1. rad3ds

    rad3ds GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much for working on this!
     
  2. suloku

    suloku GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Country:
    I think all my tests where with Yoshi's Island, EUR version, but I'm not sure right now about comparing the patching. I don't have access to my computer right now, so I can't really test again since my binay comparision tools are detected as virus in this computer and I don't have admin rights to disable/ignore it. I'll look for another one that isn't detected as virus.

    About the saver: the name I was using is this "0624 - Yoshi's Island - Super Mario Advance 3 (E)(Menace)", so the filename limit isn't at play.
    I tested a 128kB file and saving and loading worked fine, but the file kept being 128kB size, so ezIV 1.72 writes to the file directly, overwriting its contents, that's why a 0 byte file will corrupt the card: the eziv will writte outside the allocated space for the file.

    So, what I'm thinking is to have a dummy file with a magic header at after each of the savegames, something like "IFICANREADTHISTHESAVEHASFINISHED", then the tool loads a savegame, checks for that header after each of the known savesizes and when it finds it the file is trimmed down to the real savesize. Put that program and a batch file on the saver folder and run it whenever you need to get the saves out of the ezIV to get correct sized saves.

    It's a 2 step solution, but ensures always having the correct filesize for the save, and the games seem to work fine with 128kB saves even if they aren't supposed to have that size (I guess they just access the needed addresses in SRAM, then ezIV just dumps/restores it all?)

    EDIT: this is strange, I tried a 1 byte file and it got correctly written and resized to the needed savesize. I'll check a 0 byte file again :S

    EDIT2: a 0 byte file corrupted the card, so the trick is to use a blank 1 byte file.

    EDIT 3: after cheking the readme, the one with patching differences might have been mother 3 (I read the game had problems running and was testing if it ran OK), but the save seemed to work (unless the correct save size isn't 64kB)
     
    Last edited by suloku, Aug 31, 2015
  3. foobar_

    OP foobar_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Magic string in dummy file sounds like a great idea.
    If a one-byte dummy prevents corruption, I'm wondering if I actually used echo > save.sav instead of touch during my testing; I'll give this a try sometime.
     
  4. suloku

    suloku GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Country:
    That would in fact produce a 21 byte savefile (at least in my system) which would serve the same purpose, since all of it would be overwritten and resized to correct filesize.

    Here's the batch for standard ezIV patching and auto creating these save files, given the SAVER folder and a dumy.sav (1 byte) are present:

    Code:
    for /r %%v in (*.gba) do  (
    ezgba-cli.exe -i "%%v" --in-place
    copy "dummy.sav" "SAVER\%%~nv.sav"
    )
    
    I attached the batch and the dummy.sav file for those who don't know how to make them.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by suloku, Aug 31, 2015
  5. foobar_

    OP foobar_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Good stuff, linked to it in first post.
    I'm always using MSYS2 though. I can't stand cmd.exe. Every time I have to use it, I feel my brain cells committing suicide one by one.
     
  6. dragongc

    dragongc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    this is awesome! I'm looking forward to trying this.

    any reason for not using github for development? would be interesting to see the changes you make to fix certain bugs or to add features.
     
  7. wally86

    wally86 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    is there anyway you could port this to android?
     
  8. kenjamin

    kenjamin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this! Very timely release. Just got my EZ Flash IV after a bout of nostalgia and buying a GBA SP on a whim. Very glad I can use my macbook for this. Worked great @foobar_
     
  9. http://filetrip.net/gba-downloads/tools-utilities/download-kuwangers-sleephack-1-0-f33302.html

    Kuwanger's sleephack (modification of Dwedit's) which adds soft-reset functionality along with sleep mode.
    I haven't really run into any problems using this patch.

    ezgba + this sleephack is probably everything you could need for EZFlash 4.
     
    suloku likes this.
  10. dashkiller

    dashkiller Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    Swaziland
    Thank you! Recently got a GBA SP 101 and now a EZ IV MicroSD, without this tool I would be lost :sp: :bow:
     
  11. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,949
    Country:
    United States
    I only just heard this existed.

    However, when I try to run it, even after installing the GTK (x86) runtime, all I get is this stupid error box. http://ctrlv.in/653562 Need I remind, this is AFTER installing the GTK runtime as directed, so I don't know what the crap it's whining about.

    Please tell me how I can fix this.
     
  12. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,219
    Country:
    Germany
    have you installed the correct version for your OS? Did you download the 32 or 64 bit version of the gtkd runtime?
    Also, did you check the "add gtk to system path"? That's important. Also, make sure to installl It as administrator.
     
  13. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,949
    Country:
    United States
    The instructions said "install 32-bit regardless". I'm running 64-bit Windows 7.

    I did select to add gtk to system path. And I am the only user, so it's gotta be administrator. Further, it refused to download at all on SRWare Iron (fork of Chrome). I had to get it with Firefox.

    Update... went and installed the 64-bit runtime, and now the GUI one starts. By chance, is it possible to batch process with the GUI version?

    So I guess I need to batch the sleephack, and with this app. At least if it keeps the original filenames, I shoudln't have a problem with files trying to overwrite each other, like I did with the original EZclient and the different regional versions of Pokemon.

    Problem is, I really hate the command line,a nd I don't know how to bunch everything together so that it will actually do all of the files in a directory. Help!
     
    Last edited by codezer0, Oct 18, 2015
  14. suloku

    suloku GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Country:
    You have already made batch files in the first post.
     
  15. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,949
    Country:
    United States
    Huh? Where? all I see it go is link to another post with some scripting, but I don't know where or how to enter that in Windows' command line thing to be able to output it.

    Also, between kuwanger's sleephack version and ezgba, which should I apply first?
     
    Last edited by codezer0, Oct 18, 2015
  16. tRiBaLmUnKy

    tRiBaLmUnKy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, Chrome claimed this as malicious and blocked the download...
     
  17. tvoretz

    tvoretz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Did you uncheck "Use our download manager and get recommended downloads" before hitting the download button? If not, there's the problem. (Never mind that there a million and seven more reputable file sharing services than the one foobar's using...)
     
  18. tRiBaLmUnKy

    tRiBaLmUnKy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, I unchecked it as the OP says.

    Edit: Well I tried it again, did nothing different and this time Chrome didn't complain. No idea why it worked now.
     
    Last edited by tRiBaLmUnKy, Oct 19, 2015
  19. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,949
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to say, but command line stuff is my absolute weakest point admittedly, if only because I just have an irritation toward it. I never liked the DOS era of PC's, if that is any indication.

    Further, is there a recommended order to applying sleephack and ezgba? Using so far with kuwanger's sleephack + ezgba, I am finding neither Mario Kart Advance (J) nor (U) will even start up. Would it be recommended to try the patched roms in VBA first before applying them to the SD? because I need a faster way of testing and doing this. :wacko:
     
  20. foobar_

    OP foobar_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I've never had any problems getting Mario Kart to run, though I don't use sleephack. Can you try the Mario Kart ROM from the No-Intro romset?
    Sleephack causes problems with some games. Could be that Mario Kart is just one of them.
    I haven't read kuwanger's source code so I couldn't tell you for sure, but theoretically, SRAM patching should be done before sleephack.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - compatible, [RELEASE], patcher