1. arfgh

    arfgh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Armenia
    Leeful, just wanted to asked yo for something not the exploit host, but if is possible, maybe you can implement on it..
    The idea is to find a way to delete the pre-installed pkg cusa00001 that size around 512MB. I tried with the lappy explorer with no success. Just wanted to back that space for the games usage...
    You know about all this, and maybe you can perform some payload that achieve it..... ?
    Also... what about a possible update for the 'update only dump' ont he exploit host ?

    greetings
     
    Leeful likes this.
  2. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,588
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @arfgh thats playroom right? It’s installed in each update (recovery) and takes up barely half a gb as stated. I have no idea why Sony need this installed on every console, and I haven’t tried removing it, give it a go via FTP. Lapys explorer protects certain areas from being modified incase of error.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  3. Leeful

    OP Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @arfgh Maybe changing the 'canRemove' from 0 to 1 in the app.db might work.
    I'll try it out and let you know.
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  4. Leeful

    OP Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @arfgh Well I tried it out and there is good news and bad news.

    The good news is:
    Changing 'canRemove' from 0 to 1 allowed me to delete it just like any other game.

    The bad news is:
    I noticed that it didn't make any difference to the avilable space.
    I FTPd into the PS4 and noticed that the app.pkg was still there so with fingers crossed I deleted it.
    Luckily the PS4 booted up normally again but there was still no more available space.

    The location of the CUSA00001 was not with all the other regular games, instead it was in preinst2/app/CUSA00001/.
    The preinst2 folder must be a protected partition (hence Lappys Explorer not being able to delete it) so it does not count in the calculated PS4 free space.

    In summary, deleting it will not give you any more usable space so it is pointless doing it.:)
     
    OldK1ngCole and azoreseuropa like this.
  5. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,838
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thanks for testing it out for us and you got your answer for us. Now, you can rest easy. :D
     
    Leeful likes this.
  6. arfgh

    arfgh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Armenia
    but Leeful that app.pkg size over 512MB...
     
    Leeful likes this.
  7. Leeful

    OP Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I know but it is located on a protected partition of the PS4 system that is not included in the usable space of the PS4 so deleting it gives you no more usable space.

    All the folders you see when you FTP into the PS4 are not all on the same partition on the HDD.
    https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps4/Files_on_the_PS4
     
  8. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,963
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bet you would use the back button, it's much closer to where your hand is.
     
  9. Entonghibang

    Entonghibang Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    question about the dumper so I dumped a certain game, uncharted 4 with no updates, first I checked the details and its said the disc file is 44gb. but when I check the usb from my computer, it surpassed 44gb from which there is no left space on my 64gb flashes drive, is it normal? and checking the eboot.bin it is 0kb. so it means I did not finish the backup right?
     
  10. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,588
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try not to cross post, you should have really waited for an answer in your original thread: https://gbatemp.net/threads/question-about-dumping-backup-games.558440/


    Anyway...

    0kb eboot = something went wrong.
    Over the BD size limit = something went wrong.

    Try dump it again.

    Which dumper are you using, from which host?
     
    Leeful likes this.
  11. Entonghibang

    Entonghibang Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    thank you for the reply, I'm using the latest hen with phwoar exploit using the split option dumper, then right now I just dumped a new game bloodborne with success but this time a manually put a CFG file on the root of usb. (the game bloodborne detailed that it has 30gb + size) the dump file was 31 gb plus something. this time i will dumped uncharted 4 again with a cfg file on the root of usb, then I'll update again. sorry for cross posting I will delete it. since you answered my question.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  12. Leeful

    OP Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Entonghibang Uncharted 4 cannot be dumped to a 64GB USB.
    The extracted files are 65.7BG so that is what the problem was.:)
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  13. Entonghibang

    Entonghibang Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    hey thanks for the reply, thats the answer to my question why I failed for the last time I dumped it. just now hehe. really appreciated your reply.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  14. johncroc

    johncroc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi there - not sure what I may be doing incorrectly but I am attempting to install via Sandisk Connect and getting stuck on the loading cache screen (the loading bar just continues to go - my highest was 1300% before cancelling). I copied the "files" folder, index.html, and offline.cache files to the root of the sandisk connect and am loading it by selecting the index.html file. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
     
    Leeful likes this.
  15. Leeful

    OP Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tested it on mine and it worked fine.
    Go to http://172.25.63.1/myconnect/index.html
    Do not click on the index.html from the sandisk menu. That is where you went wrong.:)

    The Sandisk Connect uses its own caching system and it will mess up if you do not enter the full address.
    Let me know if it works for you with http://172.25.63.1/myconnect/index.html
     
    Last edited by Leeful, Feb 23, 2020
  16. johncroc

    johncroc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    That worked brilliantly - thanks!
     
    Leeful likes this.
  17. arfgh

    arfgh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Armenia
    leeful, related to the cusa00001 pre-installed. You said that is in other partitions, i guess HDD partition ?
    anyways i had an idea that would be interesting if can be sone... delete cusa00001 and use that partitions space for other uses, like for example the payload storage, or other possible uses. Remember that is more than 512 MB... think about ?
     
  18. arfgh

    arfgh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Armenia
    ^^ also, there is a new ps4 hen 2.1.3 by sistr0
     
  19. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,588
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IIRC AlAzif did this as a POC but never released it. It’s an idea, but the cache is big enough to store payloads anyway.
     
  20. crono_

    crono_ Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Brazil
    @Leeful I would like to know if you can help me translate the USB file, the PC file I already translated and I would like to know if I can do this with it because when I open the file through NTP ++ it is unreadable

    follow my modified for you to take a look I hope you like it
    already with HEN 2.1.3 and REN 2.0


    gofile.io/?c=hs87Te
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [RELEASE], Firmware, Exploit