Regions available on Japanese and American 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Nintendo Network' started by Pleng, Jul 27, 2012.

Jul 27, 2012
  1. Pleng
    OP

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    OK So my EUR 3DS didn't work very well here in Thailand for online play; probably as there were no Asian regions to set the unit to.

    That's gone now and I will most likely be getting a 3DS XL. They import USA ones and Japanese ones here. Can anybody with either a USA or Japanese unit let me know if 'Thailand' is listed as an option in your regional settings?

    Cheers
     
  2. ichidansan

    Member ichidansan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    The only "T"'s that are in my US console are "Trinidad and Tobago" and "Turks and Caicos Islands" I would think though that Malaysia being so close to Thailand you might be able to use that, maybe.
     
  3. Pleng
    OP

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    OK thanks. Is SIngapore listed? Most international traffic seems to get routed through there.

    Anybody with a Japanese console able to let me know what their console has listed?
     
  4. ichidansan

    Member ichidansan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    @[member='Pleng']

    Yes, Singapore is listed is my US console.
     
  5. Pleng
    OP

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    Thanks :) Just waiting for the lowdown from Japan now... :)
     
  6. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Japan can only have "Japan" as a country, and one of the so many regions in Japan.
    Sorry, no other country can be chosen, so maybe Nintendo of Korea or Nintendo of Hong Kong (or is it called, Nintendo of Asia)?
     
  7. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Singapore is listed in the US console, but do be minded that you cannot access the eShop from Singapore.
    I heard that the eShop launched recently but has no content inside.

    As for Japan, there is no country besides Japan. The console will only show you regions/prefectures in Japan. This is because the Japanese console is a unique region of its own. One example is Tokyo (東京都 as shown in the console).
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Pleng
    OP

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    Hmph ok. I guess I'll try my luck with a USA unit then.

    (edit. at least that means I'll get a charger included, I guess!)
     
  9. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Most of the time, you should be able to play Online in Thailand.
    As for the eShop, you can fake your country, so you can still access the eShop.
     
  10. Pleng
    OP

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    Yup I know you can get to the eShop; that's no problem. But online play was impossible with my old UK 3DS
     
  11. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Very interesting, I always can play online on my Japanese 3DS, except for Mario Tennis Open, 3D TV, and Nintendo Video.
     
  12. Pleng
    OP

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    In Thailand?

    Well Japan is a lot closer than England. I think the closest place I could find that supported Nintendo WiFi Connection on the UK 3DS was Turkey. The latency between here and Japan would be much lower.
     

Share This Page