Homebrew [Release] 3DSident

What version do you use?

  • Original

    Votes: 3 33.3%
  • GUI

    Votes: 6 66.7%

  • Total voters
    9
  • Poll closed .

twin snakes

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
591
Country
Sorry for bumping this thread
I have a question regarding panel reading
First I have a new 3ds xl, called A, which has a Top TN and bottom IPS. Panels report just fine
Then I have a B one, which top IPS, bottom TN. Report ok too
After swap the panel, obviously B got dual IPS and A with dual TN
A got the report correct
But B got Top IPS and bottom 'Unknown'
So what caused this Unknown thing?
Just minor question, screens worked great tho.
 
Last edited by twin snakes,

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
Sorry for bumping this thread
I have a question regarding panel reading
First I have a new 3ds xl, called A, which has a Top TN and bottom IPS. Panels report just fine
Then I have a B one, which top IPS, bottom TN. Report ok too
After swap the panel, obviously B got dual IPS and A with dual TN
A got the report correct
But B got Top IPS and bottom 'Unknown'
So what caused this Unknown thing?
Just minor question, screens worked great tho.

If I'm understanding this correctly, you replaced the bottom TN screen with the bottom IPS panel from A?

It should report fine. It would only report unknown if the vendor is not 0x01(IPS) or 0x0C(TN). I'll send you a new release based off the latest commit by pm in a bit, let me know if thay reports it correctly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: twin snakes

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
New release v0.7.7 is up!

Change-log:

Original Version:

  • Major code clean up + refactoring. Now checks for functions to succeed before grabbing info.
  • If a function fails the information will not be displayed.
  • New hardware info. Displays if the device is either a retail, devboard, debugger or capture unit.
GUI Version:

  • All of the above changes.
  • Runs under Citro3D.
  • Fixed usernames with special characters not displaying properly in config menu.
  • Fixed screen info returning unknown on New 3DS XL after screens have been swapped. (Using explicit values fixed this for some reason.)
  • Now uses BMP format for taking screenshots (Use L + R to take screenshots - just like 3DShell).
  • Minor astethic changes. The font size is a tad bit bigger, and the colours stand out a bit more than before.
  • Services that fail will now display the message "This service cannot be accessed in *hax." to avoid crashes.
    So menus like config/wifi/NNID cannot be accessed when running under *hax.
    You will have to use Rosalina's FS/SM patches or the CIA instead.

Download:

https://github.com/joel16/3DSident/releases/tag/0.7.7

If you feel the need to buy me some coffee, I'd really appreciate it! https://www.paypal.me/Joel16IA
 
Last edited by Joel16,

Keizel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
381
Trophies
0
XP
372
Country
United States
@Joel16 why do you use the same Banner for Button Test cia program? Maybe this is a mistake? I installed by QR scan the button test and this program have the same banner that 3DSident.
 

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
@Joel16 why do you use the same Banner for Button Test cia program? Maybe this is a mistake? I installed by QR scan the button test and this program have the same banner that 3DSident.

Well that's because I'm too lazy to come up with a new banner. If someone can play around with the banner and give it a fancy look with a controller or something then I might update it. I do need to update it to use C3D regardless anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Keizel

Keizel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
381
Trophies
0
XP
372
Country
United States
Well that's because I'm too lazy to come up with a new banner. If someone can play around with the banner and give it a fancy look with a controller or something then I might update it. I do need to update it to use C3D regardless anyway.

Nice, then it wasn't a mistake. Well, other question, in GodMode9 have system-info that you program don't have: Version that the 3DS had (when you buy it), SoC exact date and date of assembly the 3DS (I think that only that, I don't remember if it show more). Could you add that information to your program?

Ah, and your program in GUI format show more information that not-GUI, why?
 

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
Nice, then it wasn't a mistake. Well, other question, in GodMode9 have system-info that you program don't have: Version that the 3DS had (when you buy it), SoC exact date and date of assembly the 3DS (I think that only that, I don't remember if it show more). Could you add that information to your program?

Ah, and your program in GUI format show more information that not-GUI, why?

Not sure if I'd be able to add those from arm11, but I'll have a look. EDIT: had a look at the source and it seems like it's getting it from the product log in twlnand, so I can definitely add that.

About the different versions: It's simply because you can't fit too much on the screen for the non console version. Besides the GUI is more 'user friendly' and is less stressful on the eyes.
 
Last edited by Joel16,

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
3DSident v0.7.8 is up!

Change-log:

Original Version:

  • Display brightness values explicitly. (New 3DS/2DS only)
  • Select button on boot hides unique info. (Useful when taking screenshots and such, thanks for the idea @sirocyl).
  • Now uses ac:i to obtain WiFi slot info rather than config blocks.
  • Minor code clean-up.
GUI Version:

  • Display initial system version.
  • Display brightness values explicitly. (New 3DS/2DS only)
  • Display auto-brightness status.
  • Display power saving mode.
  • Display sound output mode.
  • Select button - toggles hiding unique info. (Useful when taking screenshots and such, thanks for the idea @sirocyl).
  • Display ticket count.
  • Now uses ac:i to obtain WiFi slot info rather than config blocks.
  • Minor code clean-up.

Download [QR included]
 

TJF588

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
82
Country
United States
I note the GUI filename changed to use a hyphen than an underscore; changed folder name appropriately, but that's all I changed. Crashing when using .3dsx via both Ambassador Certificate and Download Play.

An exception occurred

Processor: ARM11 (core 0)
Exception type: data abort
Current process: 3dsx_app (0004001000021100)

R0 0013FACC
R1 00000000
R2 0013FACC
R3 00000000
R4 00133804
R5 01010101
R6 00000000
R7 00000000
R8 00000000
R9 00000000
R10 00000000
R11 00000000
R12 0013FACC
SP 08007FD0
LR 00104874
PC 0011D82C
CPSR 600E0010
FPEXC 40000700

Stack dump:
08007FD0: 04 38 13 00 00 00 00 00
08007FD8: 00 00 00 00 58 4A 10 00
08007FE0: 26 00 00 00 4C 0F 14 00
08007FE8: 03 00 00 00 90 05 13 00
08007FF0: 00 00 00 00 2C C9 12 00
08007FF8: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
I note the GUI filename changed to use a hyphen than an underscore; changed folder name appropriately, but that's all I changed. Crashing when using .3dsx via both Ambassador Certificate and Download Play.


Thanks for reporting, I'll look into this in a bit and get a fix released as soon as possible.
 

Fra

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
99
Country
Italy
3DSident v0.7.8 is up!

Change-log:

Original Version:

  • Display brightness values explicitly. (New 3DS/2DS only)
  • Select button on boot hides unique info. (Useful when taking screenshots and such, thanks for the idea @sirocyl).
  • Now uses ac:i to obtain WiFi slot info rather than config blocks.
  • Minor code clean-up.
GUI Version:

  • Display initial system version.
  • Display brightness values explicitly. (New 3DS/2DS only)
  • Display auto-brightness status.
  • Display power saving mode.
  • Display sound output mode.
  • Select button - toggles hiding unique info. (Useful when taking screenshots and such, thanks for the idea @sirocyl).
  • Display ticket count.
  • Now uses ac:i to obtain WiFi slot info rather than config blocks.
  • Minor code clean-up.

Download [QR included]
The initial system version is buggy ?
 

Attachments

  • DD09E454-5B03-4201-BD32-D734E35AAA1F.jpeg
    DD09E454-5B03-4201-BD32-D734E35AAA1F.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 300
  • Like
Reactions: Joel16

Dragios

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
50
Trophies
0
XP
254
Country
Malaysia
@Joel16 There a few questions that I wanna ask.

1. These are the value of brightness shown according to their preset level:
Level 1 - 16
Level 2 - 28
Level 3 - 48
Level 4 - 82
Level 5 - 142​

In 3dbrew under GSPLCD:SetBrightnessRaw brightness level is from 0x10 - 0xAC
0x10 = 16
0xAC = 172​

So is there something wrong with the formula used here or is 3dbrew wrong in this case?

2. Parental control answer is left with blank but when switch to hide user specific info it shows (null) instead.

3. WiFi Information shows a blank screen only

4. Maybe for SD in Storage Information can be changed to a microSD icon (new 3DS) or SD icon (old 3DS)? (Suggestion)
 
Last edited by Dragios,
  • Like
Reactions: SaffronXL

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
@Joel16 There a few questions that I wanna ask.

1. These are the value of brightness shown according to their preset level:
Level 1 - 16
Level 2 - 28
Level 3 - 48
Level 4 - 82
Level 5 - 142​

In 3dbrew under GSPLCD:SetBrightnessRaw brightness level is from 0x10 - 0xAC
0x10 = 16
0xAC = 172​

So is there something wrong with the formula used here or is 3dbrew wrong in this case?

2. Parental control answer is left with blank but when switch to hide user specific info it shows (null) instead.

3. WiFi Information shows a blank screen only

4. Maybe for SD in Storage Information can be changed to a microSD icon (new 3DS) or SD icon (old 3DS)? (Suggestion)

1) Yeah that's correct. Think of 0xAC as a 6th level but we can't actually change it to that level without writing to the HW regs, or using GSP/GPU service in homebrew.

2) This is because you don't have Parental control enabled so it doesn't show anything. However if it did, it would show (null) if hide info mode is enabled.

3. Unfortunately yeah, WiFi info shows up as blank for some users. Not entirely sure why, but it seems to be the case for o3DS models. I use an N3DS so I wasn't aware of this. I'll revert back to config blocks to obtain wifi info.

4. Well it follows a Ubuntu-like design so all of them just show up as drives.
 

Dragios

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
50
Trophies
0
XP
254
Country
Malaysia
1) Yeah that's correct. Think of 0xAC as a 6th level but we can't actually change it to that level without writing to the HW regs, or using GSP/GPU service in homebrew.
2) This is because you don't have Parental control enabled so it doesn't show anything. However if it did, it would show (null) if hide info mode is enabled.

3. Unfortunately yeah, WiFi info shows up as blank for some users. Not entirely sure why, but it seems to be the case for o3DS models. I use an N3DS so I wasn't aware of this. I'll revert back to config blocks to obtain wifi info.

4. Well it follows a Ubuntu-like design so all of them just show up as drives.

Regarding WiFi info, well that is kind of weird as I'm using a new 3DS XL myself.
 
Last edited by Dragios,

Joel16

Ils ne passeront pas
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
902
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Doesn't concern you.
XP
4,444
Country
United States
Regarding WiFi info, well that is kind of weird as I'm using a new 3DS XL myself.

That's rather weird. It works fine here. I assumed it was an issue with o3DS cause the two people who previously reported the issue used an O3DS.
Also what version of luma are you using? Do you have patch arm9 access enabled?

nuexDqZ.png
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol maybe