1. swit

    swit Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Poland
    from what I see I have both Logs directory and ScriptLog.txt (dummy empty file) set as "read only" which prevents vita from writing into that file. Setting it just for the file is likely enough, if vita ignores directory setting.

    Done on Windows 10 via Properties -> read only flag.
     
    Last edited by swit, Aug 12, 2020
    dragonz likes this.
  2. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    I'm glad you mentioned to include a dummy file for scriptlog.txt, my guess is that the game log being over 5 megs large would cripple vita openbor from launching. So, I'll edit the log and make it blank and try your method for sure.

    Thanks.


    Edit: Thank you, making that ScriptLog.txt (dummy empty file) set as "read only" worked like a charm.
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Aug 13, 2020
  3. magggas

    magggas Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Greece
    @dragonz Sure you can share your fixed for Vita version of the game.
    Now since i was here a small bonus for you about your spawn question:

    spawn barel
    flip 1
    coords 690 430
    at 200

    Let's first start with what the at(200) means. Let's say your level panel image is 1000x500 pixels. The at defines the exact position of the left side of your screen inside this 1000 pixes wide example stage. In other words, when the screen will move and its left side will reach the 200 pixels on your stage, then this is when the engine will spawn the given entity.

    Now this "{x} is relative to the screen's current position.." means that the coords x(690) is relative to at(200). So all together means, once the left side of your screen will reach the 200 pixels on your stage, then the engine will spawn the given entity +690 pixels further from the at 200. So the exact spawn position on your panel image will be 890 pixels (because of 200+690).

    Another thing is that you should be aware of the game's screen resolution too, so this way you can calculate how/if you spawn something offscreen or on screen. For example, my DD game has a screen resolution of 640x480. That means with coords 690 430 the entity will be spawned 50 pixels offscreen on the right side(690-640). You can also spawn things offscreen on the left side like this: coords -50 430.
     
    dragonz likes this.
  4. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you Magggas,

    This is the link for the Vita version of the game that includes the small fix to prevent the game crashing whenever you reached st3a.

    All Credit goes to Magggas for the best double dragon ever made.

    https://easyupload.io/b5al4h

    Magggas, thank you so much for your bonus answer - Ever since I started working on fixing the vita version - I continued to customize it a bit further by adding a new stage - and made some extra features like new moves and sfx for my personal use only. Please feel free to take a look at these videos I made so you can see some of the progress I've done. https://easyupload.io/m/o73xld

    This has brought such a joy to my life and I owe it all to you.


    Edit: Mirror link for DDRA Vita version 2020 https://easyupload.io/po03vx
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Sep 7, 2020
    Garcimak likes this.
  5. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Does this vita version of open bor support 2 players or is it only double dragon reloaded that I'm having issues with getting 2 players?

    The second controller wont let me choose a player

    EDIT: I Private message several users and they are all coming back
    letting me know that their Dual shock controller for port 2, 3, or 4 are not being recognized by openbor.

    Could we please get an update - Openbor is all about coop and beat em ups :)
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Sep 28, 2020
  6. Garcimak

    Garcimak Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thank you @rsn8887 for this cool app, nice to play on vita :wub:

    @dragonz you're right with the other Vita gamepad no recognized,
    i tried with a DS3 and DS4 on PSTV, both working altogether in Vita bubble area GUI. I can't get it to work under openbor.

    other bug while playing Magggas DDRA , some force quit with error dump during gameplay, seems random, not often but quite some.
    Vita openbor error-400.jpg
     
    Last edited by Garcimak, Sep 29, 2020
  7. rsn8887

    OP rsn8887 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    I am working on enabling other VitaTV controllers.
     
    dragonz likes this.
  8. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States

    YESsssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you, thank you.... guys this is huge.... openbor has exploded in the last few months with ground breaking new titles, like he man and final fight S and of course DDRA.

    Thank you @rsn8887 I won't forget this.

    Also, I will test the hell out of it, once You are done.

    Today is a great day for the vita guys.


    Edit. In case your openbor is taking forever to launch it could be that the script log needs to be deleted or just make it read only. ScriptLog.txt. like we've been doing all this time. :)

    I
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Sep 29, 2020
  9. rsn8887

    OP rsn8887 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    I made a build here that works with multiple players on my VitaTV:
    https://files.coolatoms.org/OpenBOR.vpk

    Please test and report! If it works, I will add it to the GitHub release downloads.
     
    Last edited by rsn8887, Sep 30, 2020
    Garcimak and dragonz like this.
  10. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Here's my initial report.

    2nd player works now!! I've yet to test player 3 and 4.

    Please see screen shot attached.

    Whenever I go to assign custom keys for game pad 2, the info on the right side of the screen is different than the actual keys that I assigned. For example I assigned "up" and the info says "down"

    Also, whenever I try to use the select button (share button on ds4) for game pad 2 it changes filters but this button can't be assigned or used for example as a screen shot option.

    Perhaps is best to just let the filters be selected from the games menu and not assigned to a button?

    Last but not least the emulator still has the scriptlog.txt issue that cripples openbor from launching games such as double dragon (which are larger size games) I think is best to disable the option to write logs for openbor vita since it's not optimized to generate large logs and besides it's not a game testing platform. And actually, you wont notice this the first time you launch the game the first time, it's the second time when players will notice that the emu hangs for mintues I'm talking like 8 minutes just to get to the game selction screen , then they must wait another 8 minutes to launch any game if the scriplog is over 3megs.

    Even if you go to the games and choose don't write log it will ignore your selection.

    Hence gba temp had to come up with the idea to make the scriptlog.txt read only so that openbor can't overwrite the 0kb scriptlog we created. ;)

    All in all the game pad for player 2 works and it's default button configuration depends on the game you launch which is good.

    I'm very happy with the progress done today.
    Thank you so much.


    EDIT: I've tested a 4 player game
    By changing controllers 1&2 to 3&4 and the game recognizes players 3&4. My guess is that this will acceptable.

    All, in all I say is good to put in github for now, but if you could find a way to permanently disable script logs from writing themselves automatically this would allow people to have a fully functional experience when replaying games and not have to wait 10 minutes to launch some of the heavier titles that are also very popular.

    :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by dragonz, Sep 30, 2020
    Lineacero likes this.
  11. rsn8887

    OP rsn8887 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the report, I will work on disabling script logs and fixing player button menu now. I will disable select button as shader change for player two, three and four.
     
    Last edited by rsn8887, Sep 30, 2020
    dragonz and Lineacero like this.
  12. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Truly awesome!
    Please keep us posted @rsn8887
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Oct 1, 2020
    Lineacero likes this.
  13. Lineacero

    Lineacero GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Spain
    dragonz likes this.
  14. rsn8887

    OP rsn8887 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I made a new version, this should have the fixes you requested:
    https://files.coolatoms.org/OpenBOR.vpk

    (same linke as before, new file)

    I disabled select button shader change for all players, since it can be adjusted in the video options anyways.
    I disabled that logging.
    I fixed the controls menu to show correct button names for player 2 3 and 4 etc.
     
    Garcimak and dragonz like this.
  15. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Great!!! & Thank you! :grog:
    I will be testing this tonight and report back ASAP.
     
  16. leon315

    leon315 POWERLIFTER
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3,484
    Country:
    Italy
    Guys, need helps: where to get .pak files??
     
  17. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States

    I got a whole bunch of paks from archive.org
    Once I get on my laptop I'll send you the bookmark link. If by some rare chance I don't have it head on over to chrono crash (openbor forum) and check out their selection there.

    Last but not least, please come back and let me know how the latest version ran your paks. Note: not all will be compatible, but I was able to run the majority of them.

    Edit: oh in case you haven't checked this awesome by @magggas

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-rel...-alternate-version-vita-fix-full-game.573296/
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Oct 2, 2020
  18. NomadoP

    NomadoP Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    This is amazing thank you
     
    dragonz likes this.
  19. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States

    Okay, here's my initial report .

    Please see attached photo,
    All game pad input keys show their corresponding symbol except square (there is no symbol) and triangle simply shows this symbol /

    Perhaps it would be cool to have this symbol as square □ or [ ] and for triangle, maybe /\ ?

    Unnecessary Log files are no longer stored and are gone for good.

    And all 4 game pads are still working fine.

    It might just be me , but now thanks to file log not constantly running in the background I feel like the performance improves a bit when running heavier titles.

    All in all good job this is definitely a great update and many people will enjoy countless of hours of some of the best beat em ups in vita.

    Thank you @rsn8887
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by dragonz, Oct 2, 2020
    rsn8887 likes this.
  20. rsn8887

    OP rsn8887 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the new report. Here's a new version with button labels hopefully fixed:
    https://files.coolatoms.org/OpenBOR.vpk

    I couldn't find the symbols in the font, so I just used words "Cross", "Circle", "Square", and "Triangle". I mean why not.
     
    Last edited by rsn8887, Oct 2, 2020
    dragonz likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Cpasjuste, OpenBOR