Recommended PS2 modchip?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Harsky, Jan 23, 2007.

Jan 23, 2007

Recommended PS2 modchip? by Harsky at 1:00 AM (2,279 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So my cousin is hell bent on getting a PS3 to the point that he asked his friend bring one back from Hong Kong tomorrow.... which is why he decided to give me his old (bulky version) PS2 to me. Seeing as I already have a Slimline PS2 (using Swap Magic since I never opened it) I decided to experiment with the PS2 since I'm sick to death of constantly swapping the discs to play backups so I decided to get a modchip for it. Only 2 questions.

    1. What's the best chip for it?
    2. What type of soldering iron should I get?
    3. Is this for the REALLY experienced to try?
     


  2. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the chip i had fu**ed my laser
     
  3. butaro

    Member butaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Japan
    I have a version 1 PS2, bought it first day it came out big fat one. I opted out of getting a modchip for the memory cardhack.
    I use a piece of crap PSX game to boot the memory card HDLOADER then just play my backups off the HD, works fast for loading times but some games do not work with HDLOADER. I think its probably the best way to do it without going into the system and you get to use a regular old HD that may be laying around and can save the laser for when you actually need it, instead of burned dvd's.

    Getting your memory card hacked is pretty easy but you need to have a friend that can play backup'd games (modchip/bootcd swap/hd, etc) to boot a premade "iso" that installs the hack.

    EDIT: i should say again that my PS2 is the OLDEST version NA and still works PERFECT. Im a pretty hardcore gamer and take care of my stuff, i've known a lot of people who get busted lasers and what-not so i think my method worked good!
     
  4. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    iv got a DSM3 on v4 ps2, i heard DSM4 came out sometime back you should definitely check that out
     
  5. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Real tempted to get the DMS4 EZI for the solderless option. That said, when I got the PS2, it was like it was in a battle. My cousin confirmed it when he gave it to me and realised there was a game inside it so he powered it up and pushed eject. Then took the game out and turned the power off with the tray sticking out.... then proceeded in pushing the tray back in and saying that he does this all the time.
     
  6. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    250GB HD + HDLOADER.elf ftw. But yeah, if you're set on getting a modchip, I'd definitely agree with you on the option of the DMS4 EZI solderless.
     
  7. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think the cost of getting a large hard drive when the chip is cheaper kinda seems a bit redundant... nonetheless, tell me more about HDLOADER.ELF. What do I need to get it running?
     
  8. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i have a 80 gig hardrive and the newest HDLoader 0.8b on a memory card basically you use a action replay to pop a special porgram on your memory card so you can boot games off a hardrive in your ps2

    www.ps2hd.com has tons of guides
     
  9. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do ALL games work on it?
     
  10. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    QFT. Check the guides there and search around a bit. If you've got a BBA, you can get HDLoader onto your MC using that, which is what I've always done. Yeah, it'd definitely cost more vs. a modchip, but I had an HD laying around so I didn't come out any money. Saves any disc swapping needed. I use the PSX exploit to boot LaunchELF and then I've got the HDLoader elf as well as a bunch of other programs (swap magic, ps2ftp, dmshddformat tool, etc.) so the only time I'm ever loading a disc is if I'm playing a retail or installing a game to the HD. And just about all games should work on it with the latest version (they just got amplitude and shadow of the colossus working which didn't before).
     
  11. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    I bought a pre-modded system from modchip.ca. It uses ChipMod Pro+. And I've been happy with it so far.

    Only 2 games have given me problems so far, but it's because they have to be copied in some specific way to work (besides being DVD9/DL, I know that already). MGS2:Substance and God of War.
     
  12. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    [​IMG]
     
  13. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    Not all games work but most do they have a compatabilty list on the website i linked

    most dvd 9 games work off the HDD too i played god of war and metal gear substance fine


    REMEMBER DO NOT BUY THE RETAIL VERSION OF HDLOADER !

    make sure you make your own HDL0.8b cuase it has better compatability
     
  14. butaro

    Member butaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Japan
    God of war worked fine on mine, beat it. and Shadow of the colossus works now?????? woooooooohooooooooooooooo
     
  15. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, Shadow of Colossus and Amplitude work now with the latest HDLoader. Those were really the only ones I remember being reported as not working. Most DVD9's became compatible with last few versions.
     
  16. spas

    Member spas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would also suggest a ps2 HDD loader or magic swap rather than a chip. When the is alternative solderless solution go with them.

    But if you still want to use a modchip go with a solderless one. Modchips are the cheapest way then magic swap then the HD loader.
     
  17. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    actually i forgot about swapmagic swap magic is awesome !

    defintly look into it has better compatiabilty then HD Loader
     
  18. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DMA4 had a solderless version at one time. It wasn't straight forward to fit and the ones that did get it working swear by it.
     
  19. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    HDLoader is awesome for PS2's with dying lasers since you're never reading any discs [​IMG]
     
  20. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you want to solder a chip then please use the crystal chip: http://crystal-chips.com/main/

    first open your ps2 and check the diagrams on that site, you will have a good idea of how hard it is.
    I have a V3 ps2 and i decided not to try soldering the modchip since its very small connections.
    I also read that the v3 ps2 is the hardest one to mod [​IMG]

    If you have a newer version ps2 it will be easier [​IMG]

    You could also buy a network adapter and use the memory card exploit.
    It works like this: You put the exploit on a ps2 memorycard, load up a specific ps1 game (i use the demo disc), then you will see a white screen and hdd loader will run. Now you can put games on it using Ethernet cable [​IMG] This all without using a modchip.
     

Share This Page