1. xunsus

    xunsus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Algeria
    oh ok. thaught it would change since it's not psxitarch
     
    Leeful likes this.
  2. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah, the scripts were to originally install a psxitarch distro but it will work with a gentoo distro too. (as long as it is in the correct format):)
     
    xunsus likes this.
  3. lotus78

    lotus78 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Austria
    @Leeful
    thx for confirming my post - I think this is a a really underrated hint for avoiding kernel panic trouble with linux payload
     
    Leeful likes this.
  4. lotus78

    lotus78 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Austria
    a smal update:
    it seems, that the internal version runs not realy stable...- I got some system crashes if I changed some settings..
    maybee thats the reason why the internal installation is not very popular...
     
  5. youpibot33

    youpibot33 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    I was wondering if anyone could share their knowledge and potentially help me to understand what I'm possibly doing wrong?

    I have a PS4 on 5.05, PS4 is a chu1116 model and I cannot manage to get Gentoo to work.

    For the last year or so I used the Al azif exploit to get Hen and had no major problems. This weekend I tried to follow this Tuto, then modern Warfare Tuto to use Gentoo as I wish to test Linux capabilities with emmulations in mind.

    When I click on Gentoo 2go or 3go something load up for few second and then screen shuts off and PS4 is stuck with a blue light and flashing purple light and nothing on the tv.. only way out is to pull the alim cord out.

    I have since tried again with the girls from different tutos and tips from forums and psxhzx, and this involved redownloading and reflashing the image from mega just in case the link from modern Warfare was faulty but I still end up with the same problem.

    Any ideas?

    I had to format my 2t HDD for this ( only old PS3 games and crap so no big deal) but I need to get this to work now for this to pay off. There is a 200 mb partition created and another 10ish go so I guess that this was done correctly.

    Thank you
     
  6. kifir

    kifir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Belarus
    Hi guys,
    I have installed Gentoo to my PS4 5.05 CUH2116B slim but I have issue with colors.
    Screen on PS4 720p HDR - off , Deep Color - off , RGB - Auto , HDCP - off
    The picture is more "green" as you can see in attached file.
    Do you have any idea what it can caused that problem ?

    thanks in advance
     

    Attached Files:

    Leeful likes this.
  7. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have had this same problem in the past. Try setting RGB to Full. I think that fixed it for me.
    Keep HDR and deep colour off, also try 1080p (if your display allows it).
     
    Last edited by Leeful, May 23, 2020
    kifir likes this.
  8. kifir

    kifir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Belarus
    thank you for your inputs.

    I have tried with RGB - full and 720p - the result is the same :(
    I dont have 1080p mode due to display ( its only readyHD )

    I have 1080i mode but the result is the same.

    It seems, that the issue with in my display :(


    I alos tried x2go and VNC to make remote connection but the speed is very slow and with lags :(
     
    Last edited by kifir, May 23, 2020
    Leeful likes this.
  9. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @kifir What does it say under 'Colour Format' when you go to 'Video Output Information' on the PS4?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Is there an option on your TV to check what picture information is being displayed when you are running linux?
    On my TV if I had the RGB set to auto on the PS4 it would display YCbCr (or cmyk) on my TV when in linux.

    Setting RGB to full fixed it for me but as you said you have already tried that.:(
     
    Last edited by Leeful, May 23, 2020
    kifir and KiiWii like this.
  10. kifir

    kifir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Belarus
    Resolution 1280 x 720 60
    Colour Format - RGB
    HDR - no support

    Unfortunately, no info on TV, TV is quite old :)

    So, fixed it by nomachine remote control :D. The best performace between x2go, vnc and RDP.
     
    Last edited by kifir, May 23, 2020
    Leeful likes this.
  11. isrmicha

    isrmicha Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Brazil
    google drive doing network error :(
     
  12. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Country:
    United States
    if you follow my tut you will see i use a usb. I am very sorry if you used your internal hd. I strongly suggest following my video and using a 16gb usb or higher. If I am not mistaken. The model chu 1116 is a Batman: Arkham Knight Limited Edition which is a phat. You only have 1gb vram. You cannot use the 2gb or 3gb vram payloads. My advice is follow my tut carefully and use a 16gb usb drive to flash the image onto (to be honest the gains for internal come from ssd so to me it no worth it for you). In any event nothing you would have done previously would have worked because you don't have that much vram. One good trick I have learned is sometimes the monitor or connections are at fault. HDMI cable or splitter blah blah. There is a no usb payload. It is a good to confirm you ps4 is compatible. Good Luckl!
     
  13. MaddMacc

    MaddMacc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @mircoho
    ref " added a baikal payload with 5.3.7 kernel. hope it works have no model for test "
    Is that also on https://ps4gentoo.github.io ,
    Maybe I need new glasses, ( June 22 2020 )

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    @xunsus ,
    Fedoira 31 is best for me.

    I have tested Fedora31, Gentoo , psxitarch and a few of the " Ubuntu " Versions.
    From my tests Fedora wins, Ubuntu version do not work for me at all on my Pro 7116B ( Baikal chip )
    Used EXternal drives and external SSD ( in USB3 enclosure ) and various USB drives.

    Trying now to install Fedora on Internal.
     
    xunsus likes this.
  14. MaddMacc

    MaddMacc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dumb question please.
    Where is, or what file contains the install-hdd.sh script.

    ** Edit June 23,
    found the script in the file initramfs.cpio.gz , which is a compressed linux file,
    On windows you can use 7zip, to show archive, then right click again to open the cpio file inside the archive.
    Other initramfs.cpio.gz files I have working with installing on external USb devices, do not have the install-hdd.sh script,

    So now I am attempting to add ths script to a working initramfs.cpio.gz.
     
    Last edited by MaddMacc, Jun 24, 2020
    Leeful likes this.
  15. GeraltOfRivia

    GeraltOfRivia Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Italy
    Hey there everyone! I saw on YouTube a video of "Catjaro Linux" for ps4 5.05 and it runs many games very well. to install this version I mentioned, I have to follow the same tutorial , changing only the image file? Thanx
     
  16. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,792
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, that's right.
     
    GeraltOfRivia likes this.
  17. GeraltOfRivia

    GeraltOfRivia Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanx a lot for your answer!
     
    azoreseuropa likes this.
  18. MaddMacc

    MaddMacc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone out there manage to install Linux on Internall HDD on Pro 7116B ( Baikal chip )
     
  19. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I personally have never got internal linux to work on any of my consoles, Phat(CUH-1116A) Slim(CUH-2016B) Pro(CUH-7016B).
    The problem I have always had is that I can get it to boot into the rescueshell but then it says something like 'cannot find linux.tar.gz'. Obviously the files are in the right place or it would not boot into rescueshell but thats as far as I have got it to go.

    BTW did you find a method of editing/adding files to the initramfs.cpio.gz? I have always wanted to be able to do that.
     
  20. Jao Chu

    Jao Chu GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,935
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi, could you explain to me how you installed and configured a VNC server on PS4 Gentoo?

    I followed the TigerVNC tutorial on Gentoo Wiki and when i try to connect from my PC i always get "connection refused" error.

    Anyone successfully have VNC server working on PS4 Gentoo? Thanks :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [RELEASE], mircoho, Gentoo