1. Zaphod77

    OP Zaphod77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    622
    Country:
    United States
    Question 1.

    Do 3dsx builds have decent performance under Rosalina and Lums3ds, or should cia versions be used? (the less dumb question)

    Question 2. Where do the roms actually go? This doesn't seem to be well explained.
     
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    1. In my experience, 3dsx and cia builds of retroarch virtually run the same, so goof performance on both. CIA usually edges out though just a little bit.
    2. Roms can go anywhere you want. Go wild!

    Also, since retroarch is kinda buggy, I suggest you download the cia versions of bubble2k16's emulators. Much better.

    https://github.com/bubble2k16
     
    wicksand420 likes this.
  3. Zaphod77

    OP Zaphod77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    622
    Country:
    United States
    well need retroarch for rewind support.

    ideally i want each emulator to load its' roms directory.
     
  4. trecko1234

    trecko1234 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Retroarch is not buggy, the big problems were fixed recently, the only time bubble2k16's emulators are better is if you want to run SNES games with special hardware (Yoshi's Island, Starfox, Super Mario RPG, etc) or if you are using an O3DS.

    Neither the O3DS or N3DS has the hardware to use the rewind in retroarch.
     
  5. Zaphod77

    OP Zaphod77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    622
    Country:
    United States
    sigh. that was what i wanted to know BEFORE i got the new2ds ...

    someone said they use rewind granularity 3 or something. i guess i just gotta copy some stuff an try it..
     
  6. MattKimura

    MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,129
    Country:
    United States
    With Retroarch 1.7.1, is the problem fixed where if using the xmb style menu, the 3DS would crash after a while of browsing the menu? Switching to rgui would fix the issue in that case. That's one of the biggest bugs I've encountered with retroarch on 3DS.
     
  7. kaiobj

    kaiobj Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes, it is fixed. I was trying old builds and experiencing this issue but tried the latest version last week and it is definitely gone.
    However, I was not aware that Retroarch's Snes emulators don't write the SRAM unless you proper quit the emulator, going back to the XMB Style menu and hitting the "Quit" option and because of that I lost some progress (I'm playing Romancing SaGa at the moment). There is an option to set the writting SRAM interval to work around this issue but sometimes it crashes the app. My "fix": always save the game and make sure to save a state, if you want to. I usually disapprove the usage of Save States (but I have nothing against who uses it) and just use after saving in game.
     
  8. MattKimura

    MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,129
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info, I heard about Snes9x and its saving issue in retroarch but forgot about it. Good thing a lot of snes games don't save or they use passwords.
    At this point I only use retroarch for gameboy emulation, using gambatte. I was using the Dsiware version of Gameyob as suggested by others, but it did not save when I exited the emulator. This is something I experienced even on gameyob on a DS flashcard back then. So im like no im not dealing with this again. It saves properly in retroarch though. And gambatte works perfect so why not. since this is the only retroarch emulator I use now, I may as well continue not using the xmb menu since it takes longer to load up.
     
    kaiobj likes this.
  9. trecko1234

    trecko1234 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    If you use the playlists in retroarch the rgui menu doesn't correctly sort alphabetical by the first letter, it just does it top to bottom in order of how it's saved in the playlist file, which isnt usually sorted by first letter. The xmb driver correctly sorts it.
     
  10. MattKimura

    MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,129
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I got playlists working on the wiiu and I wanted to bring it to the 3DS. But XMB wasn't working on previous retroarch versions. I'll give it a try now
     
  11. kaiobj

    kaiobj Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Brazil
    Good to know that Gambatte is working fine. I'm planning to start playing Pokemon Brown and Anniversary Crystal and because of my laziness in creatin cias, I'm gonna give the retroarch a chance to prove its worthiness. Hope to get good results like you got. :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, retroarch, finding