Really good slot 2 device?!?!?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by JetBlckHrt, Dec 6, 2007.

Dec 6, 2007
  1. JetBlckHrt
    OP

    Newcomer JetBlckHrt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    South Africa
    so, I got myself some extra cash, and I was wondering if I should by a slot 2 device for my DS. I already own an R4, but would like to play GBA games, as well as being able to use web browsers that need ram. Is there such a slot 1 device that does all of this, and is simple to use and is not very pricey, like the R4. I'm buying off amazon so it has to be availabe there.

    I'm not looking for something where I need to get a whole load of seperate things for it to work, besides a micro SD card.

    Any help? [​IMG]
     


  2. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    The EZ Flash IV is your best bet. Its GBA compatibility is top notch and with the EZIV patch, provides RAM for the browser.

    Its also one of the cheaper carts around with nice GUIs
     
  3. striding

    Newcomer striding Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ez flash 3 in 1 is perfect has everything u mentioned with added rumble.you just need the latest 3in1 Expansion Pack tool (by Rudolph) on your r4 it really simple.
     
  4. Lateralus

    Newcomer Lateralus Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    EZ Flash 3 in 1.... its only like $20
     
  5. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    EZ Flash 3in1 is the cheap solution

    EZ4 lite Deluxe and M3 Lite Perfect will also work.
     
  6. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    EZFlash 3in1 is definitely the best bang for your buck but M3 perfekt is the best IMO at $75 it can do ANYTHING. [​IMG]
     
  7. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I have an EZFlash IV, and works awesome with the R4. One of the better Slot 2 devices, IMO.
     
  8. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Depends really, what you're willing to pay from a slot-2.
     
  9. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    I agree.

    If you want a GUI-less Flashcart, that can just be used for GBA/RAM/Rumble, get the EZFlash 3 in 1.

    ~Nero
     
  10. JetBlckHrt
    OP

    Newcomer JetBlckHrt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    South Africa
    Kewl, this EZ-Flash is looking good, but the shipping costs on amazon is like sky high, so I'm gonna have to save a bit more...

    How exactly do I operate this thing though? do I need to have another micro SD card for it or something, or can I just put GBA games on my card I use for my R4 or whut? sorry, but I know nothing about this, lol
     
  11. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    1) get the EzFlash from dealextreme, it's slow but no shipping costs and it's cheaper than most places.

    2) You only need the microSD card from the R4.

    3) There's more information specifically about the Ez-Flash 3 in 1 on the gbatemp wiki.
     
  12. JetBlckHrt
    OP

    Newcomer JetBlckHrt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    South Africa
    Really sorry if I'm not allowed to post links on this site but...

    this is what I want, right? http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2967

    And it has absolutely everything I need?
    also, is the site safe and secure? my dad doesnt trust sites like this usually, thats why I was going for amazon, but its too pricey there and they dont have this exact one.

    If its this cheap with free shipping worldwide, I can grab myself some other stuff too!

    *edit* I just read on and one of its cons are "Doesnt match Onyx DS lite" does that mean in colour or compatibility? becayse I have a black NDS lite, so just to make sure...
     
  13. Upperleft

    Member Upperleft Namcoholic

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    i'm getting an EZ flash 3 in 1
    nice and cheap [​IMG]
     
  14. vincom2

    Newcomer vincom2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Singapore
    I use the ez-flash 3-in-1 with a black ds lite. Don't worry, it works, and the colour does match, even though it's not glossy like the original dust cover.

    It sticks out slightly, very slightly, but it's overlookable.

    I ordered from dealextreme too.
     
  15. ckc

    Newcomer ckc Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    thanks for the posters. just the problem i have and answers i'm looking for. [​IMG]
     
  16. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, that's the one. I've ordered from dealextreme three or four times now and they came without fail (albeit it took 10 days).

    If you're totally picky about it... It comes in two colours, black and white. The black doesn't exactly match cause it's not glossy but who really cares? From a distance you can't even tell.
     
  17. AuthorX

    Newcomer AuthorX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Now, I heard that the 3-in-1 won't work with some homebrew because it's not DLDI compatible. Is that true (I can't remember what homebrew was being discussed)?
     
  18. ckc

    Newcomer ckc Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    can this play snes roms too? tnx
     
  19. vincom2

    Newcomer vincom2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Singapore
    There are SNES emulators that run off slot-1 devices anyway, but I think the 3-in-1 would run GBA SNES emulators.
     
  20. ckc

    Newcomer ckc Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    what do you recommend is the best to buy to play GBA and SNES roms. Tnx!
     

Share This Page