Hacking Reflash Xbox 360 drive

miguelcobain

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
34
Country
Portugal
Just dump the keys and spoof it to a stock firmware.
Flash the drive and put it back in the 360, update it and then take the drive out, spoof your keys to LT+ 3.0 and flash that to the drive.

This makes a lot of sense.

However, since I would be flashing stock firmware, wouldn't I lose the ability to reflash it afterwards?
Oh, or do you mean I should *spoof* to stock, not actually flash stock, right?

Would I still have the "back door" to flash it without additional hardware?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,663
Trophies
1
XP
12,780
Country
United States
from what I remember, the system is reflashed anyway. I don't know if it would put you up for a ban if cfw was detected, but I could've sworn that the update will reflash the system itself. however, some people have reported that the update either failed or the flashed drive would get stuck if installing that firmware or newer.
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,439
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,064
Country
Antarctica
Only way to lose the ability to flash the drive is having one of the rare ish Slim drives that where factory unlocked before the 13599 update.

Simply put, all phats have permanent R/W on the drive's flashchip.
You can always flash firmwares on those drives.

Reverting to stock and updating the console won't lose the ability to reflash later.
Only difference between pre-13599 and post-13599 DVD firmwares is the software revision, all Phat Liteons will have the 02510c firmware.
LT 3.0 is based on the 02510c firmware.
 

miguelcobain

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
34
Country
Portugal
You can always flash firmwares on those drives.

I think the big question is if I will lose the ability to flash without special hardware.
It seems that at the moment I might be able to flash directly by plugging the drive to pc sata (I have yet to make JF running to properly test that one).

At least that is what I understand from this part of the Jungle Flasher guide:

capture-png.247087

I was trying to avoid losing that opportunity.
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,439
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,064
Country
Antarctica
Treating the drive as stock, theoretically you shouldn't.
Direct SATA and vendor mode, pretty sure you do.

I've honestly never attempted to flash drives on onboard SATA chipsets, always used specialized hardware for it.
Far easier but then again I flashed hundreds of drives over the years ;p
 
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

BigOnYa

Sofa King Special
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,129
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
1,119
Country
United States
Wish you were near by OP, I have a X360USBPro sitting here collecting dust you could use, but don't want to get rid of it....Def suggest just buying one, will save you alot of headaches....and thanks for helping him guys, much love!
 

miguelcobain

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
34
Country
Portugal
Treating the drive as stock, theoretically you shouldn't.

Well, according to JF guide, it seems like you do need a probe for drives that are not 83850c v1 firmware, which is my case, right?
To answer my own question, if I can get hold of the drive keys, then I will always be able to flash the drive. Is this statement correct?

I've honestly never attempted to flash drives on onboard SATA chipsets, always used specialized hardware for it.

Not going that route just yet, but would the following X360 USB from AliExpress do the trick?

 

BigOnYa

Sofa King Special
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,129
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
1,119
Country
United States
OP, I forgot to mention this, but for all your troubles, and you having to potentially order stuff, you might as well put a RGH2/ Jtag/ Mod chip inside that thing, it does require some soldering skills, but sooo much better in the long run. No more buying and burning of DVD's, can play games from an external HD/ USB thumb drive, run homebrew/ emulators, etc. Just a thought , and my opinion. Mod kits would cost about the same, if not cheaper as it would cost you ordering a Xbox360pro and a probe. Ok good luck.
 

miguelcobain

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
34
Country
Portugal
Yes, having it homebrew enabled would be so great to have.

If I ever come to a point to buy additional hardware, I'll definitely consider that. Thanks for bringing that up.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,663
Trophies
1
XP
12,780
Country
United States
can't sign in to xbox live unless you try that one plugin, which must be compiled with visual studio and the xdk yourself. I think the reason it's not compiled on github is that I think microsoft owns that site now, and I'm sure they'd remove it.
 

Spandaman

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Location
At the end of a ethernet cable
XP
93
Country
United Kingdom
Even if the 7 series was updated via dash update its still same hardware, I haven't flashed a drive drive since win7 64bit, if it is cfw, 1.6 unlock command will work using jungle flasher. Don't forget about early ixtreme boot disc, (activate. Iso)

I remember being told 10 years ago it was impossible to flash on win 7 64 bit lol

 
Last edited by Spandaman,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    not any
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    From scratch yeah
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    you can make some basic non-interactive sites like a blog or a newspaper or something
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    you don't, you can just use html or js
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    dont forget css
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    that's just styling
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    If you're designing from the ground up you'll need php to store registration information into mysql databases
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    you don't need php you just need some backend if you need registrations
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    If you use a service it's still technically not your coding unless it's open source
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    The backend code can be written in a lot of languages
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    " that's just styling" fair but styling is important
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Yeah but you still need to know more then css html and js
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    it certainly is
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Styling is not important lol
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    but css is for designers or full stack devs
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    If you have enough information stored users could care less if it's black and white
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Plenty of phpbb themes are set to default and have 50k members
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah but i would prefer websites to not look like dogshit
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    Why would you need more than js, html and css for a basic website? You might need sql for your database but thats about it
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    If you want to truly call it your work that's why lol
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    actually that makes me think what's the line between "tolerably bad" and "this is so dogshit i won't even think of using it"
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    what? lol
    Gift
  • felix.200 @ felix.200:
    If I write all my js css and html why would the work not be mine?
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    A basic site sure doesn't need it but if you want a community it's important
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    But still style isn't everything when it comes to websites
    Gift
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: But still style isn't everything when it comes to websites