Gaming Recently back on the psp scene.. So much change. Help!!

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
So I am on firmware 3.9 (I think). What do I need to do to upgrade? I have no battery or anything. I am on the custom 3.9, so is there a way to upgrade to something newer without fancy pieces of hardware, or am I fucked? Do any of the new games play on old firmware (Little Big Planet, etc.)?

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
I don't mean to sound like an idiot, but I have never done this before. If I have CFW 3.9, how do I procceed? Do I need a pandora? Or do I just download the 5.00 m33 and swing away?

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Thanks alot, really appreciate the help.

Just curious, will all games work on the 3.9? Should I even bother to upgrade the FW?

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
So I got the 5.00 M33-6, and am in the proccess of d/l the official 5.00. The instructions say to put the official update as 500.PBP in the same folder. So all I need to do is rename the official one as '500.PBP'? Once I have these files in my PSP/GAME folder, how do I run the file to update the FW? I assume I have to run the M33-6 (EBOOT.PBP on my memory stick)? Does the M33-6 automatically and magically use the renamed official firmware?

Sorry for the noobishness, just not interested in a brick.

Thanks.

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
All right, I'm just charging my battery to 100% (apparently plugged in isn't good enough). Will let you know how it goes! Thanks for the help.

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Worked great, no problems. Ghostbusters didn't work, though. Oh well, I'll grab a different one. Looking forward to Gran Turismo and Tekken!

mrwienerdog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada