ROM Hack [Release] Monster Hunter Double Cross - Full English Translation Patch

Ender3Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
174
Country
Canada
Credit goes to Crosshex and Team Dasding for this amazing patch.

This is a continuation of Dasding's UI translation patch for MHXX by Crosshex. However, Crosshex seems to be long gone, and the patch he created is now almost impossible to find.
So I took it upon myself to re-release it, with the goal of finishing the few untranslated areas.

Project Status:
Almost everything in-game is translated. This includes NPC dialogue.
To do:
  • Find and replace Crosshex's font with the one used in Dasding's original patch
  • Translate training quests
  • Find a way to translate monster cutscene titles (this may not be possible)
  • Re-work patch method to RomFS decompilation
Installation:
Required items:
  • A decrypted MHXX V1.4 update CIA with Dasding's V5 UI patch embedded.
  • The latest release of this patch.
  • The latest release of Beat.
Install procedure:
  • Launch Beat from wherever you extracted it to.
  • Click on 'apply patch'.
  • Select the downloaded .bps file
  • Select the MHXX .cia
  • Specify the name and location of the new .cia to be created.
  • Sit back and relax as Beat builds your new .cia!
FAQ
  • Why don't you support patching vanilla update .cia files?
Vanilla updates are near impossible to find; I spent over two days looking for one. It makes more sense to create a patch for the most commonly available file.
  • When will you finish the translation?
I have no idea. I have very limited knowledge of Japanese, and as such this will be quite a chore.
  • Is Luma3DS .Bps patching supported?
Personally, I had no luck with this. So no.
 
Last edited by Ender3Guy,

masskiss

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
61
Country
United States
Woah. I was lurking around, and I stumbled upon that one ambitious thread where the guy claimed they were trying to translate everything in the game. Few years later and no release, I almost laughed. I dunno if they released some translation at some point, but right now there's nothing on the thread. And then I stumbled onto this thread, posted yesterday with no replies. Maybe people already lost interest in the game? Me on the other hand is very excited. I'm rooting for you! Going to try to make this work on mine, we'll see.
 

Vulpes-Vulpeos

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
175
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Украина
Website
Vulpes-Vulpeos.deviantart.com
XP
1,672
Country
Ukraine
Hello, I'm working on Russian translation of Monster Hunter XX.
If you want to translate keyboard, you'll need to hex-edit "swkbd_JP_Japanese.70C56D5E" file from swkbd.arc (system -> swkbd -> message) from main game .cia file. Also you can edit keyboard layout there. I tried to inject keyboard from generations, but it didn't work. So I had to transform Japanese keyboard into Russian XD
2660, 2670 - ok button text
2B30 - cancel button text
9632, 10944, 12144, 12160 - space button text
3870, 4304, 3404 - backspace button text

It's not difficult to edit the game font. It is stored in resident.arc (GUI -> 02_common -> font).
font_festa.gfd - font file. It's not difficult to change symbols sizes with hex editor.
font_festa_00_AM_NOMIP.tex - contains font texture. Kukki can open it and export/import png.

DLC quests are stored in the save file. If you open save file in hex editor you'll see that there are .arc files there. Save .arc part into new file and open it with Karameru. Also you'll need utility to open and edit .gmd files.

Let me know if you find how to translate monster cutscenes. I didn't find anything yet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hunter-Peace

SoulChaserZX

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Not in Buenos Aires
XP
89
Country
Argentina
That´s great news and all, but i just wondering if i apply this new patch in my 3ds, will i be able to keep all my stuff that i got? Cause i dont wanna miss the dlc armors/weapon that i got. Btw my game is .cia that is already installed in my 3ds thanks to fbi. Thanks!
 

Ender3Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
174
Country
Canada
That´s great news and all, but i just wondering if i apply this new patch in my 3ds, will i be able to keep all my stuff that i got? Cause i dont wanna miss the dlc armors/weapon that i got. Btw my game is .cia that is already installed in my 3ds thanks to fbi. Thanks!

If you've already installed an update CIA, you can go ahead and remove it, then re-install it once it is patched. The base game's install files don't need to be touched, and save data will not be affected.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SoulChaserZX

kforever

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
31
Country
United States
This is awesome! I tested it out on my phone and it works flawlessly. I'll be able to do some Guild HR on my lunch breaks now. :ha:

Don't know if it was just my PC, but FYI for anybody when using Beat: patching the update CIA will throw an error message that it failed— install it anyways. It works just fine.

Looking forward to the completion of this patch! Your efforts are much appreciated. :)
 
Last edited by kforever,

Eliot15

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
174
Country
Philippines
This is awesome! I tested it out on my phone and it works flawlessly. I'll be able to do some Guild HR on my lunch breaks now. :ha:

Don't know if it was just my PC, but FYI for anybody when using Beat: patching the update CIA will throw an error message that it failed— install it anyways. It works just fine.

Looking forward to the completion of this patch! Your efforts are much appreciated. :)
cant install the fail file it has no file format not cia
 

Dude98

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
75
Country
Canada
Did you put .cia on the end of it? it makes it a file with no extension unless you do.

Edit: Nevermind, it still doesn't make it a CIA correctly.
2nd Edit: Yeah, nothing i've tried has made it work, every time i try to install it, it either is a broken cia file, or if i try remote install it says "cert failed." after i installed the 1.4 english v5 update, then re dumped it from my 3ds, i tried to patch it instead, but still no luck.
3rd Edit: Trying to use luma3ds's bps patching doesn't work either, is there a way to get the files in a way that we can put into luma3ds's custom files folder? it'd be easier than trying to fiddle with a patch file that doesn't really want to work.
 
Last edited by Dude98,

Eliot15

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
174
Country
Philippines
Did you put .cia on the end of it? it makes it a file with no extension unless you do.

Edit: Nevermind, it still doesn't make it a CIA correctly.
2nd Edit: Yeah, nothing i've tried has made it work, every time i try to install it, it either is a broken cia file, or if i try remote install it says "cert failed." after i installed the 1.4 english v5 update, then re dumped it from my 3ds, i tried to patch it instead, but still no luck.
3rd Edit: Trying to use luma3ds's bps patching doesn't work either, is there a way to get the files in a way that we can put into luma3ds's custom files folder? it'd be easier than trying to fiddle with a patch file that doesn't really want to work.
are you using a decrypt update? i think that is the problemi give up on finding the decrypt updatei will stick on lower vertion of the patch since i cant get help on finding what i need
 

Dude98

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
75
Country
Canada
the update file i have is decrypted, if i try to decrypt it myself with my 3ds, it says it's decrypted already. i'm using the update file from the UI Patch thread.
I just spent a good amount of time messing around to fix this, I even CTRtransferred my 3DS to download the update, and messed around trying to rebuild the CIA, only to realize the issue is that the CIA floating around on the internet/in this thread (MHXX1.4englishV5.cia) just lost the minor version number when being rebuilt. I never figured out how to rebuild the cia properly, but just fixing the already patched cia was pretty easy.
Code:
ctrtool --contents=contents MHXX1.4englishV5.cia
makerom -f cia -o game.cia -minor 8 -content contents.0000.00000000:0:5 -content contents.0001.00000001:1:1

Anyway, a year later, here is the fixed cia, and also the unmodified update I CTRtransferred to dump.
(can't post hyperlinks yet, even in a quote as i haven't done much on this site)
it always fails the patch, and gets cert failed when i try to install it. if we had access to the full files that get modded, we could patch them in ourselves using luma3ds's game patching. but other than that, we've got nothing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Eliot15

Dude98

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
75
Country
Canada
well, i found something, i have no idea if i'm allowed to share it here because it's a cia file, but it does have english text for dialogue. i installed it on my 3ds and i can read what they're saying now, so i know it worked.
Edit: Hold on, the one i found is Crosshex's patch, the one that's almost impossible to find.
Edit 2: i'm gonna put the link in, if it's not allowed, oh well, it was actually kinda easy to find since i found a youtube video that linked to a version up on mega. https://mega.nz/file/DOYHEKYB#fhGnXy1FeM7nEcqZ1ng8n0YnR3MtUZHjv0Lwy-q_N1U
 
Last edited by Dude98,
  • Like
Reactions: Nach18 and Eliot15

Crosshex

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
487
Country
United States
Find and replace Crosshex's font with the one used in Dasding's original patch
Generations/GU increased the size of text boxes, reverting the font will make many texts overflow. Dasding's font has the advantage of being able to display special characters, they specifically modified the font sheet to achieve that. However, I didn't have the skills to do that.
Find a way to translate monster cutscene titles (this may not be possible)
It is possible, mikewii7 was able to do it.

From your install instructions I gather that you're suggesting users to override the original Dasding's patch with mine. I would not recommend that, as there will be conflicts.

I apologize for not being able to deliver a complete English patch, at the last 10% I hit many roadblocks from where I was unable to progress. It's unlikely that I'll return to XX to finish the patch, as GU emulation is at the point where I'm fine playing it on yuzu instead. Originally I didn't even intend to release the patch to the public.
 
  • Like
Reactions: chaos_envoys

chaos_envoys

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2015
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
618
Country
Indonesia
.... Originally I didn't even intend to release the patch to the public.

Thank you so much for your patch, seeing cat's dialogue in battle is really good, the untranslated part is just the monster cutscene and DLC quests but it wasnt really needed.. cant say thank you enough for you and Dasding for the patch
 

Ender3Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
174
Country
Canada
Generations/GU increased the size of text boxes, reverting the font will make many texts overflow. Dasding's font has the advantage of being able to display special characters, they specifically modified the font sheet to achieve that. However, I didn't have the skills to do that.

It is possible, mikewii7 was able to do it.

From your install instructions I gather that you're suggesting users to override the original Dasding's patch with mine. I would not recommend that, as there will be conflicts.

I apologize for not being able to deliver a complete English patch, at the last 10% I hit many roadblocks from where I was unable to progress. It's unlikely that I'll return to XX to finish the patch, as GU emulation is at the point where I'm fine playing it on yuzu instead. Originally I didn't even intend to release the patch to the public.

Wow, I'm honored that you seem to have created an account to post this.
No apology is necessary; I'm just astounded at and very appreciative of the work you've done on XX as it is.

I know this is asking a lot, but I'd appreciate a list of any files you altered within XX - this would let me build a patch tool much faster, since I wouldn't have to sort this out myself.

well, i found something, i have no idea if i'm allowed to share it here because it's a cia file, but it does have english text for dialogue. i installed it on my 3ds and i can read what they're saying now, so i know it worked.
Edit: Hold on, the one i found is Crosshex's patch, the one that's almost impossible to find.
Edit 2: i'm gonna put the link in, if it's not allowed, oh well, it was actually kinda easy to find since i found a youtube video that linked to a version up on mega. https://mega.nz/file/DOYHEKYB#fhGnXy1FeM7nEcqZ1ng8n0YnR3MtUZHjv0Lwy-q_N1U

I think this is technically not allowed since it includes the patch in addition to the translation. I'm not about to report you though.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Can you share details about it? I'm working on Russian translation and this is the only thing I don't know how to translate.
DLC quests are stored in save file (ext data) in .arc files, so I can translate them.

I'm going to get in touch with him myself shortly. I'll let you know what he says.
 

Crosshex

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
487
Country
United States
Wow, I'm honored that you seem to have created an account to post this.
No apology is necessary; I'm just astounded at and very appreciative of the work you've done on XX as it is.

I know this is asking a lot, but I'd appreciate a list of any files you altered within XX - this would let me build a patch tool much faster, since I wouldn't have to sort this out myself.
I contacted you on reddit. Can't PM you here due to low posts so I'll share it there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: havocdrake

neca

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
66
Country
Mexico
I haven't been able to patch it, the program says "Failed to patch". How can I know if I have a decrypted cia for the update?
 
Last edited by neca,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: