Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    CIATest by legofan623
    My 1st homebrew app WOOT WOOT


    Not 100% n3DS compatible

    This app is aimed at the padawans (noobs) of our community, so they can learn if .cia files are installable on their system or not. Eventually I hope that this app can be widely spread around (or even integrated into the homebrew starter pack) so that we can rid the forums of "halp me do cia on 10.1" threads. Also it's not compatible with citra for obvious reasons, so don't bother trying.

    EXTRACT THE FOLDER TO "SD:/3ds/"


    Features:
    Idiot-proof GUI
    Auto-detect kernel version
    Bootable and accurate on all 3DS versions, as long is homebrew is supported
    .3dsx format

    This app uses Rinnegatamante's LPP3DS Lua interpreter. The binary executable is 100% his work, I just wrote the Lua script and made the UI.

    PLEASE tell me if something isn't right or broken. You can find the source code in "/ciatest/index.lua".
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by legofan623, Oct 9, 2015
    samiam144, I pwned U!, 730 and 12 others like this.
  2. Tjessx

    Tjessx GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,160
    Country:
    Belgium
    Haha, this is a nice idea.
    I will try in a minute
     
    Margen67 and legofan623 like this.
  3. JJTapia19

    JJTapia19 I fight for my friends.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,169
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    It should be bundled with smealum's starter pack! Great app!
     
    Bubsy Bobcat, Margen67 and 4ur0r like this.
  4. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! That's what I'm hoping for :).
     
    Margen67 and Deleted User like this.
  5. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Assuming we just drag and drop the folder into /3ds on the SD, it just gives me a black screen when launched from the Homebrew Launcher.

    9.0.0-20U N3DS, so no emunand trickery going on here
    Themehax 1.3 booting into the Homebrew Launcher (official build, not any of the fan mods)

    Does the index.lua file need to be on the root of the SD or something, like some of these lua homebrew apps?
     
  6. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah try putting the assets folder and index.lua at the root. I don't have a n3DS to try it on so I'm not sure if it's compatible.
     
  7. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hm..no dice. I'll try using it from browserHax/other hax.
     
  8. the assaf

    the assaf GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    Please add "is a [enter name here] emulator possible for 3ds?" Feature.
     
  9. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, great idea. Might add it in as an easter egg sometime.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  10. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I think it's an issue with LPP in general, I can't seem to get any 3dsx versions of lua homebrews working with *hax. Very odd.
     
    DarkRioru likes this.
  11. TamDanny

    TamDanny GBATemp 3DS Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    Mexico
    Even though I'm pretty much a noob CIA's and stuff like that, I never bothered asking this overused question, & I'm pretty sure my system is incompatible with these kinds of things (10.1 o3DS, if you're wondering), I'm still gonna try this out. Thanks for the app! :D
     
  12. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    No problem! And thanks for not spamming the forums :yaynds:.
     
  13. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,034
    Country:
    Norway
    Nice idea but it will become outdated as soon as a kernel exploit is released for newer firmwares (if ever) :P
     
  14. keanutah

    keanutah GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    United States
    This is a great idea!

    On my 10.1 n3ds Lua homebrew works fine with the folder in /3ds. Haven't tried this yet though. Maybe an issue with 9.0.0? Might be worth talking with @Rinnegatamante if you've noticed this happening with multiple Lua projects.
     
    Last edited by keanutah, Oct 8, 2015
    legofan623 likes this.
  15. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    I can just update it when one does. It wont exactly be a chore, seeing as how often kernel hacks come out nowadays.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  16. Arseface_TM

    Arseface_TM Board Game Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 9.9 how do I install this as .cia HA
     
  17. legofan623
    This message by legofan623 has been removed from public view by Sicklyboy, Oct 9, 2015, Reason: Epic may-may, bro!.
    Oct 8, 2015
  18. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,152
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    So this app tells me if I'm running 9.2 or less.
    System Settings can do that too.
     
    VegaRoXas likes this.
  19. The_Meistro

    The_Meistro GBATemp's "Official" Hank Hill
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    Could you compile this in a .cia please? I really want to know if cias are possible! But i only have RXTools and no HBL
     
  20. TamDanny

    TamDanny GBATemp 3DS Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    Mexico
    I'm actually hoping this thread doesn't bombed by noob jokes or literally noob questions. XD
     
  21. legofan623

    OP legofan623 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but the noobs don't make the connection between system settings and .cia compatibility.

    God dammit
     
    VegaRoXas, Margen67 and Ridge like this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], CIATest, Another

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.