1. OsirisX

    OP OsirisX Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for testing it. Yeah I'm trying to see if I can smooth out the game play. Seems like the audio thread wants to run much slower than video which is causing the stuttering.

    EDIT

    @ploggy
    Ok I think I fixed the video issue by issuing glFinish call on every video frame. Can you try the snes9x core once more? I'm expecting the video to be much smoother now.
    Also are you running with PAL region games by any chance? Seems like the audio distortion is more prevalent with those since they're running at lower fps (50 instead of 60)

    @stranno
    I've also updated vice_x64 and handy cores. I think with the above fix there shouldn't be any graphic issues now with those cores.
     
    Last edited by OsirisX, Jul 11, 2020
  2. spedunk55

    spedunk55 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    you can load game saves from any profile on the ps4 i don't know if this happened before or after the update and ppsspp when you load saves retroarch crashes to ps4 home menu and games cause retroarch to crash too when you get to certain parts like gow coo after you fight the first boss on the bridge and gow gos crashes right after you fight the first wave of enemies and go down the small stairs on the boat both games have graphical glitches for snes i use 2010 core to play dk country and the audio is distorted i use ntsc roms

    sorry for the long post
     
  3. bruno_arias

    bruno_arias Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Bolivia
    @ploggy Are you using snes9x 2010?. I don't have any problems with that core. Audio is perfect since r3.
     
  4. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States
    agreed for some odd reason 2010 is the go to on this console for snes

    Man I just booted up the ppsspp core and daaaam man I am so impressed. Thank you for sharing your work!
     
    Mo Poge likes this.
  5. OsirisX

    OP OsirisX Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Updated all cores online with a new experimental sound driver. It should offer better sound output.
    To enable it, go to Settings -> Audio -> Output -> Audio and change orbis to ps4.

    Also GPU hard sync can now be enabled. It allows for smoother video
    Enable it in Settings -> Video -> Synchronization -> Hard GPU Sync
    Disable this if you experience large slow downs.
     
    KiiWii and hippy dave like this.
  6. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States

    omfg i just made a video and did not know this oh well there is always part 2! I was so impressed man! Keep up the great work!

     
  7. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dunno it must be just my ps4 then, i'm getting like sound doubling distortion on snes9x2010 :P

    @OsirisX nice! I'll test it out soon.. :) is it possible to enable the PS4's Video Capture in Retroarch? it would help alot in showing game speed/audio issues?

    Thanks.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    @OsirisX theres a new PS1 core called Duckstation, apparently its good. Can you compile it for the PS4 RA? and the Melon DS Core is possible?
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Jul 16, 2020
  8. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow! that new Audio driver fixed the bad sound/game speed weirdness! (Snes9x - Current too) :)
    Snes games are perfect now..
    Quick run through (1 game per core to test)
    MS - Alex Kidd in shinobi World - Perfect!
    PCE - Dragons Curse - Perfect!
    GB - Donkey Kong - Perfect!
    GBA - Sonic Advance 2 - Perfect!
    N64 - Diddy Kong Racing - Still has perf issues
    DS - New Super Mario Bros. - Still has perf issues
    NES - Super Mario Bros. - Perfect!
    32X - Knuckles Chaotix - Perfect!
    MD - Sonic 2 - Perfect!
    PS1 - Total Drivin' - Perfect!
    DosBox - C&C - Causes RA to crash with error code CE-37848-0 (whatever that means) :P (Wolfenstein 3d Works tho so probably bad C&C rip.. Dosbox aint my thing lol
    PRDOOM - DOOM1 - Perfect!

    Again this is with only 1 game per Core but it's easily much more playable than the last builds. great job!!
     
    hippy dave likes this.
  9. OsirisX

    OP OsirisX Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! The changes shouldn't make too big of a difference for larger cores like ppsspp but nice vid btw.

    I'll see if I can get these compiled along with enabling video capture. Thanks for the quick test on the recent changes! I'll look into those issues that you mentioned.
     
    jammybudga777 and ploggy like this.
  10. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States
    retroarch no work for 6.72 jailbreak sadface
     
  11. OsirisX

    OP OsirisX Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Does it get to the menu or does it crash right after starting?
     
  12. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States
    actually what happens is i can't run the cores installer? think online updater might be worth a try? my experience so far is that apps need to be updated to 6.72
     
  13. OsirisX

    OP OsirisX Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    So you are able to enter the menu but cannot install the cores? This is expected since data mount patch is not in Mira.

    Well there was a fix but they decided not to include it.
    https://github.com/OpenOrbis/mira-project/pull/62

    I can make a new pkg that will have both RetroArch and the cores but online updates won't work until the above patch is integrated.

    EDIT

    Nvm just tested with latest Mira and mount patch is there so technically it should also work in 6.72
     
    Last edited by OsirisX, Jul 17, 2020
    KiiWii likes this.
  14. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States
    ok let me try again

    works

    spoke too soon some sort of weird directory permissions issues
     
    Last edited by seanp2500, Jul 17, 2020
  15. spedunk55

    spedunk55 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    how did you make the ps1 core work i put the BIOS in system folder but when i load games i get failed to load content notification
     
  16. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What Ps1 Core you trying to use? IIRC PCSXRearmed doesn't require a bios, its optional. BeetlePSX does require specific bios files...

    https://docs.libretro.com/library/beetle_psx_hw/

    scph5500.bin PS1 JP BIOS - Required for JP games 8dd7d5296a650fac7319bce665a6a53c
    scph5501.bin PS1 US BIOS - Required for US games 490f666e1afb15b7362b406ed1cea246
    scph5502.bin PS1 EU BIOS - Required for EU games 32736f17079d0b2b7024407c39bd3050

    Make sure your bios' md5 hashes match..
     
    Last edited by ploggy, Jul 17, 2020
  17. spedunk55

    spedunk55 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    for some reason i couldn't reply because some sort of spam issue or something anyway i tried both cores same outcome using multiple bios files and game rom formats
     
    Last edited by spedunk55, Jul 18, 2020
  18. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know what to tell you.. as long as you bios/roms are correct it should just work?
     
  19. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @spedunk55 try loading the PS1 core first then load content..
     
  20. spedunk55

    spedunk55 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    already tried that nothing same issue
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (Unofficial), [RELEASE], RetroArch