Reinstalled 4.2 and installing priiloader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nintendoom, Jul 22, 2010.

Jul 22, 2010
  1. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hey i got a question,
    I just reinstalled my wii 4.2 to 4.2 again because of my settings black screen problem
    but... it deleted priiloader, and now my game asks me for an update.
    so ill install priiloader.
    My question was, I reinstalled my 4.2 right, then i got my priiloader erased, if im gonna install it again
    should i first reinstall my patched IOS 70 in order for prii loader to work?
    thanks..
     
  2. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    And yeah, im also wondering if i need to install patched ios 60 too
     
  3. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Depends on what you mean by reinstalled 4.2. Did you do an Update via Game DVD, or manually by WADS?

    Installing the actually System Menu seems to blow away priiloader.

    Installing IOS's wont hurt it.

    Run DOP-Mii or MMM, to get a printout of your IOS's, that will tell you if you need to patch again or not.
     
  4. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    i previously had 4.2 and i reinstalled it again by using wads,
    Another question arises
    What will happen if i install an installed ios in my wii again
     
  5. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    bricking your wii very very easy! [​IMG]
     
  6. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Installing an IOS over the top of the current IOS is much safer than removing IOS's.

    However, you DO NOT want to install a STUB IOS (useless IOS) over a working one unless you know exactly what are doing, and why you want to do it. NEVER overwrite the System Menu's IOS with a stub. (IOS70 for SM 4.2), or you will have an instant BRICK!
     
  7. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    I think?? priiloader requires a patched IOS to install, but doesnt need patched IOS's or even a patched SM to operate.

    You dont need IOS70 patched, really just need IOS36 patched.

    Patching IOS70 is for running wiiware and other shit like that. Not needed for homwbrew, usb loaders, or wad managers.
     
  8. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I can no longer play dvd games...
    How do i reverginize my wii
     
  9. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,125
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hmm...I seriously doubt that revirginizing your wii will solve that issue. And revirginizing isn't the safest procedure to do. So I advise to take a good look at your IOS'es, and use DOP-Mii to update those when needed (that's probably the cause...dunno for sure).


    But if you insist: if you read the stickies, you would have found the complete softmod guide. And that guide has the section you need: here you go.
     
  10. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ouch... it says that
    It is NOT RECOMMENDED to use this guide unless you want to get rid of all your hacks FOREVER. If you want to re-hack it, just follow a Hacking guide WITHOUT revirginizing first!

    So thats not a good ideA ... So.. if i just follow this guide, Can i play dvds again, even if my dvd games read but it takes errors?, ill try using dop mii later
    and yeah
    ARE the ios update for DOPmii safe?
    and What if i just load my backup copy of my nand and put it in my system? will that work?
    or yeah like hat ive said, ill just rehack my wii, even if my hacks are still there.
     
  11. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    anyone?
    hehehehehe
     
  12. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Comeon enyone looking at zis thread???
     
  13. nintendoom
    OP

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ANYONE!!!!!!!
    plassssswwweeeee
     
  14. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    First, bumping isn't really appreciated.

    As for your issue, do NOT virginize the wii. You're more likely to fully brick it than you are to fix it.

    Just install priiloader. You only need a patched IOS for initial installation. IOS36 will work fine.

    If you are really concerned about IOS70, you can safely install it again without bricking. Just be sure you install IOS70 v6687. That v6687 is important. Using v6912 will result in a bricked wii.
     

Share This Page