 18, 2021
  17. komawoyo

    komawoyo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone tell me if gamecube games run fine on the PS4? I've seen good performance on the switch. Just wondering.

    EDIT: I'm aware that vulkan is available in the PS4-Linux but it seems that they had to have the amdgpu drivers. Not sure if Retroarch would be able to take advantage of that.
     
    Last edited by komawoyo, Jan 21, 2021
  18. Stoned

    Stoned GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    Germany
  19. Flako04

    Flako04 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    This might be a stupid question but does this retroarch build takes 3rd party controllers at all? Trying to use my N64 Retrolink controller :(
     
  20. bbqtool

    bbqtool Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Australia
    The PS4 itself will only detect controllers it recognises as PS4 controllers.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (Unofficial), [RELEASE], RetroArch