Homebrew [Release] PDSX - PS1/PSX BIOS pseudo-emulator for DS/DSi

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,925
Country
United States
3DS version here.

Ever wanted to run PS1 on your DS or DSi, but can't, due to it's impossibility to emulate?
Well no worries! I have made something that brings at least parts of the PS1 experience to the DS/DSi!

Introducing PDSX, the PS1 pseudo-emulator for the DS(i) that brings the PS1 BIOS to your DS(i)! :nds:

Download
Remember! This cannot run games, so you're only limited to the BIOS.

Controls
  • START: Start/Stop pseudo-emulation
  • SELECT: Swap screens between top and bottom
FAQs
  • Q: What's a pseudo-emulator?
    A: An app that gives the impression of it being an emulator, but actually isn't.
    In PDSX's case, it may look like it's emulating the BIOS of the PS1 on the DS or DSi console, but it's actually a near-faithful recreation/mimic of it, including the logo and menu screens (as you'll see in PDSX's source code).

  • Q: Is it normal that the Memory Card and CD Player menus cannot be accessed?
    A: Yes. Those are not implemented, and probably won't be, at least for the Memory Card menu.

  • Q: Will this ever run any games?
    A: No. To actually run games, you'll need to own a SuperCard DSTWO, and then follow this guide.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,

hobojoe551

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
53
Country
United States
Woah there.... I have a feeling this wont get too far, but it's still really cool. Is the DSi even powerful enough to emulate even the easiest games to emulate?
 

AL_16

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
229
Trophies
0
XP
576
Country
Ukraine
Is the DSi even powerful enough to emulate even the easiest games to emulate?
I don't think so...

The size of PS1 games is too large for DSi and its capabilities. GBA like PS1 32 bits, but different architecture, bios and so on. Especially since we all know how hard it is with GBA emulation, I'm afraid with Sony it would not be easier
 
Last edited by AL_16,
  • Like
Reactions: ChampionLeake

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,925
Country
United States
PDSX v0.2.0

What's new?
  • You can now access main menu!
    The "Memory Card" and "CD Player" options currently cannot be accessed.
  • You can select the order of screen modes:
    • SCE -> Playstation
    • SCE -> Main Menu
    • Playstation (like when you're launching a PS1 game on PS2)
Improvement
  • SCE logo fades-in slightly sooner, in order to keep up with the sync of the fanfare.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hm.. Would it be possible to emulate the Sony PocketStation sometime aswell!?
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,925
Country
United States
PDSX v0.3.0

What's new?
  • SCPH101 (PSone) BIOS added!
    Includes logos with registered symbol, and the gray-grid main menu with MemCard and CD icons.
  • After pressing START, a black screen is now shown for a second.
Bug fix
  • Added missing TM symbol to SCE logo of SCPH1001 BIOS.
FAQs have been added to the first post.
 

TinchoX

Azure Flame Kite
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
626
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
449
Country
Argentina
How nostalgic, the bios logo and music ... just like the old times!
I do wish I could play a few PSX games on my 3DS though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RocketRobz

eriol33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
1,122
Trophies
0
Location
Jakarta
XP
2,319
Country
Indonesia
A question to @Robz8, just by curiousity did you think to made a port of psx4all for scds2 ?

The result with Psx4all on DSTwo Linux Beta 1.0 is very intresting :

FFVII PS1 on DS Lite at 2:55


you can find a source code here : https://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/dingoo.cgi?0,0,0,0,46,556
this is the craziest thing I have ever seen for a while.

I remember my first pc was intel pentium 2, with 650 mhz clock, I used this emulator called connectix virtual game station to emulate psx game and somehow a lof of them ran in full speed (if I remember it right). I wonder if nds' processor is weaker than my old pc.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
@eriol33 If we only compare them with clock speed, the (old, regular) NDS has an ARM9 Processor (67 MHz) plus an ARM7 Processor (33 MHz).
In terms of Emulation of the first Playstation, your PC should perform much better than the Nintendo DS!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Moon164
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Psis bed sheets were black when he first got them