1. nl255

    nl255 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,902
    Country:
    I have noticed that sometimes a patched demo will stop having unlimited uses and revert to whatever it was before. The only way I can fix is to keep reinstalling it which is very annoying. Is there any way to prevent that from happening?
     
  2. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    i noticed that too with something when i was testing around when i first made the patch... weird. i have no idea why it happens, i didn't test enough to find out.
    the other way to remove the play limit in the game is to decrypt it and edit a file, the exheader i believe.
    or, edit the nand save file where your current play count is stored - i forget if i succeeded in that... i think i did :)

    but for most people, installing demos is a minor thing, why not install the full game if you can install the demo via hacks?
     
  3. nl255

    nl255 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,902
    Country:
    Because some demos give you bonuses in the full game if you complete them. The demo in question is Bravely Default as the other two (MH4 and Pokemon ORAS didn't have a limit, at least the .cia versions I redownloaded via funkycia didn't).
     
  4. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    how will bonus items affect it? the demo this happened to me was not bravely default. i forget which one though
     
  5. nl255

    nl255 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,902
    Country:
    The bonus items are the reason for installing the patched demo even though i can just install the full game (which i have already done)
     
  6. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    i mean, i don't think having bonus items is the reason the play limit gets reset. maybe though, but i think it's a coincidence
     
  7. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,418
    Country:
    Belgium
    @cearp

    So i noticed something about the latest Pokémon games (red/blue/yellow)
    - There regionfree (US/EU have at least the same TitleID and game serial
    - After installing the US versions on my EU 3DS and then going to the eShop to fix the download and checked i could play them, i wiped the games with Devmenu
    - Going back into the eShop i don't see the games listed as redownloadable, but just like the Legit cia's search the game and it says redownload instead of buy.

    Could it be that the eShop versions are the same as the pre-installed versions and miss the console specific identifier a normal eShop game has?
    I know a non legit cia, once installed and removed, you can't even redownload, only possible with a legit cia.
     
  8. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    @DjoeN no I think non legit stuff you can redownload, but the problem is that it is a bad idea because if the cia was not made with FunkyCIA then the title key will be incorrect because the contents were decrypted and somupon redownloading it will not install because the cdn files cant be decrypted.
    but, it is always possible to redownload, at least attempt it, as long as you have the ticket.
    i doubt the normal eshop purchase gives you a universal ticket :)

    and yes, i didnt think it would be the case, i assumed a different title id, but if the eur and usa title id is the same, sure it makes sense that it works fine for you :)
     
  9. ootnes2

    ootnes2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way to force funkycia to either choose a different duplicate ticket to ignore or to turn off the duplicate ticket function entirely? I think a duplicate ticket for dlc is causing funkycia to use the older version of the eshop ticket from sysnand, rather than the newer version of the eshop ticket created by emunand.
     
  10. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    it should choose the most recent ticket if you have duplicates.
    but why do you think this is a problem?
    older version of eshop tickets, this is bad? you can use an old ticket, it's ok.
     
  11. ootnes2

    ootnes2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    The issue I am having is that the older version is not capturing all of the dlc I bought (using the nopatchdlc flag), rather it is only capturing the dlc purchased before emunand was created.
     
  12. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    well the dlc list is stored in the tmd that is fetched from nintendo, many people have gotten new dlc using an old ticket. each time you run FunkyCIA you get the newset tmd.
    I'm not sure if this is your problem, or what is.
    what game is it?
     
  13. ootnes2

    ootnes2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting, that shouldn't be a problem then. The game is Fire Emblem Awakening. So nopatchdlc checks the tmd list to see what I have purchased?
     
    cearp likes this.
  14. misterb98

    misterb98 Moral Gateway User. Wat.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    I can tell you it isn't a game issue, as Fire Emblem Awakening works with nopatchdlc. Cearp added the feature when I asked for it (Thanks for that btw ^^) around when this came out so I can confirm it works.
     
    cearp likes this.
  15. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    it doesn't check, I don't know how to interpret the values lol, it just maxes it out and unlocks it all. that is done in the ticket. the tmd is read when actually downloading the dlc. only this game has a problem? usa game and console?
     
  16. ootnes2

    ootnes2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    Usa game and region changed console (dlc purchased on us console). Without nopatchdlc everything is downloaded and available to play, with nopatchdlc everything appears to be downloaded but only the old sysnand dlc is available to play.
     
  17. misterb98

    misterb98 Moral Gateway User. Wat.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Now that I think about it I do remember having issues with nopatchdlc cias being functional on an out-of-region system. I'm not sure if that was ever fixed or not.
     
  18. ootnes2

    ootnes2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    That shouldn't be an issue since the emunand is region changed to us region.
     
  19. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,175
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    region changed console... interesting.
    i asked because, on my jp console, i have eur awakening.
    i installed the eur dlc... but it didn't show up...
    until i used gw to spoof the console region to english. (lucky guess)
    and the dlc showed up :) after that the dlc was always there, no spoof needed.

    if you have gw try that, or ntr's spoofer.
    it should work.
     
  20. Giodude

    Giodude GBAtemp's official rock
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    5,088
    Country:
    United States
    sooooo......... i have no idea how to use this. How would i dump my eshop games on reinand?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], FunkyCIA2, content