[Release]JK's SaveManager - Homebrew CIA Save manager.

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by JK_, Feb 1, 2016.

Feb 1, 2016
  1. Rhapsody

    Member Rhapsody GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    That seems to have done it. I was able to successfully export a save and I'm about to try importing the one I got from svdt on my other device. Perhaps adding a message regarding this when that error comes up would be a good idea?
     


  2. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    Haven't tried specifically for MH4U yet but it works for all games I've tried it with. I'm gonna install MH4U on my O3DS now and I'll try it, give me a few!

    Edit: I'm an idiot.
     
    Last edited by Shadowfied, Feb 1, 2016
  3. GoldenHamburger

    Newcomer GoldenHamburger Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    How do I go about doing it? I only have a .sav, nothing extracted.
     
  4. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh, right..just the .sav...my bad :| Sorry if I got your hopes up..
    If it was from the same system you could make it work but from another system as far as I know it's impossible cause it's encrypted and locked to the hardware of your other system. Can you no longer access it?
     
    Last edited by Shadowfied, Feb 1, 2016
  5. Rhapsody

    Member Rhapsody GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    So this is interesting. I imported my saves successfully, but instead of them appearing in the game, there was none. Here's what I've noticed, though, and this might be relevant to further improve the application;

    1. Stella Glow has three save files, even though it has two save slots; SaveData0.sav for the first save file, SaveData01.sav for the second, and SaveData02.sav for the suspend save (which you can do at any point in battle).
    2. Upon importing all three save files, SaveData02.sav is the only one that was on the game I was importing to at the time, since I didn't have any other save files.
    3. The suspend save is the only one that appears to have successfully imported; the first two saves don't appear in their respective slots, but the suspend save works fine.

    As a result, it seems that, if this isn't the fault of the game itself, the application only overwrites the save data if the file already exists, and it doesn't add it in the situation that it doesn't exist. I'm not sure if svdt behaves the same way, but I intend to check. Regardless, this is a minor issue, but an annoyance nonetheless.
     
  6. sonicrings

    Member sonicrings GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Johto
    Country:
    Canada
    This is amazing. So essentially it's like DSTWO's save slots? Where you can have slot 0, 1, 2, and 3 and each slot represents a unique save file separate from the others? If so... THANK YOU
     
    Shadowfied likes this.
  7. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yup!
     
    sonicrings likes this.
  8. sonicrings

    Member sonicrings GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Johto
    Country:
    Canada
    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
    *jumps up and down like an anime schoolgirl*

    Is there a limit to how many slots we can have per game, or how many games we can have a slot/slots for?
     
    Shadowfied likes this.
  9. Rhapsody

    Member Rhapsody GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    After testing it, I've confirmed my theory; this application only adds/overwrites files that already exist in the save data directory, while svdt imports all files you selected into the game's save data. This is, again, a minor issue, but an annoyance for some people.
     
  10. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    Pretty sure there are no limits, each "slot" is just a folder that the app makes on the SD card, so I can't see why there would be any such limits. I'm gonna say no, will try to create 20 soon, just to check.
    You can even name your slots by the way :D
     
  11. Xen0

    Member Xen0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    Germany
    First of all well done :)
    In the sd/cia menu Fire Emblem If (Special Edition) is named with strange characters. And after exporting the save, on my SD Card the folder is named "↑ᄎ¢)�_ᄊ￙ᄍ￈" and I´m unable to open it. Any idea?
     
  12. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    That sucks, but that is a hilarious name.
     
  13. DKB

    Member DKB yo my homeboy i dont think that was weed

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    watching hentai of ponies
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't the game japanese still, so..I assume the save file is in Japanese and program does not support that?
     
  14. sonicrings

    Member sonicrings GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Johto
    Country:
    Canada
    You can name them, too?? Aw hell yeah! Now all we need is to make this save slot feature replace the "back-up save data" option when you tap the right (left?) arrow icon at the bottom of the screen (beside "Open") when a digital game is highlighted.
     
  15. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    That's correct. I think that's a limitation of ctrulib and not JKSV but not sure about that.
     
    DKB likes this.
  16. Xen0

    Member Xen0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    Germany
    Might be the case, but rhythm paradise isn't displayed at all
     
  17. DarK_DragoN

    Newcomer DarK_DragoN Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Portugal
    I can confirm that it only replaces already existing saves. It doesn't seem to be able to add new ones like sdvt.
     
  18. cvskid

    Member cvskid GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,907
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried this with sonic generations using gateway 3ds. I go into the program and it shows up but when i click on cartridge it says the cart id and the title but then it says this, "Opening Save Arch... Uh oh." then nothing happens. This is because i am using a card 1 type game that has it's save file seperate from the game itself?
     
  19. YyAoMmIi

    Member YyAoMmIi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    666
    Country:
    United States
    Good job going from request to release.
    Too bad you miss the opportunity to have a unique name for your app.

    I think that a point.
    It supposted to be a mixed between SDVT and SM since SDVT becomes a cluster after a number of saves, of which you don't use aymore.
     
    Last edited by YyAoMmIi, Feb 1, 2016
  20. Shadowfied

    Member Shadowfied GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Sweden
    Have you started the game once and let it create a save?
     

Share This Page